We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive service and pleasant atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
Ranked #102 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Attentive service and pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel on three occasions and continue to be pleased with the service, room size a huge plus, clean and convenient to public transportation. The two queen beds were fit for a queen. Free parking a rarity in Chicago. Traveled with grandson who continues to ask me when are we going back to the hotel. Hotel staff helpful with giving directions and phone numbers to desired attractions. Front lobby attractive and very comfortable seating just to lounge and talk. All of this at a reasonable price. Chicago's well kept secret.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53Renee3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Come see us when it warms up, we can direct you to lots of great places!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    638
    268
    80
    60
See reviews for
398
330
124
529
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grinnell, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

staying at the south loop hotel was a great experience. the staff was very kind and helpful. the hotel is beautiful, very mellow and cozy. great amenities such as free wifi and the cafe. also convenient if you're without vehicle; cta is nearby. i will definitely be back the next time i stay in chicago!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Try the chili in the café! Can’t wait to welcome you back to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Very quaint hotel that's very conveniently located close to Illinois Institute of Technology and Chicago's transit the "L".

• Very spacious and clean rooms with modern conveniences (coffee maker/flat screen TV/internet).
• Fantastic workout room with weights, treadmills and elliptical trainers.
• Free secured parking (rare for Chicago)
• Very quiet rooms

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZuziSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Glad to see you enjoyed your experience with us! We can’t wait to welcome you back to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were attending a conference at the McCormick Place. The Hyatt was completely booked, and The South Loop Hotel was recommended. We received a huge room 2 Queen bed for $89. What a value for staying downtown. They have free parking, unlike most hotels in Chicago that still charge you a per day parking fee to stay at their hotel, AND they had a nice shuttle that took us back and forth for a price WAY LESS than the city Taxis. The staff was very nice and courteous and they have a nice coffee shop, bar and restaurant in the hotel. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Great place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valdo9704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I thirlled to hear that you had a wonderful hotel experience. I also find the shuttle service helpful getting to McCormick Place. I will note that the shuttle service is a private owner and is subject to his availabilty. On behalf of the Chicago South Loop Hotel we thank you for your business and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
178 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The South Loop Hotel has great staff, big rooms, clean and comfortable for one of the best prices in all of Chicago. The neighborhood is not the Gold Coast, but safe. Free parking-unheard of in Chicago hotels! A bit noisy with trains but will not interfere with you sleep. I was able to change and even with one occasion cancel within 24 hours of arrival and no issue. Great location to the McCormick convention center, China Town, and South loop attractions. No swimming pool so need to know this for small kids.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for your survey. I also find the hotel conveniently located and am happy that it was the same for you. I agree the free parking in Chicago is a rarity and glad you found it helpful. I will talk to the General Manager about the pool constuction, but I have a feeling that this might take a bit of convincing :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Saint Louis, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Absolutely marvelous experience from the front desk clerks, food service, clean room/great housekeeping staff, management. Great location for me to easily access meeting locations and amenities. Room work space, lighting, internet, business center, allowed me to remotely conduct business. Percy A. Dace

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Percy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you!! It always brings a smile to my face to hear about guest enjoyable experiences. We will continue to keep up the good work and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We bidded $40 for this hotel for on Priceline.

The room we were assigned to was MASSIVE. I mean, it was like 700 sq ft big! It was a bit odd because were was a lot of empty space. The giant walk in closet was so big that could have fit another washroom if they wanted to.

Our room was quiet and somewhat clean - the beds were clean but we weren't sure about the stained carpets. Parts of the hotels/rooms were new (ie: beds, tvs, bathrooms) but rest of the hotel doesn't seem to fit in with the renovations as they were not renovated (ie: sofa's, elevators, business centers, air conditioner units, light switches in the room, hallways).

The hotel comes with 2 free guest parking lot. The one we used were well lit and was in the middle of the hotel which can only be assessed by swiping a key card which we valued.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammiBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed yourself, but would like to apologize for the details of the hotel that you did not to enjoy. I am pleased to say that the hotel in constantly upgrading its amenities and most that you found outdated are on the list. We hope to see you again to ensure that you have the experience you expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#135 of 189 in Chicago
54 reviews
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 189 in Chicago
1,957 reviews
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#139 of 189 in Chicago
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Property: Chicago South Loop Hotel
Address: 11 West 26th Street, South State Street and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616-5093
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing