We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #46 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Excellant Service”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Tracy and James were so nice. They went out of there way to help us. Very Patient and Friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonRiverNorthGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Dear Amy 7654,

Thank you so much for the nice words about Tracy and James. They are a real asset to our team! Hope you had a great trip back to Grand Rapids! We'll see you soon!

Andrew Scarlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,362
    771
    165
    48
    31
See reviews for
879
486
87
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I booked this hotel for the king bed suite and separate living room with kitchenette. The room looked exactly like the photos on the website - neutral, modern colors. The friendly front desk ladies were awesome, the cleaning staff and greeters were great, the bed linens and duvet always smelled clean everyday.
Some cons: When the A/C was on, very strong smell of cigarette smoke from other rooms would enter our room (although it was advertised as a non-smoking hotel). Two of the 3 elevators smelled like urine. The eggs from the free breakfast were nasty (not real eggs) but the self-service waffles, bagels, muffins, yogurts made up for this. Lastly, the heated indoor pool felt too crowded with more than 12-15 people in it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parentsof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonRiverNorthGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Parentsof2,

Thank you for the nice comments about our team here. We take a great deal of pride taking care of all of our guests. We also strive to provide the best accommodations as well. I am sorry that you had a few issues during your stay. We are 100% non smoking and we enforce that rule as best we can.

My team and I look forward to seeing you next time you travel from Sunnyvale, California!

Kind regards,

Andrew Scarlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We were traveling with a disabled man, and found them to be extremely helpful and friendly. From the front desk staff, to the bellman and valets, these folks were awesome. Thanks for making our stay in Chicago so wonderful!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobShell81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
RobShell81,

Thank you for taking the time of posting your first TripAdvisor review for us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago – Downtown! You will find TripAdvisor a great tool in exploring hotels, restaurants & attractions in your future travels.

Our staff strives to be accommodating for all of our guests, I am delighted that you found that the case during your stay here! Like you, we hear from many of our guests that they find us a great value for Downtown Chicago.

We look forward to having you in Chicago the next time you are in from Texas.

Graciously,
Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Every time we plan a trip to Chicago, we like to stay at the Hampton Inn on Illinois Street. The staff is fantastic and friendly. Everything is clean and the breakfast is excellent. The Bell Hop and front desk help were fantastic. Keep up the great work. We will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyMartin1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
JudyMartin1966,

Thank you for taking the time of posting your first TripAdvisor review for us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago – Downtown! You will find TripAdvisor a great tool in exploring hotels, restaurants & attractions in your future travels.

We look forward to having you in Chicago the next time you are in from Peoria.

Graciously,
Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2011

What a great location this hotel has....easy walk to tons of restaurants, Michigan Ave., State Street, the river, etc. One block from the Red Line at Grand for further trips to Chinatown, Wrigley Field, or the Willis Tower.

I knew from TA that there would be some issues with noise as there is a Fire Station across the street. The hotel does provide earplugs in the lobby. It wasn't the Fire Station though that was the problem. We had a suite on the back alley side of the hotel, and there was a great deal of noise VERY early almost every morning from a trash truck or some other service vehicle!

Since we had a suite with 2 Doubles, a sofa bed, and a kitchenette, there was plenty of room for my family with 2 teenagers to spread out. The kitchenette even had granite and stainless steel appliances! There was a nice island type seating area in it for quick snacks too!

The hotel is one of the few with this great location that provides free wi-fi, complementary hot breakfast, and a USA Today or Wall Street Journal daily. We appreciated all these extras especially since the parking was $42 a night.
We definitely would stay here again, but would ask for a street side higher up room if it was available as a suite.

Room Tip: Highest Floors street side are the most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussieswife2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
Aussieswife2222,

Thank you for taking the time of posting your first TripAdvisor review for us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago – Downtown! You will find TripAdvisor a great tool in exploring hotels, restaurants & attractions in your future travels.

We find that many of our guests may not be accustomed to the noises of a downtown urban environment, whether it is street or alley noise. That is why we highly recommend earplugs for guests not used to city noise or for those that are light sleepers.

Glad that you enjoyed the complimentary newspapers & the amenities of your suite. Our suites are by far the most popular rooms at the hotel.

We look forward to having you in Chicago the next time you are in from Indiana.

Graciously,
Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This was a trip that I took my 6 and 8 year on and met my friend with her 2 children. We had a one bedroom suite and they even upgraded us to a corner suie - awesome!! The breakfast spread was wonderful - everything from eggs, sausage, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, cereal/bagels, etc... Well worth it and the next block is the red line subway or the other block you can catch the bus or trolley to Navy Pier. It made it easy to get around and the staff was so helpful! I would totally stay there again!! Beds were so comfy too!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leannmunoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
leannmunoz,

Thank you for taking the time of posting your first TripAdvisor review for us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago – Downtown! You will find TripAdvisor a great tool in exploring hotels, restaurants & attractions in your future travels.

I am so glad that you enjoyed the large corner suite, it is by far our most requested room type. Waking up with our On the House hot breakfast is the way to start the morning right, glad that you took advantage of it.

We look forward to having you in Chicago the next time you are in from Indiana.

Graciously,
Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Everybody on the front desk went our of their way to help. Everybody was very professional! Definitely will come back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRPradilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
JRPradilla,

Thank you so much for your recent review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago – Downtown. I am so glad that you enjoyed the warm professionalism of our staff.
We look forward to having you in Chicago the next time you are in from Chile.

Graciously,
Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing