We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ambassador Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$339
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Thompson Chicago
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$369
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$528
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$476
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Swissotel Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$328
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$579
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$480
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Langham, Chicago(Chicago)
US$563
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$500
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,987)
Filter reviews
1,987 results
Traveller rating
689
798
335
98
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
689
798
335
98
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmccormick placemccormick centerclose to downtownbusiness centerbus stopnavy pierstate streetsoldier fieldsitting areamini fridgeroom was spaciousfront desk staffpublic transportationcoffee makerfew blockscorner roomiit
Filter
Updating list...
1,253 - 1,258 of 1,987 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Why spend $300 per night when you can save a ton of money, get a huge room with a relaxing soaking batch, refrigerator, separate sitting area, free wi-fi, etc. Nice staff, good restaurant, live jazz music on Thursdays, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for the perfect score! I am glad you enjoyed everything from our background jazz music to our value we offer our guests. Whenever you stay in Chicago, please make our hotel your home-away-from-home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Was here for 3 nights during IRCE in McCormick Place in early June. I believe I got the last room available for 3 nights on Hotwire so I did NOT get the best room... BUT it was $150 cheaper than the Hyatt and the other convention recommended hotels... AND it is only a 7 minute walk to the west building of the convention center. BIG PLUS - no need to take/wait for the convention shuttles.

Yes, it is a "boutique" hotel, meaning not part of a hotel chain. And it is "historic" (as in old)... But the bathroom was recently renovated and the room was actually big and had a separate living room with a loveseat and a big chair... AND it had a mini-ref (not a mini-bar where the contents are inventoried and more than $2 for a soda) where you can stock your own water bottles, leftovers, etc. No microwave though.

Bottom line... Would I stay in this hotel again? Yes! Great value for a convention center hotel and good value for touristy Chicago sight seeing. It is a few miles south of Millennium Park, etc. but it is just a quick bus ride on the 29 bus that runs north-south on State St. And the bus stop is just across the street. Very convenient.

I had no problems going back to OHare as there were shuttles that were waiting at the convention center. Otherwise, you can schedule a pick up online the night before with the airport shuttle. If not, you will have to take a cab - which is okay as there is a cab company a half block away... But it won't be cheap as Ohare is over 25 miles away and a one hour ride in rush hour traffic.

Still a recommended stay though, all things considered.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from State St as you will hear the trains early in the morning and late at night.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bengc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you so much for providing your insight regarding your experience at our property. I am delighted you liked everything from our location to the value we offer our guests. Just so you know, we do have a communal microwave in our business center for guest's use. We hope you choose Chicago South Loop Hotel for your next Chicago visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Considering the cabbie did a double take when we told him where we were staying we were curious about what we were getring ourself into. The lobby was fun, Yolanda checked us in and was very pleasant. The rooms didn't mirror the lobby, but they were clean and that's what really matters.

There is a bar/restaurant attached.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed the cleanliness of our rooms and Yolanda at the front desk. She is great! Please come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I booked this hotel through Hotline, so got a good deal. Hotel rooms in downtown Chicago are quite expensive, and in addition almost all of them make a significant ($20-$30 per nite) charge for parking. The South Loop Hotel provided free secured parking facilities, so that was a bonus. The hotel itself is an older property, but our room was clean, spacious,and had a super comfortable bed. The room had a mini-fridge and a good shower, not one of those flow-restricted dribblers. There is a bar and restaurant, which we did not patronize, but which seemed to be busy, and the desk staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside is that this hotel seems to be right on the edge of a neighborhood that is either going down on coming up. Hard to tell which way it's going just from a weekend stay. That being said, our room was quiet and we never had any safety concerns. Free high speed wifi was excellent. Good deal for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBSpeakeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your experience with us and understand what a great value we offer our guests with our complimentary parking and wifi. We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were going to a game at U. S. Cellular Field in South Chicago. The South Loop Hotel was the closest to the field (about a mile away, we walked it). The price was fairly expensive for a very average hotel. One lobby elevator which was extremely slow. An expensive breakfast. Nothing bad but nothing memorable.
Although the location was good for our needs, it was not the most picturesque location on the fringe of Chinatown in a questionable part of town.

Room Tip: Might as well stay low since there is no views and the elevator is terribly slow.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank srobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for providing feedback about your experience with us. Our rates, as with most hotels in Chicago, are at their highest in the summer and at high occupancy. I assure you our rates are competitively priced. We actually had CDQ (Corner Deluxe Queen) rooms that offer views of downtown! Perhaps you can return and try one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews