We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #83 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location, stones throw from magnificent mile, malls, John Hancock and most of Chicago's sites.

Staff very friendly, willing to help make you trip to Chicago the best possible.
Rooms are very big, loved the fact it was a proper sitting area in the room and very clean.

Lifts very slow only 2 working.

Bathrooms small compared to rooms

Can become noisy in the evening due to being very close to the hospitals.

All in all a good stay.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank BBWBAJAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melah M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Hi BBWbajan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your expereince about your stay at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. We are continuously working to improve the overall experince for the guest. We are thinking of ways to be more proactive about the demand for elevators so that the wait isn't such an inconvenience.

I hope you felt welcomed while you were here and we hope to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Made reservations at the Crowne Plaza hotel, arrived there and it stated Avenue Suites and 2 days later it was Homewood Suites! Regardless, its location is ideal for those needing medical care at Northwest University Hospital and those wanting to be in downtown Chicago. Close to the magnificent mile full of wonderful shops and restaurants.
We had a few problems with our room but once the front desk learned about these issues, maintenance was there within 5 minutes and were able to take care of most of the problems (handle to closet was fixed, extension to the coffee pot, repair of the curtain, changing the shower curtain). All in all, it was excellent service

Room Tip: Our room was on the 16th floor and facing Huron Street - still could hear many ambulances driving by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1941Hoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melah M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

HI 1941 Hoosier,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile. We aim to provide great service and overall experience for all of our guest.

At the time of your stay we were in the process of transitioning from IHG to Hilton. While the first couple weeks we were working out some of the kinks I am happy to know we were able to make your stay enjoyable.

I hope you felt welcomed and will return soon!

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had stayed at this Crowne Plaza Hotel, just off the Magnificent Mile, In November 2013. As we now live in the suburbs north of Chicago, we decided to use the hotel again for our first visit to Downtown Chicago in the summer. It was a great stay last time, hence the return visit.

However, when we arrived we had to enter by another door as the hotel is under construction, and were even given two different key cards for the room as the Front Desk did not know which rooms had been changed over to the new system. We stayed two nights and apprently when we left on the Monday, the hotel was under new ownership and no longer a Crowne Plaza. I did though still receive the points for the IHG membership.

The Pros:
> Very spacious room, with huge bed;
> Great internet (free as a Club member);
> Friendly staff;
> Location.

Not good:
> Too time consuming waiting for an available elevator;
> Lack of hotel amenities (room service etc);
> Construction work.

If it remained a Crowne Plaza, I would have returned.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor. The views can be awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tonymp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melah M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

HI Tonymp50,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hampton Inn on Trip Advisor.

I apologize your stay during the transition was not all that you expected. We pride ourselves at Hampton Inn to provide an exceptional experience as well as service.

I can guarantee that if you were to return you will feel welcomed and enjoy the amenities that we do have to offer. While we do not offer room service there is still a restaurant accessible through the hotel and we now offer complimentary hot buffet breakfast.

We would love to have you back and provide you with the service and ease of staying at Hilton hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Juan Ramón C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
semiraskrgic, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank rafaelmC327YH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
semiraskrgic, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Marcelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
semiraskrgic, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
semiraskrgic, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 160 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611-3065 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#51 Family Hotel in Chicago
#58 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £90 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Avenue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing