We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, spacious enough for families, and they wash their comforters with every guest!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #55 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Very central location for most downtown activities. We went to the House of Blues, and the Hampton Inn was just a few blocks away. It was just a short walk to Navy Pier. The restaurants nearby are great! The walk to the Shed Aquarium was a bit more than we bargained for, but that could have been solved by taking one of the many forms of public transportation. The Hampton Inn is very clean. It's one of the few hotels that washes their comforters with every guest. The continental breakfast had great variety! We stayed in a suite, which was perfect for families who need their space sometimes. My brother had his own TV and couch in the living area and my mom and I each had separate beds and a TV in the bedroom area. If you have a car, the valet parking is pretty expensive so I'd suggest finding a lot nearby. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gol19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

gol19,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago – Downtown. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay & the “Fresh & Clean” Hampton bedding.

We have compared our valet rates to many comparable hotels in the area. Our most recent rate shop of overnight valet rates of our competing hotels found the rates of: Springhill Suites $48, Residence Inn $45, Hilton Garden Inn $45, Embassy Suites $46. We realize the additional expense incurred by our guests that choose to drive to Chicago & pride ourselves in offering one of the best values for hotel valet parking at the rate of $42 per night to our guests.

We look forward to seeing you back on your next visit to Chicago!

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,015 - 2,021 of 2,571 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

Overall this is a nice hotel with a good complimentary breakfast, location and a very accommodating staff that is willing to go the extra mile to make sure your stay is desirable. The only downfall and it is a big one is the NOISE! The walls in this hotel are paper thin and you can hear everything the tenants next to you are saying/doing, this isn’t the worst of it either as right door to the hotel is a Chicago Fire Station. I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and got maybe 4 hours of sleep each night with ambulance or fire trucks running their sirens several times each evening.

Nice hotel but if you are looking for a place to get a good night sleep I wouldn’t recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Brad J,
Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago – Downtown.

I am sorry that you were not able to rest due to the noise that you encountered. Downtown Chicago is a dense, bustling city with lots of street noise including emergency vehicles that may be heard throughout the day. Most guests do not generally disturbed by the noise, but we realize that each person has their own sensitivity to it. For those light sleepers or those accustomed to city noise we do offer earplugs at the front desk.


Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We recently stayed in this hotel as part of a tour of Eastern USA. It is a very nice hotel within an excellent location (just a few blocks from Michigan Avenue and the river). The hotel is very clean and the rooms are furnished to a high standard. We were on the side looking onto Illinois Street and you do hear the sirens from the fire station but it was so infrequent that it did not bother us at all. In fact, we hardly heard the noise, so it isn't a problem. The included breakfast is plentiful and to a good quality and tea/coffee is available all day from the breakfast room, as well as free internet access from the business centre. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Our family of four stayed in a corner suite for 3 nights. The room exceeded our expectations as far as size and comfort (though double beds do seem a bit small if you are used to a queen or king at home). There were two double beds in a separate bedroom, a large pull-out sofa bed in the living room, table and chairs, and a good size kitchenette with bar seating area. The kitchenette had a refrigerator, microwave, tiny cooktop, and a dishwasher. We would have loved our stay if not for the frequent and piercing noise from firetruck sirens. It was unbelievable how noisy it was on a Saturday night. Sunday and Monday nights were slightly less noisy but still enough to wake us several times per night. I slept with ear plugs and a pillow over my head, but that didn't help much. The problem is that our room faced Illinois street, which is where the firestation is located. If you are going to stay here, do everything you can to get a room away from Illinois. Being on a high floor does NOT help. We were on the ninth floor and the sirens sounded like they were right outside our window. If not for the firestation noise, we would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel as the room was great, staff were helpful, the free breakfast was nice, and the kids enjoyed the pool very much. It is about a 4 block walk to Michigan Avenue.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyG42195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

AmyG42195,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago – Downtown.

I am sorry that you were not able to rest due to the noise that you encountered. Downtown Chicago is a dense, bustling city with lots of street noise including emergency vehicles that may be heard throughout the day. Most guests do not generally disturbed by the noise, but we realize that each person has their own sensitivity to it. For those light sleepers or those accustomed to city noise we do offer earplugs at the front desk. Depending on the roomtype you book, you may also request a room on the alley side of the hotel, which tends to have less noise than the street sides of the hotel.


Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This Hotel knows that Customer Service can be a competitive advantage and it shows. The staff are knowledgeable , friendly and show a genuine interest in you. The guys at the front door took the time each day to make sure we knew what was the best train/bus to get to our destination. The breakfast was very nice and plenty of options. The little added extras is what makes this Hotel from the popcorn machine and cookies in the reception area to the pool / whirl pool.

A special note on the Hotels location, there is an outstanding choice of restaurants and bars within 5 minutes of the place

Only down side was shower was in need of an update

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatsby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The Hampton continues to live up to its reputation of poor maintenance and physical condition of basic things such as closet doors and shower curtain rods. This room's closet door handle was coming off, the shower curtain rod was almost falling off creating an issue with the shower curtain sliding into the center - allowing water to escape onto the floor. The iron water fill cap was broken off so it would splash on clothing when moving it. All plumbing was extremely loud. Positive side - your air conditioning was low on noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Engine Company #3 located right next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotglueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Thank you so much for your TripAdvisor Response.

We have addressed your concerns with our engineering & housekeeping staffs to ensure items like the ones you found are correct before guests check in.


Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights after a 2 month long trip through Europe with 2 small kids aged 2 & 6. The hotel staff is the most service oriented who I have met in ages and the newly renovated rooms, large free breakfast, and terrific pool right in the heart of the city was refreshing and surprising. I would definitely come back and suggest it for families.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsmyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £69 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing