We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close enough to downtown, decent price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
Ranked #102 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“close enough to downtown, decent price”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for a quick weekend to Chicago. Was a little worried about the neighborhood when we were pulling up, but the hotel was great. They had secure free parking behind the hotel, and there was a bus stop right across the street for easy, cheap access to downtown. Also took a cab downtown for pretty cheap, and quick ride. Got a corner room (didn't request it) which was fairly large, a nice surprise. Didn't do much but sleep at the hotel. We were on the East side of the hotel, and could hear the "L" train, but it was not so loud to be disrupting.

Room Tip: Northeast corner you can hear the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpollock27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We appreciate your taking the time to review our property. I am happy that you enjoyed our accommodations and had a pleasant experience with us. We would love to have you as a guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    637
    268
    80
    60
See reviews for
398
330
124
528
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I travel often and rarely experience the type of excellent service in the U.S. that I do overseas - until this hotel. All of my questions were answered by the general manager TK and I felt like I knew her when I arrived. I was greeted, treated well and impressed when my travels took me to Chicago in May, that when I had to return to the city 3 weeks later, I booked here again. I experienced difficulty trying to book online so I called, and sure enough things were handled efficiently. Free parking, great location, great value, free wifi, mini-fridge and superb service is why this hotel is my hotel of choice when visiting Chicago! When people care about what they do, it shows. Thank you and keep up the great work!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rashida R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for the perfect score! We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience at our property with everyone. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and hope you visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Ill keep this short... I'm sure it's a decent option to stay for conferences in the area. Service is absolutely horrible, and currently the wifi is down. Never been to a hotel where there are these issues. If you're traveling an just need a place to stay, this is fine. If you're corporate, this place blows... Be warned...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tRaCeBuStAyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the problems you had with our wifi. We did not have any other complaints during the time of your visit. We do have a complimentary business center to serve our guest's needs. I am sorry you had issues with our service, as most of our guests praise us on it. We hope you will give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I wanted leave an average rating but two things keep me from doing so. Linens had been washed but were stained: wash cloths and sheets. A request for more wash cloths went unanswered. It is clear management is trying to save money by not replacing linens as needed which is unfortunate. Hallway not vacuumed. Folks at the front desk were pleasant. Fitness center had new equipment. Happy Hour drew a crowd filling up the overflow parking lot, but the gated lot attached to the hotel had plenty of spaces. I would stay here again if I found out they cared enough to purchase new linens.

Room Tip: Corner suite was perfect and avoided elevator noise. Bathroom was large and had been renovated. It a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ange Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you so much for offering your feedback. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with our linens and want to assure you this will be addressed. I am pleased you found our front desk staff cordial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Whatever you do, do NOT stay here. I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and on both nights could not fall asleep until 2am! The rooms are not properly insulated, so you can hear ALL the noise from traffic outside as well as everyone coming and going from the elevator. I was on the second floor right in front of the main entrance and by the elevator and sucked it up the first night but it got worse the second night. Apparently there was some sort of event going on in the hotel and for HOURS there was thumping music throughout the ENTIRE BUILDING and it seemed like everyone in the building was complaining because after calling down two times (the concierge would not pick up my calls) I went downstairs and there was a lady standing there on the phone saying THIS IS OUT OF CONTROL, and everyone's complaining but they're doing nothing about it! In addition there was no staff in sight to help me out for a solid 10 minutes. I changed my room to the 4th floor at the back of the building but it was no better.

I also just wanted to point out that for being a young white woman alone in Chicago this hotel was for the most part pretty safe (although isolated) but I can't help but notice I was definitely a minority among staff and patrons and everyone at the hotel was giving me strange looks. It didn't make me feel comfortable at all.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize profusely for the experience you encountered with our noise pollution dueint your visit. This is definitely not our norm and has been addressed. I hope you will give the Chicago South Loop hotel another chance, so we can show you how we really shine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
217 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Great room at a great price! Excellent choice particularly if you have a car. Free parking and easy freeway access made this place an ideal spot from which to adventure. Good fitness center and superb staff!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for the perfect stars! I am delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loves Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Rented a room with my fiancé for a football game we were to attend the next day. The front desk person was great and very welcoming. Sadly that's the only good thing about this hotel. The elevator smelled of beer and pee. Gross! Once in the room I wanted to leave right away. Carpet was dirty (never took my shoes off the entire stay), the walls were dirty and the curtains were so dusty. The bathroom was decent, seemed to be recently updated. I was afraid to even lay down in the bed. I literally slept sitting up! There were no bed skirts so you had the pleasure of seeing how dirty the box spring was. There were no nearby places to eat so decided to go downstairs to the sports bar. Ordered nachos that were so gross I almost got sick. The bartenders were not attentive and when we ordered anything would act as if we were bothering them. I will never set foot back at this place again. Trust me, not worth your money.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money to stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powder33033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am disappointed you did not enjoy your experience with us. Your description of your stay is definitely not a norm. We appreciate your feedback and will address your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#135 of 189 in Chicago
54 reviews
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 189 in Chicago
1,957 reviews
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#139 of 189 in Chicago
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Property: Chicago South Loop Hotel
Address: 11 West 26th Street, South State Street and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616-5093
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing