We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, good value, great trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #45 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly, good value, great trip”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Travelled with my daughter from London for a short visit to Chicago. Lovely friendly and helpful staff, spotlessly clean room, free wifi, breakfast and constant supply of tea/coffee all at excellent value for money price. Loved the city, would love to come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,372
    776
    169
    48
    31
See reviews for
887
489
88
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed in June 2011. Upon entering we were welcomed by doormen, then it took only a few minutes for the front desk to hook us up with our room & keys. We were exposed to alot of good humor from people around the lobby with Brewer fans and Cub fans bantering back and forth. Felt like a family reunion. Our room faced Illinois St. but the windows are dual paned so even with some sirens from the firehouse on the corner; it wasn't that bad. We were not awaken by sirens at all. The beds are really comfortable! Breakfast on the 3rd floor gets really crowded by 9-10am (since your stay includes a free breakfast) so I recommend you get there early enough to make your waffles. The little kitchen and the breakfast staff provide hot food like eggs and sausages, or whatever pick of the day. The food is plentiful and even when it was crowded we weren't deprived of anything. Bonus is, as soon as you walk to the entrance of the breakfast room, you hit the coffee bar 1st! At least they had me in mind when they positioned that spot. Love it.
The only thing we were frustrated with are the elevators, (slow- not enough running) but they were working on them so you just have to be patient and understand that with any mechanical trouble, it's not frickin personal. Get over the little irritations or annoyances and enjoy Chicago. The staff work hard to make it enjoyable for you. I think the H I & S do their best considering their not the "Trump Tower" priced hotel, but they treated me like I was Trump so... I'd stay there again for THEIR price. Got a good deal from Hilton Honors & AAA combo anyway.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KoloheSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
KoloheSanJose,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago – Downtown! I am so glad that you had such a good time for your unexpected “family reunion.”

I did want to address your conern with the elevators. We do have 3 elevators for the 12 story hotel. This is usually more than adequate for the amount of guests in the hotel, but can get busy during breakfast & check out times. As you mentioned, there was an elevator that was out of service for a period of several days in June. This was due a broken part that had to be replaced from the elevator manufacturer. I apologize about the wait that you & other guests experienced.

We look forward you having you back in Chicago the next time that you are in from San Jose.

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Check-In was fast and friendly, and since it was our first time in Chicago, the lady at the reception was really helpful and answered all our questions about places to visit and eat etc.All other staff were also friendly and courteous

We didn't get a nice view from our room, but then again, we didn't pay for the view (AAA discounted room). It had 2 double beds, both very comfy, LCD widscreen tv, mini-bar, desk with internet connection (free wifi). Bathroom was clean and standard, came with a bath/shower in one.

Breakfast was quite nice and a good selection was provided, hot and cold. Eggs, bacon, sausage. waffles. cereals, fruits, coffee, tea etc. It was also included in our room price. There was also a restaurant/diner on site but we did not get a chance to try it out.

Location of the hotel was great, lots of nice restaurants and cafes nearby, only a few mins walk from the 'hop on/off' tour bus on Clark st, also only a 10mins walk from Michigan Ave (Miracle Mile). We also went to a Blues club called "Blue Chicago" which was only a 15mins walk from the hotel and it was awesome! Taxis are readily available in front of the hotel and it's not too expensive.

Room Tip: Join the Hilton Honors Program, you can set your preferences on the types of room you need etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wywk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you so much for your TripAdvisor Response. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Our hotel does not have views of the lake or river. Our hotel is only 12 stories, with nearly every building taller than us by many stories. Because of this, we don’t have many views other than the taller buildings around us. In fact, one of our views is of the 96 story Trump Tower, the 2nd tallest building in the US.

We look forward to having you back at the Hampton Inn & Suites on your next visit to Chicago!

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stay here when you go to Chicago. I have been to many, and this one rocks!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonderwomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Very central location for most downtown activities. We went to the House of Blues, and the Hampton Inn was just a few blocks away. It was just a short walk to Navy Pier. The restaurants nearby are great! The walk to the Shed Aquarium was a bit more than we bargained for, but that could have been solved by taking one of the many forms of public transportation. The Hampton Inn is very clean. It's one of the few hotels that washes their comforters with every guest. The continental breakfast had great variety! We stayed in a suite, which was perfect for families who need their space sometimes. My brother had his own TV and couch in the living area and my mom and I each had separate beds and a TV in the bedroom area. If you have a car, the valet parking is pretty expensive so I'd suggest finding a lot nearby. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gol19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
gol19,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago – Downtown. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay & the “Fresh & Clean” Hampton bedding.

We have compared our valet rates to many comparable hotels in the area. Our most recent rate shop of overnight valet rates of our competing hotels found the rates of: Springhill Suites $48, Residence Inn $45, Hilton Garden Inn $45, Embassy Suites $46. We realize the additional expense incurred by our guests that choose to drive to Chicago & pride ourselves in offering one of the best values for hotel valet parking at the rate of $42 per night to our guests.

We look forward to seeing you back on your next visit to Chicago!

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Overall this is a nice hotel with a good complimentary breakfast, location and a very accommodating staff that is willing to go the extra mile to make sure your stay is desirable. The only downfall and it is a big one is the NOISE! The walls in this hotel are paper thin and you can hear everything the tenants next to you are saying/doing, this isn’t the worst of it either as right door to the hotel is a Chicago Fire Station. I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and got maybe 4 hours of sleep each night with ambulance or fire trucks running their sirens several times each evening.

Nice hotel but if you are looking for a place to get a good night sleep I wouldn’t recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Brad J,
Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago – Downtown.

I am sorry that you were not able to rest due to the noise that you encountered. Downtown Chicago is a dense, bustling city with lots of street noise including emergency vehicles that may be heard throughout the day. Most guests do not generally disturbed by the noise, but we realize that each person has their own sensitivity to it. For those light sleepers or those accustomed to city noise we do offer earplugs at the front desk.


Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We recently stayed in this hotel as part of a tour of Eastern USA. It is a very nice hotel within an excellent location (just a few blocks from Michigan Avenue and the river). The hotel is very clean and the rooms are furnished to a high standard. We were on the side looking onto Illinois Street and you do hear the sirens from the fire station but it was so infrequent that it did not bother us at all. In fact, we hardly heard the noise, so it isn't a problem. The included breakfast is plentiful and to a good quality and tea/coffee is available all day from the breakfast room, as well as free internet access from the business centre. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#18 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing