We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value price means don't expect great thing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
Ranked #99 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Value price means don't expect great thing”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

For a quick stay in the city when you don't mind not being too close to things it's a good value. It's on a bus line but not close to the train stop so you'll have to drive or take a cab to downtown. The free parking is an added bonus but its first come first serve so you may end up parking down the street in not the best area after dark. Our hotel room was spacious and clean but the bathroom door wouldn't close which is inconvenient. Hotel staff also are not the friendliest. Overall you get what you pay for.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewiggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Greetings Ewiggi,
Thank you for offering feedback regarding your experience with us. I am sorry to hear you found our staff unfriendly. I apologize for that and the problem you had with your bathroom door. These issues will be addressed and I thank you for bringing them to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    677
    281
    83
    62
See reviews for
437
347
128
550
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I do not care much about the looks of a hotel. I just ask for a clean bed and bathroom and I am happy. This hotel did not even deliver that. The front desk personnel was unfriendly, pillows and sheets were dirty and smelly, the sofa had several stains, the little table had something yellow and sticky that I don't want to know what it was. It is just a bad hotel. It reminds me about a $20 room I got in Mexico. Of course this costs $150. Lesson learned.

Helpful?
2 Thank Manuel_gg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Manuel_gg2000,
Thank you so much for offering feedback regarding your experience. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with our housekeeping. This is definitely not our norm. Your comments were not unnoticed and will be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I visited a few friends in Chicago and found this hotel on Hotwire. It is not the most luxurious hotel but more than met my needs of a good place to sleep and shower. The front desk and staff were excellent and pleasant. Location were very good especially if you are seeing soldier field, etc.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Greetings Tom P,
We appreciate your patronage and providing feedback regarding your experience with us. I am delighted you found our staff exemplary and our location desirable. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

If you have are seeking good value and have a car and expect to use it, while visiting Chicago, this hotel is a very good choice. Keeping in mind that this is not a hotel aimed at the high-end consumers, the property hits the right marks for a value-oriented traveler: free parking, comfortable accommodations, cleanliness, and safety. Some spots on the carpet and a general appearance that shows the property's age keep me from giving this a five-star rating, but overall, the place delivered well on the factors that were important to me.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor. Though I did not hear anything, the noise level seems to be a comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Greetings Dan W,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you found value in our location, complimentary parking, safety and clean accommodations. Hopefully, you will return soon! Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Booked through hot wire and got a good price. Front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. Room was spacious but in need of a better cleaning of the bathroom and some new paint. We felt comfortable walking around the neighborhood during the day. It is a haul from downtown, Northerly Island, etc .... Free parking made it worth it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Greetings Bill B,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our property. I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary parking, spacious rooms and friendly staff. I apologize for the issues you had with the cleanliness of your bathroom. I assure you your comments will be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked on Hotwire, but was priced well on kayak. Was looking for low cost, including parking.
This hotel is literally on State street, which makes bus at front door. Less than 25 minutes to get to your day trip for family... Millennium park, short walk from state to Shedd Aquarium, 35 minutes directly to Navy Pier!

We drove, but could have walked a few blocks to Reggie's Music Joint, what a great place. Out door dining on street, but don't miss the roof top deck. Good mix of bar foods, fun, and ambiance.

Room was spacious, bathroom clean. Fridge in room. We came here after a night at a 4 star hotel to the north, and my children were much more comfortable at this place because it was relaxed. Parking in town can cost you 40 plus (closer to 60 at the other hotel). So this was a great value.

Pizza can be ordered to room, and actually, several nearby State street restaurants will deliver
Chicago's Chinatown is a few blocks away, not as charming as DC, SF, NYC. Lots of dim sum places that are on recommended restaurant list.

Room Tip: Parking, wifi, price, and public transportation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Coast2coastMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Coast2coastMD,
I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your experience at our hotel. From our complimentary parking to our spacious rooms, it sounds like we covered your needs. We look forward to having you visit again soon. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Came into town July 25-27. Convenient to stay to be near the McCormick Center, not convenient if you plan on the Miracle Mile or Navy Pier if you don't plan on driving yourself or taking public transportation. Hotel lobby was nice, rooms were decent. The only complaints I have is the coffee is horrible in the hotel restaurant & little coffee shop within the hotel. Ended up finding a Starbucks on the last day down by the Illinois State Tech Univ. The elevator was out of service for a bit on Saturday, they didn't have signs posted on each floor. The bar was ok. One bartender was a bit rude. The L26 Restaurant for dinner was good, breakfast buffet was "eh". nothing special. Bacon a bit hard, and powdered eggs. Liked the free parking. I think this hotel could be a hit or miss. We happened to hit it on a good weekend. I think we lucked out that we didn't have people on either side of us, so it was quiet. Bottom line: Decent and reasonable priced if you don't want to spend all your money in town on a hotel. Stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawni50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tk K, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Dawni50,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Though I am glad you enjoyed our value we offer guests, I am disappointed to learn of your unpleasant experience with our coffee. Our food outlets are independently operated. However, we will let the proprietors know about your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
O'Hare
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#134 of 190 in Chicago
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#139 of 190 in Chicago
1,999 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Property: Chicago South Loop Hotel
Address: 11 West 26th Street, South State Street and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616-5093
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing