We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for a Quick Chicago Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #82 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We only had two nights in Chicago and the location of the NEW Hampton Inn on the Magnificent Mile was perfect. It was just recently added to the Hilton lineup and the staff and services are everything you would expect from the Hampton Suites brand. The room was spacious, although I do not think our room had been completely remodeled yet, and the staff was very friendly. Right next the Magnificent Mile, we had access to every shop you could think of and the public transportation system was extensive and easy to use. A note of noise in the big city... even on the 32nd floor we could hear the ambulances going to the many hospitals in the vicinity (at any hour) so try to get a higher floor. Being from a suburb or Las Vegas, it's much quieter at home.

Room Tip: Look for rooms higher up to avoid the city street noise. It's downtown Chicago, it's not go...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonGiovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melah M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Hi RonGiovo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay at Hampton Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile.

I am glad to know that we met your expectations and the location was ideal for your visit.

I hope you felt welcomed throughtout your stay and we look forward to having you back!

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 905 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel the weekend of August 16th, 2014.

We had made our reservations in early June when it was still Crowne Plaza Chicago - Magnificent Mile. On August 5th it became a Hilton property. Potentially big issue was that no one notified us of that fact. Had I not contacted IHG (Crowne owner) regarding room amenity question, we wouldn't have known of the switch and the new confirmation number. Fortunately, IHG did the leg work and took care of it.
We arrived at the hotel 3 hours ahead of our check-in time of 3:00 pm, so we weren't hopeful that the room would be ready. The lobby was filled with folks (Air Show weekend) and the staff was swamped trying to address accommodations. While I room wouldn't be ready until 3:00pm, the staff stored our luggage for us to pick up later.

Now for the property:
It is a 40 floor hotel with a small pool atop the 40th floor with an excellent view of Lake Michigan. The fitness room, very well equipped, was also on the 40th floor with the same view.
It's situated half a block east of Michigan Avenue and is shared with Homewood Suites, a sister Hilton property. Navy Pier is only a 15 minute walk away to the east, also.

The rooms were all recently renovated so most everything is fresh and new.
There's a complimentary breakfast on the second floor - buffet style. It offers pre-packaged cheese omelets in a warming tray, bacon and hash browns (think McDonalds). There's also an assortment of juices, milk, breads, muffins, bagels, fruits and cereals. There's also a waffle station. All of it is self serve. It's very basic, but it doesn't cost extra. You may be inclined to try the Elephant & Castle Pub which is situated on the southeast corner of the building. They provide breakfast at a price, but offers more selection if a warm breakfast is preferred.

There are 5 elevators - 2 that serve up to floor 12 and 3 that serve the Lobby, second floor and 13-40. As it was very busy this weekend (and it likely would be somewhat busy most weekends in Chicago in this location) the elevators were overwhelmed - and they're not very big. No more than 8 can fit comfortably in the elevator. Add luggage and it's tighter.

We were on the 16th floor and on one occasion descended the stairs much faster than the elevator could arrive and get to the lobby.

Parking is Valet only and is $60 per day. We flew in and except for the cab ride from the airport, walked everywhere we needed to go. Anything further we could access public transportation.

The check-in could have been smoother but I attribute that to the recent transfer of ownership and working with two reservation systems as they were migrating the services.

The elevator traffic can be an issue if you are in a hurry during a very busy weekend or work week.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor if you don't want to wait long for an elevator during special event/busy we...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melah M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Hi Wendell S,

I would simply like to thank you for staying at Hampton Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile and for taking the time share details about the hotel and your stay.

I hope that you felt welcomed and well accommodated throughout your trip. Thank you for your understanding as we had just transitioned to Hilton and there was a lot of training occuring. I can assure you the staff is now efficient with the system and the check in process. As a team we are consistantly coming up with ideas to be proactive with the demand of the elevators.

I hope you will consider staying with us again and really getting the full affect of what we have to offer.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel offers the comfort and convenience that you seek when staying in a Hampton Inn. The location within the city is excellent for sightseeing. We traveled with our adult children and found the room to be very spacious with good seating and bathroom/dressing area spaces. The hotel is beautifully remodeled. We were there during their first official week as a Hilton property and the staff did a great job even though you could tell that there was a good bit of training going on. The breakfast was very nice and always fresh, served in a spacious dining area. This hotel offers a lot of comfort and convenience at a great price in large city - we would be happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank skeghaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melah M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Hi skeghaus,

Thank you for staying at Hampton Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile and taking the time to share your experience.

I am happy to read such a wonderful review of about your stay and experience in Chicago. I also appreciate your understanding during our transition process.

I hope you felt welcomed and you will return very soon!

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel was transitioning from a Crowne Plaza to Hampton Inn property when my wife and I checked in for a week-long Chicago vacation. The location, one block from Michigan Avenue - the Magnificent Mile can't be beat. However, the check-in process was the very worst check-in experience I have ever had. The desk staff was unable to access available rooms and there was large group of guests who had extremely long waits to be checked-in to the hotel on a busy Friday evening. I expected far better from Hilton property. The staff was helpful and professional. The room was comfortable, clean, and well furnished. The complimentary breakfast was adequate and an added benefit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank nycleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melah M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Hi nycleric,

Thank you for staying at Hampton Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile and taking the time to share your expereince.

Your patience and understanding during our transitioning period is greatly appreciated. I apologize you expereinced such an inconvenient hard time at the time of check in. I can assure you that we are much more accustomed to the new system and are more efficient in the process.

Your feedback is valued and we are working to continually improve our overall service and guest expereince.

I hope you will return and enjoy all we have to offer.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our family of 5 stayed in this beautiful hotel in early August 2014 for 2 nights to sight-see in Chicago. It's an ideal location for visiting the John Hancock tower, Michigan Ave, Navy Pier, and numerous dining destinations. The 'continental breakfast' was excellent and so much better/more than we thought it would be! A special treat for our boys was swimming in the rooftop pool - with a nice view of Lake Michigan! It was fancier that what we're used to, but the price didn't reflect this. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Colleen6292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melah M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

HI Colleen6292,

Thank you for staying at Hampton Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile during your visit to Chicago and for taking the time to share your experience.

I am glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your time here. The rooftop pool is always a big heat providing the Chicago weather cooperates. I am happy that you all were able to get out and explore the city and enjoy the complimentary breakfast offered.

We look forward to having you back on your next trip.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very clean and nicely remodeled property! The team and Management are top notch! The rooms are very large and the views are great. I will definitely stay at this property again when I return to Chicago!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank brianmG2867TP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melah M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Hi brianmG2867TP,

Thank you for staying at Hampton Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile and for taking the time to share your experience.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful.

We look forward to having you back on your next trip.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Overall the hotel was clean, employees were pleasant. The elevators were small and slow allow enough time! Bathrooms very small. Parking was 60.00 a day but you could come and go! Very close to all the shopping and Navy Pier! Breakfast had quite a variety to pick from. Something for everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 298deboraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melah M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Hi 298deboraha,

Thank you for staying at Hampton Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile and for your sharing your experience.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and found our amenities to fit your needs. We are working to being more proactive with the demand for elevators now that we offer a complimentary breakfast. Thank you for your understanding during our time of transition.

We look forward to having you return.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#105 of 191 in Chicago
1,723 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 160 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611-3065 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#51 Family Hotel in Chicago
#58 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £92 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Avenue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing