We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, healthy food with a Mexican flare” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chipotle Mexican Grill

Chipotle Mexican Grill
Ranked #631 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown / The Loop
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great, healthy food with a Mexican flare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

For those who enjoy the lard-laden variety of Mexican food - this will not be the place. But if you want a nice, quick, affordable and satisfying meal that is also healthy and easy to digest -- you will not be disappointed. Chipotle is the type of minimalist place that provides great value and taste every single time. The menu is very simple - and knowing that the owner insists upon farmer's market and free range items to make the food makes it even easier to support this restaurant chain.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank commercesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    44
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

I had a week in Chicago in my own and this was one of the nicest places that I ate in. Don't get me wrong you wouldn't go there in a date, but it's decent food that's quick and cheap. There was a long line but it moved quickly and I figured that as it was full of local office workers they would know a good spot for lunch!

For $8 it was delicious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tillyteethelvisandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Can be busy so be prepared to queue, cheap and cheerful Mex food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

There are Chipotles all over Chircago. We loved it for a simple, healthy, quick meal (as opposed to unhealthy piza or similar). A simple menu of good, tasty food. My favourite is the salad with chicken, all three sauces and loaded with beans, veges and some guacamole.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GillyKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
463 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Waaaay too long to wait!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Like any Chipotle, the food is great. I was a little disappointed at the lack of the tomatillo salsa, however my biggest concern was the length of the line. One of the reasons I love Chipotle is because of the convenience - feeling like you can get healthy food with the convenience of quick service akin to other fast food options. However, the line here is consistently a wait of 30 minutes or more. The staff behind the counter appears oblivious as several of them stand around and lackadaisically sweep a little here or there or just stand around and observe the growing crowd. Not good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank waverider681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not so good....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The place was a bit dirty. The food was average, not so good. And for this money I paid I think I prefer to go to some other fast food restaurant with a better service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ire1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chipotle Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Chipotle Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing