We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost in Translation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #61 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lost in Translation”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Average is as good as its going to get. Downtown Chicago and very close to the business appointments that I had. Location is just fine. Walking into the hotel, I was hit by an instant stale, musty smell that permeated the whole place. Some funky perfume was being used to try to contain it but...... its an older property, not much in the way of a central area. Once in the room - decor was pretty IKEAesque - functional, but left a bit to be desired - especially for the $309 plus per night. Breakfast array had good choices and I was able to eat a healthy selection - this seems a bit unusual at US chains, so good for that. Breakfast service staff was delightful. All in all, OK.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I'm sorry you felt your stay was just "OK". Our hotel is only 6 years old. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel ,so the musty scent you smelled was probably that we just finished shampooing our carpets in the lobby area. The furniture in our guest rooms is the brand standard for the SpringHill Suites brand, which you'll find in the other 311 around the US. I truly hope you did enjoy our customer service as we do aim to be the friendliest hotel in downtown Chicago. We hope you visit us again the next time you are in Illinois!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    349
    86
    23
    18
See reviews for
324
152
49
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A little while ago I posted a negative review that the hotel overcharged us by $140 but then they credited it back but because of currency fluctuations, I was still on the hook for $8...annoying since it was the hotel's mistake. I called them and they resolved it really quickly by mailing me a cheque for $8 to cover the difference. Overall this hotel has amazing service and they are committed to providing that, both during our stay and afterwards in dealing with a billing mistake. Great location and a really nice room and great breakfast too. Highly recommend the SpringHill Suites!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkim41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank yo so much for the kind, 2nd review! I am very glad the issue has been completely resolved. We are sorry that there was an issue in the beginning, but I'm glad we were able to correct it in a timely manner. Thank you again and we would certainly enjoy having you visit us again!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for almost a week for a professional conference. Very central location, walkable to most areas of interests restaurants ( many pizza hot spots "Lou's", shopping, theatre district, house of blues etc..city bus stop across the street. Taxi always readily available at hotel lobby Complimentary wifi and hot breakfast buffet. Rooms were clean, a little small. But considering neighboring hotel similar rooms the cost was reasonable for the area and season. Our mini fridge wasn't cold enough but they've had it fix while we were away. Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Our window view faced the street,was high up to avoid street noise. Overall a good place not fancy but clean and reasonable.

Room Tip: Higher the better to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junket66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for the very nice 4-Star review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay while you were at our property! We hope to have you back the next time you are in the River North area!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, Ca
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great location to the loop, magnificent mile, the river walk, navy pier and cta train stations. Free Wi-Fi and continental breakfast included. Staff is helpful and friendly. A little noisy with sirens at night because a fire station is a couple blocks away. I stayed on the 11th floor. Self parking is $47 per day.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nochins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for the very nice 4-Star review! I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you back!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Springhill Suites. It was very centrally located - easy walk from Millenium Station and a half mile from the Oriental Theater. Room was very adequate - included a microwave and fridge. Complimentary breakfast buffet was good. Price was reasonable for a Chicago hotel. All the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have better views and are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chirzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful 5-Star review! I am so glad you enjoyed staying at our hotel! We truly hope to have you back as guests again the next time you are in the River North area!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florissant, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went to Chicago with the kids, the hotel was located in a great area, central to everything we wanted to do. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The free breakfast was great with a lot of variety to pick from, the staff was super friendly and courteous, especially the women doing breakfast. We've stayed at 5 other locations in downtown and for the money this was the best place we have stayed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for the 5-Star review! I am so glad you and the kids enjoyed the stay! We are very happy to hear you found the best value at our hotel in downtown. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Went on a "girl's shopping trip" and we chose this hotel. I've stayed at several hotels in downtown Chicago in the past but never this one. I was very happy with our choice. The staff was super friendly upon check-in. We had a group of five women so we booked 2 rooms (2 in one room and 3 in the other). Each room had two double beds and a pull-out couch so we all had our own beds. The room was very clean and comfortable. This hotel has a very nice continental breakfast in the morning. The breakfast room is fairly large but the tables did sometimes fill up. However, it usually didn't take long for a table to open up. The breakfast room employee was very nice and helpful. There was also a small pool and hot tub on the top floor which we used and we noticed an exercise room nearby (but did not use). The pool was a bit small for any serious swimming especially when there were several people in it but it was refreshing nonetheless. I thought the location was great. I didn't notice any traffic noise or sirens at night compared to some of the hotels that I've stayed in that are on or close to Michigan Avenue. The hotel is located halfway between the State Street shopping district and the Miracle Mile shopping district so it makes it easy to go either way. There are also a lot of nice little restaurants/bars in the same area as the hotel. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for the extremely nice 5-Star review! I am glad the girl's shopping trip was a huge success. We truly do have a great location and we always aim to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you back soon!

Regards,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 410 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-3941
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
#40 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated SpringHill Suites Chicago River North is located just north of the Loop in the city's trendiest neighborhood. Surrounded by the highest concentration of restaurants and bars in downtown Chicago, our Chicago River North hotel is a top choice for travelers. Guests love being within walking distance to Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, North Avenue Beach, and Millennium Park. Our newly renovated guest rooms feature brand new mattresses, all-new plush bedding, stylish new sofa-sleeper, a refrigerator, microwave, and complimentary high-speed Internet Access. Start your day with a complimentary continental breakfast, and cap off the evening with dinner and drinks downstairs at Hub 51 by Lettuce Entertain You. For a more convenient stop, hit the brand new Holloway's Bar, located in the lobby. Keep up with workout routines in our 24 hour fitness center or relax with a dip in our top-floor, indoor pool & hot tub. Get the most out of your next stay with full-service amenities like self/valet parking, room service, and high-floor suites when you stay at the SpringHill Suites Chicago River North. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing