We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #71 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stratford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed in Chicago for 4 days and loved our stay at the Springhill Suites. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Chicago and a walking distance to all the shops and attractions. Staff were courteous and always had a smile on the faces. Delicious complementary breakfast. Expensive parking though!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MightyCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for the 4-Star review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and liked our fantastic location here at River North! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    344
    85
    23
    18
See reviews for
319
149
48
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I made my reservations about a month ago and then this week I was on the hotel's website and noticed weekend specials at a better rate so I canceled and rebooked, saving $30 a night and getting my room for $153 a night, a great deal for this central location a block from the Chicago River!

The location did have one downside - there was a lot of noise from the street, late into the night. I was surprised how loud it was, even from the 25th floor.

The room itself was clean and comfortable, with the modern decor you expect from Springhill Suites.

One unique feature of this hotel - it was both a Springhill Suites and Residence Inn, all in one. To one side the lobby was one hotel, with it's usual decor, to the other, it was the other. They shared a fitness center and pool on the top level, and the front desk could help you, no matter where your reservation was. When I arrived there was a long line for check in at the Springhill Suites side and no line at the Residence Inn side. I was directed to the other side and quickly checked in and able to access my room.

I would definitely stay at this property - under either brand - on a return trip to Chicago.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Dearborn were very loud, even on the 25th floor. Perhaps it is quieter facing one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StacyInDC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I came with my family to Chicago to run the marathon for the second time, ours was a 6 night stay. The location could not have been better, my wife and kids had the chance to see me pass at 3 different points all very close to the hotel. In addition the distance to the marathon starting line in Grant Park is in walking distance and belive me that is something great for a runner.
The hotel is just two blocks from The Magnificent Mile and all the other touristic places in downtown Chicago are really close too; there is a lot of nice restaurants and iconic restaurants like Billy Goat that are just steps from the hotel.
The rooms are very, very clean and in general all the property is well taken care of. Rooms are small but nice, they only have two minor problems in my point of view, one is that they only have a very small closet and 3 drawers, and the other is that the tv cabinet/drawer is in between the living room and the beds so you don't have the TV in front of you but in a forced angle to the living room.
Their staff is HIGHLY motivated, specially the girl that runs the restaurant, who was happy and nice all the time we were there.
The complimentary breakfast is probably the one with wider selection that I have ever seen, food is not pre-made but made at their kitchen; they have choices for all kind eating, including healthy choices, the only minor negative thing is the cardboard plates. An early breakfast for the marathon runners will be a plus.
This is my kind of stay, well located, safe, simple, clean and with good food.
Hope to be back for next years marathon and this is going to be my place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xelaju007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you so much for the 5-Star review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and the location for the Chicago Marathon. Our staff truly is motivated as we are all strving to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel in downtown Chicago. Thank you again for the nice review and we'll see you next year for the marathon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I've spent 2 nights in this hotel. The location is great, right in the center of downtown Chicago. However I found it expensive for what it provides...especially the fact that there is no bottle of water in the bedroom...for $250/night, I think the minimum would be to offer a bottle of water!

Regarding the breakfast, quality is alright, but not great!
The bed was quite confortable though, the room is not bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reza F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for the nice review! I'm very glad you enjoyed your room and breakfast!

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, IA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Springhill Suites! The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The decor and furniture was modern and sleek. The free breakfast was fantastic but crowded on the weekends. The only bad thing was expensive parking - but that is to be expected in Chicago.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on a high floor to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starcaster9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you so much for the 4-Star review! I'm very happy to see you enjoyed your stay!

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I used to stay at the Springhill frequently for work and the rooms were great but this hotel is definitely starting to show its age. The rooms and lobby are in serious need of an upgrade. The front desk staff is very friendly and they have chupa chups which makes it all worth it.

Room Tip: Hotel is in downtown Chicago so you're going to want a room that's higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherita711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very sorry you feel our hotel is getting old and outdated. I truly believe our SpringHill Suites has a very modern and clean looking room and lobby. Being a 5 year old hotel, our team does a great job of keepinng the condition of the hotel looking new as much as possible. We also take pride in being the cleanest hotel in downtown Chicago. I truly hope you enjoyed your stay and would like to see you again on your next business trip to downtown Chicago!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head Island
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I stayed here over four day weekend with friends. Great location. Easy walking distance to all the major sights. Staff helpful. Comfortable and friendly. I don't know what else I can say to add some more characters...

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank annacatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for the very nice review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#40 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated SpringHill Suites Chicago River North is located just north of the Loop in the city's trendiest neighborhood. Surrounded by the highest concentration of restaurants and bars in downtown Chicago, our Chicago River North hotel is a top choice for travelers. Guests love being within walking distance to Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, North Avenue Beach, and Millennium Park. Our newly renovated guest rooms feature brand new mattresses, all-new plush bedding, stylish new sofa-sleeper, a refrigerator, microwave, and complimentary high-speed Internet Access. Start your day with a complimentary continental breakfast, and cap off the evening with dinner and drinks downstairs at Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You. For a more convenient stop, hit the brand new Holloway's Bar, located in the lobby. Keep up with workout routines in our 24 hour fitness center or relax with a dip in our top-floor, indoor pool & hot tub. Get the most out of your next stay with full-service amenities like self/valet parking, room service, and high-floor suites when you stay at the SpringHill Suites Chicago River North. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing