We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$139
View deal
Hotels.comUS$139
PricelineUS$139
Hampton.comUS$139
FindHotelUS$139
eDreamsUS$139
TraveluroUS$138
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,551)
Filter reviews
1,551 results
Traveller rating
694
513
195
79
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
694
513
195
79
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location magnificent mile northwestern hospital complimentary breakfast michigan avenue mag mile within walking distance would stay here again front desk staff valet parking water tower fitness center great room king bed floor block downtown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 1,551 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2019

It's not often I get to play the part of an international business executive (and my firm never springs for the penthouse when I do!) but this hotel was pretty well perfect: about a 5 minute walk from the red line metro (maybe 7 with a wheelie suitcase!), and the room was a good size, with a comfy bed and a plentiful supply of hot water.

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful any time I had a question, and the housekeeping service was immaculate.

The breakfast was good - bit crowded during the rush, but perfectly adequate - and there was coffee on tap, which helped nicely with the fact my brain was running six hours ahead of the clock, and I kept waking up in the middle of the night.

I will say that the lifts are... not entirely adequate. As far as I can tell the hotel must have been a 5-elevator 13-floor affair to begin with, and then got extended up to 40 floors - with only 3 lift shafts to serve them, presumably so they could fit in more rooms per floor. The issue with that is that on a couple of mornings I waited 5-10 minutes to get a lift down to breakfast only to find the first one to arrive was absolutely full! It's fine going up, though, so if you're in a rush of a morning I'd suggest heading down the stairs - it'll take about as long, and you'll burn off enough calories to indulge in a breakfast waffle without feeling guilty!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton-homewood, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us Jack. Our staff would love to hear that their friendliness made your stay enjoyable. Our location and proximity to everything is one of our best features. I am sorry to hear about the elevator delays, we run our service elevator during busy breakfast rush so it can reduce the wait times on the guest elevators. hopefully you were able to enjoy our riddles on the floors to pass your time. Again, thank you very much for staying with us and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2019

We were extremely pleased with the hotel & staff. The queen bed was the most comfortable bed we’ve ever slept in at a hotel!! Location was excellent to access all the sites we planned during our first stay in the city. Definitely staying here again on our next visit to Chicago.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Global29981038589
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton-homewood, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2019

We are thrilled to hear about your pleasant experience at our property! Our main goal is to always make our guests feel at home and it's great to know when we achieve our goal. Thank you very much for your kind review and please let us know if we could assist you with any future reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019

Great location in the heart of downtown Chicago. This location is walking distance from great restaurants, shopping centers, and many more. The hotel itself is very descent and customer service and house keeping is amazing!

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank sharhondat2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton-homewood, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2019

We're thrilled to know you were able to enjoy our properties location and take advantage of all the sightseeing near us. Our main objective is to make our guests feel at home and it's always pleasant to know when we achieve our goal. Please let us know if we could assist you with any current or future reservations. Thank you very much for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2019

Centrally located, friendly staff and clean rooms. This is the place to stay. Drew is at the front desk and can help you with direction to eateries and museums. Breakfast is prepared by Yurober and is delicious everydayl

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton-homewood, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2019

We are thrilled to hear about your joyful experience at our property. Thank you very much for your compliments on our staff. Our goal is to always make our guests feel at home and its great to know when we achieve this. Please let us know if you need assistance with any current or future reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2019

If you've stayed at a Hampton Inn before you know what to expect! The rooms aren't super fancy but they are comfortable and have everything you need. Really liked the location of this hotel - many dining and shopping options are near by, it's about a 15 minute walk to the Bean and there is a subway stop about 10 minutes away. If you'd rather Uber or Lyft, there are lots of drivers riding around and we never had to wait long after requesting a ride. I was nervous about the elevators after reading the reviews here, but we never had to wait more than 5 minutes for one (we left the hotel at 9 each morning and came back/went out again several times between 4pm and 10 pm). Free breakfast was offered but we decided to eat outside of the hotel so I can't comment on it.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 57amandah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton-homewood, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown / Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your experience with us, we appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad you loved our location and hopefully were able to get some great shopping done on our cities beautiful Magnificent Mile. I am also very happy hear that your wait time for our elevator was very minimal. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews