We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious find if you want Asian Fusion food”
Review of Chant

Chant
Ranked #916 of 9,899 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$22
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Hyde Park
Cross street: Harper
Transit: Chant is located steps away from Metra stop on 51 street as well as numerous bus routs including #6,28, x28 and more. To learn more about public transportation please visit http://www.transitchicago.com/
Description: Chant clears the kitchen for a new menu. Our global cuisine menu uses the freshest ingredients to create the best Global-inspired meals. We also have a full bar, featuring our own liquor infusions! We're a Hyde Park favorite for great food and the best cocktails in the area and beyond.
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Delicious food with tastes & combinations a little off the beaten path. They have an outside dining area on the sidewalk, which gets a fair amount of traffic, but affords excellent people watching opportunities.

Thank Whrlygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

Amazingly there aren't many restaurants that serve dinner in the area. We were visiting UC Hospital and tired of cafeteria lunch food. We tried this restaurant based on Yelp reviews and hotel concierge's suggestion. Not bad. Service was very good. Interesting menu. Not bad, but taste rather bland and sweet. My curry had no bite. Peking duck taco was sweet, thanks to hoisin source. Hot and sour soup needs a wedge of lime or lemon. Nonetheless foods were good.

Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Nice atmosphere, I had a spinach, mushroom and tofu dish. They had unusual, salads, soups and entrees, both meat and vegetarian dishes

Thank ritzbiztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie K, Owner at Chant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, ritzbiztraveler. We love hearing from visitors to the area! We appreciate you including us in your travels and hope to serve you again the next time you’re in Chicago. Best, Pattie (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great drinks, nice crowd and good food. Smaller place so you will get good service. Wife had Chant T Bone Steak wasabi mashed potato, spinach very flavorful. I had the Szechwan Beef Noodles good but not as flavorful as the steak.

Great for date night and with friends!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ee357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie K, Owner at Chant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for including us in your date night plans, ee357. We’re so glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed your meals with us! We hope to serve you both again soon! Best, Pattie (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I had an incredible experience dining midday at Chant. The pear martini is delicious and very strong. They soak the pears in vodka for several hours so the drink really packs a punch. We had a variety of appetizers but the standout were the onion rings. They batter was light and delicious with a savory, spicy dipping sauce. I had their version of a Cobb salad and it was also good and the ginger dressing is delicious. Everything looked as beautiful as it tastes and the atmosphere is nice and comfortable. I felt like I had stepped out of the busy city of Chicago into a sanctuary.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 109joanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie K, Owner at Chant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you so much, Joanne! It makes us so happy to hear we could serve as a sanctuary for you in this busy city — that’s exactly what we’re aiming for! We love hearing our customers’ recommendations, so thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Oriental Chicken Cobb Salad. We hope to serve you again the next time you’re in Chicago! Best, Pattie (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chant also viewed

 

Been to Chant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing