We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in the downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #53 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Truly a great affordable hotel in the area with great view, good breakfast and very good rooms. Staff is really helpful and prompt. I stayed here for a week for business and stayed proved better than what I expected. Certainly recommended for those who are looking to have an affordable but good hotel, recommended to book in advance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tushar261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you so much for this nice review! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay while on business. We truly hope to have you back at our hotel soon the next time you are in the area!


Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

We were very disappointed to find the breakfast was no offered until 7:30 am. How does that accommodate those with early flights? There was no one that could give me a hard boiled egg or yogurt? We would never have booked if we had known that... Found signs from parking garage confusing. From check in: felt front desk staff was unhappy. Room was nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for the candid review. I am very sorry to hear that you were not able to get breakfast because of an early check out. Our breakfast times are 630am-9am, M-F, and 730am-10am on Saturday and Sunday. We generally have our cold items out well before thse start times. We would have been more than willing to get you yogurt, hard-boiled egg, or a muffin upon your request. I'm also very sorry to hear that our front desk team seemed "unhappy". We strive to be the firendliest hotel in downtown Chicago, so this does not the norm for our team. I will make sure to share your comments to our front desk team so they can learn from this past experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you back on your next trip!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Truly a wonderful experience all around. Had booked and cancelled this hotel in the past but finally made the trip. Location was excellent in the River north area. The walk to the front desk from the self parking was pleasant and we were greated with Emily who asked me if I wanted to be upgraded to two Residence Inn adjoining rooms instead of my Spring Hill suite room. This hotel is SpringHill and Residence Inn Marriott chains both in one building. Very interesting each lobby is unique and each floor has disctinct carpet and decorating theme divided by a door in the middle. When we went up to the 12th floor room to see we had now two adjoining rooms with a view of downtown Chicago and both rooms had KING beds and nice sitting living rooms with pull out couches. We were further suprised as we went up to the 27th floor and had great views of the the buildings in the Mag Mile area from the indoor pool deck on top of the hotel. Then it gets better in the morning as we were greated by Ismeta at the breakfast area. It was like having your own Aunt working at the hotel. We were traveling with our boys and she said she loved her babies and helped us get started with a waffle and when leaving gave us a bag for apples and oranges. This was one of my best experiences.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for room that faces City and not the parking structure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful 5-Star review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and witnessed the our mission of being the cleanest and friendliest hotel in downtown Chicago! We truly have huge assets at our hotel and Emily and Ismetta are no exceptions. They both want to ensure each and every guests enjoys a perfect stay at River North. We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were in town visiting Chicago and we had a great stay at Springhill Suites. Our room was a top floor corner room so we had great views of the city. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was a typical Springhill Suites breakfast with nothing special, but it was still good. The pricing was great compared to other hotels in the area. The rooms aren't as big as some of the other springhill suites I have stayed at but they are still very comfortable. This would be a great place to say while visiting for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mea37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you so much for the nice review! The SpringHill Suites truly is an ideal hotel for both the business and leisure traveler. I am glad you really enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We recently stayed here when we visited our daughter in Chicago. Loved the location. Our room was very spacious. A couple of minor points - suites are all one room, with one TV, which wasn't a big issue. But it is not ideal if you want a bit more privacy - or if a family member wants to stay up late watching tv. I also noted that there was no bedside lighting. The lights in the part of the room where our two beds were located were either ON (very bright) or off. This made it hard for me to read while my husband wanted to go to bed a little earlier. Breakfast in the morning was the typical free fare - but plenty of it, and staffed by very friendly, quirky and helpful people!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristiB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I'm glad you enjoyed our stay. I'm sorry that our bed-lighting was too bright at night. We are always looking for ways to improve and I'll be sharing yoru comments with our engineer to see if this is something we may be able to adjust. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to downtown Chicago!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Last minute trip to Chicago and we only stayed two nights. I just about considered changing hotels because it really was quite dingy. The bathroom shower made me a bit queasy but as I mentioned, it was only two nights and the location was great. We had a nice view and the bed was pretty comfortable.

What really make this hotel 3 stars instead of 2 is the great staff. They really were exceptional. Just about the nicest people I have encountered in an urban hotel. They gave good suggestions, were always smiling and never let anyone wait around. So, kudos to the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhoWantsToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and noticed the friendliest stay in the downtown Chicago area!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed in Chicago for 4 days and loved our stay at the Springhill Suites. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Chicago and a walking distance to all the shops and attractions. Staff were courteous and always had a smile on the faces. Delicious complementary breakfast. Expensive parking though!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MightyCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for the 4-Star review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and liked our fantastic location here at River North! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#40 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £91 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated SpringHill Suites Chicago River North is located just north of the Loop in the city's trendiest neighborhood. Surrounded by the highest concentration of restaurants and bars in downtown Chicago, our Chicago River North hotel is a top choice for travelers. Guests love being within walking distance to Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, North Avenue Beach, and Millennium Park. Our newly renovated guest rooms feature brand new mattresses, all-new plush bedding, stylish new sofa-sleeper, a refrigerator, microwave, and complimentary high-speed Internet Access. Start your day with a complimentary continental breakfast, and cap off the evening with dinner and drinks downstairs at Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You. For a more convenient stop, hit the brand new Holloway's Bar, located in the lobby. Keep up with workout routines in our 24 hour fitness center or relax with a dip in our top-floor, indoor pool & hot tub. Get the most out of your next stay with full-service amenities like self/valet parking, room service, and high-floor suites when you stay at the SpringHill Suites Chicago River North. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing