We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Architecture river tour”

Chicago Architecture Foundation
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Chicago Explorer Pass
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Chicago Architecture Foundation (CAF) is a nonprofit cultural organization with tours, exhibitions, programs and events for all ages. Visit CAF on Michigan Avenue to view our 1,000-building scale model of Chicago, shop in our award-winning store, or participate in a fun LEGO® building event in our ArcelorMittal Design Studio. Choose from 85 tours by boat, walking, bus, or even L train, including the CAF River Cruise aboard Chicago's First Lady Cruises. Tours depart daily and are led by CAF's expert docent guides. Every October, check out CAF's free annual Open House Chicago festival. Proceeds from CAF’s tours and gift shop, as well as grants, sponsorships and donations, support this educational mission.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Architecture river tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent. Well organized, comfortable, and very informative. Great way to see Chicago old and new and a great way to spend a pretty day.

Helpful?
Thank Wep25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,723
    258
    26
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
261 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Architectural Tour in Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Surprised my out of town girl friends with this boat tour and they loved it! The docent was amazing. The boat was nice with great bathrooms. We got a drink when we arrived on board and enjoyed cocktail hour on the boat. The tour is longer than the other tour companies but well worth the extra money. I am going to take this again with my young adult children. There were no young children on board which was good because very little room for young ones to roam.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sdoddsayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't skip this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Chicago Architecture Foundation offers the BEST overview of Chicago! I'm a local who "plays tourist" all the time with the CAF. I've done boat tours, "el" tours and walking tours: from cemeteries to Barack Obama's neighborhood to my own neighborhood--and everything in between. If you come to Chicago and don't take advantage of at least one tour, you're missing out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jenbr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiArchitecture, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Architecture Foundation, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for the review! We couldn't agree more about how great it is to be a "local tourist" whenever possible. Hope you continue to enjoy the tours!

Best,
CAF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eudora, Kansas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I went on the Chicago Architectural River Tour and found it to be very informative and worthwhile, The docent was well versed in the architecture and history of each building. So glad I took this river tour early in my visit to Chicago. It helped me navigate and orient me to the different areas of Chicago. I would highly recommend this tour. If it is summertime, don't forget to bring your sunscreen. Our weather was delightful and most unusual for July, cool and yet sunny.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiArchitecture, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Architecture Foundation, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for the review; excellent to hear that you enjoyed your river tour experience! There's nothing like having great weather when you're out on the river. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Best,
CAF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very informative tours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I went on a couple walking tours and the river cruise offered by the Chicago Architecture Foundation and all very interesting and informative. On the walks, each participant is given a little listening device that hooks over the ear to make it easier to hear the guide on a crowded city street.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank schweiz2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chicago Architecture Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Chicago Architecture Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing