We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and great for McCormick Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
Ranked #99 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient and great for McCormick Place”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We've come for trade show at McCormick Place 4 years now and have stayed here every year. Great rooms - real queen size beds, refrigerator, plenty of room as far as room size. Super easy to get to McCormick Place for the trade show. Also incredibly close to some fantastic restaurants just up on State Street or Michigan Avenue.
Would recommend this every time !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 574ericc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Eric, thank you so much for your kind words. Its our pleasure to be your home away from home when your in Chicago. We look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    658
    273
    82
    61
See reviews for
413
337
128
546
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Bernardino, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have love working with The South Loop Hotel for the last 5 years and continuing our business relationship. The hotel is great and getting better every year! The staff is friendly and always willing to help with a smile. Thank you for being a great hotel for all events going into town!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Blake S,

Thank you for the kind words, we too appreciate you and the clients you send us! We look forward to a continuous relationship and Hope to see you when you return to Chicago. Thank you from all your friends at The Chicago South Loop Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada, MI
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I have found this to be a great place to stay on our trips to Chicago. We always have found the rooms to be very clean, the check in quick and easy and our stay relaxing. We love the convenience to (walking distance if it isn't snowing or raining too much) to McCormick Center for meetings and an easy $2.25 bus ride to downtown! The staff is always friendly and accommodating. We love the food at both the bar and the L restaurant. This hotel is the best kept secret in Chicago...quiet, relaxing and so enjoyable! We will obviously be back! Best perk...Free parking!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you!

Dont keep us secret too long!

We can't wait to welcome you back to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I've stayed here several times. The staff is great here, they will go above and beyond your expectations. I checked in on my last visit and was very dissappointed with the guest service agent. 1 it took forever to get checked in, the desk agent serviced everyone in the lobby except me while I was standing at the front desk, he took care of a young lady needing to sign a card, then offered to assist the gentleman behind me. WOW REALLY.... 2. i was in room 205 the heat wasnt working I called the front desk and was told someone would come check on it... well 45 mins later, still no one came, I called back down only to be told by the same frotn desk agent,he knew nothing about it. WOW REALLY? the housekeepers need to learn to knock on door before entering, this was the 2nd time housekeepers have walked in the room on me, no knock, no anything but me staring at the housekeeper fresh out the shower.... even with this experience I still enjoy this hotel and will return.... C'mon South Loop get it together, I know your service is better then this!!!!!1

Room Tip: seems the heat doesn't work on the side with low number's the hallway was warmer then the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDJ6871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Your comments and concerns mean alot to us and they will not go unnoticed. Thank you for being a valued guest and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I have to admit I was expecting the hotel to be in an area that's totally rundown but this was not the case. Outside of the broken elevator so only 1 elevator was working that weekend it was relatively good. At night it sounds like a party in the hallways, not an issue for my family, but maybe for you. I'll start with the bads.

The BAD:
1. Parking is free.....if you can find some. Parking is available before 5-6pm, after that its an extremely rare find. Saturday and Friday nights its so bad that people will make their own spots only to get told by the hotel to move their car or it gets towed. I believe street parking is available and free in the immediate area. The hotel does not have nearly enough spots per room.
2. No easy access to the trains/subway. Nearest subway access is Chinatown about 4 blocks up and 1 block over. The Metra is about 7 blocks away.

The GOOD:
1. Close to convention center, Soldier Field, Museums, & Downtown. The Willis tower was about 5 minute drive away.
2. Rooms are large and spacious even the 2 queen rooms.
3. Flat screen TV which also allowed us to plug in our phone so the kids can watch Netflix.
4. Rooms were clean and furniture and appliances looked new.

The spacious rooms is what sets this hotel from the norm.

Room Tip: North wing gives you quick access to the parking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeWiseMen1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
The number 29 bus picks up and drops you off right at the corner, this bus will take you all the way to Navy Pier and there is lots of great stuff to do on the way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I want to give this hotel a very good rating instead of a average rating and the only reason is because the only thing this hotel is lacking is the customer service. If they better there customer service then this hotel would be a gem. However, I liked everything else. If your looking for a hotel with free parking and away from the hustle and bustle of Michigan ave then this is it. In the Bronzeville section. The area looks sketchy but Its not too bad. You are close to the bus that will take you to MI ave if you decide not to drive and you also have the train (CTA). You are also very close to the McCormick Place. The rooms were super big with garden tub baths. There is a restaurant and a bar which both have daily specials and drink specials. All in all I would definitely be back at this hotel. For what your paying and you get free parking and BIG rooms its a bargain.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventuredude718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Im delighted to see you enjoyed our large rooms and free parking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

OMG! The staff here is great! Very accommodating! Ms. Ward, Director of Sales and Ms. Blake, Executive Housekeeper are the best, as well as the young lady at the front desk. They are very helpful and the rooms were very clean. We arrived early for a conference and the staff were able to accommodate us by allowing us to check in early. They helped us every step of the way with information about eating, transportation and other directions. I truly appreciate the service! When I'm in the area again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
We appreciate you! Hope to be your home away from home, come see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#135 of 190 in Chicago
56 reviews
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
O'Hare
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#137 of 190 in Chicago
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Property: Chicago South Loop Hotel
Address: 11 West 26th Street, South State Street and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616-5093
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing