We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect relation between what you get and what you pay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #45 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“perfect relation between what you get and what you pay”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

we used the hampton inn and suites downtown chicago based on tripadvisors recommendations. attending a conference at jw marriot, this hotel seems to a goid choice.

the hotel is closely related to downtown sightseeing events, as well as to the red line grant station (just 1.5 blocks from the station). using public transport in chicago with a cta 3 or 7 days pass you can easily reach to hotel from o'hare (blue line to jackson, change to redline and then go to grant.

the rooms are not perfect new, but are also not old. it is a 4star hotel, therefore everything necessary is given. i booked one class better than standard an got a romm with additional kitchen-like tabel, without anything you need for cooking or eating. also the microwave was not working (i do not need the microwave during this stay).

the other stuff works well.

a very good recommendation should be given to the breakfast: more or less complete, everythink fresh and enough: congratulations. not clear is, why people are allowed to eat there who are not able to eat and who do not pay. the breakfast room is in the 2nd floor and i can not believe that this was not detection by the personal. however this person is just eating (i hope enough for the next 3 days).

the wifi works well.

the hotel is not loud, the location guarantees that you can sleep. also the 200 mtr. the the firefighters headquater is not a problem, you have this in the same manner in alle cities. if you want to avoid this go out (and drive 30 min. car plus time for parking).

the personal is friendly and always asking ...

>>> a very good choice. the price in combination mit booking portals (in my case 119/night) makes it perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joedi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,372
    775
    169
    48
    31
See reviews for
886
489
88
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Hotel was clean, spacious, good location and good value for money. Only criticism I would say is that it's right next to the fire department, therefore can be a little noisy at times, certainly not enough to stop me coming back.

Overall, very good.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjdainty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you so much for your TripAdvisor Response. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry that you encountered outside noise during your stay. Downtown Chicago is a dense, bustling city with lots of street noise including emergency vehicles that may be heard throughout the day. Most guests are not generally disturbed by the noise, but we realize that each person has their own sensitivity to it. For those light sleepers or to those not accustomed to city noise we do offer earplugs at the front desk.

We look forward to having you back at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago – Downtown on your next visit to Chicago!

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2011

EVERY staff member at this hotel was friendly and helpful EVERY time I encountered one of them. Restaurancts and attractions are within walking distance. The breakfast area was very clian and well-stocked each morning. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNIEGEEWHIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I stayed at this wonderful hotel in mid July with some friends.We were looking for a convenient downtown hotel and finally booked in at Hampton suit and inn hotel.The atmosphere was brilliant.the staff was very kind and helpful.The food was superb.the room was very clean and we stayed a week here enjoying our stay very much.I would recomment it to everyone.

Room Tip: the street side rooms have the best view but may be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddienewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2011

It was our first time bringing a tour to your fair city and I must say that all of our passengers had a great time exploring the many sites. Our job was made much easier by courteous and helpful staff who manned the front desk. It was refreshing to find people who were willing to go out of their way to assist us in providing the best we could for our tour group. The front desk staff at this hotel are a credit to your organization and in particular at this location. It was a pleasure and I am sure we will return. Malcolm &
Elizabeth Vizer, Pathway Tours

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This Hampton Inn is a great value with lots of space, the free breakfast & 24-hour free coffee. As you enter it may seem a tad darker and not as modern as other suite hotels, but that feeling goes away as soon as you approach the front desk. I have never encountered such a fabulous front desk staff. We stayed for 5 nights so we encountered different people on different shifts & they were all wonderful - as are all of the other staff people - from the chamber maids to the kitchen staff in the breakfast area - everyone was SO nice & seemed to genuinely enjoy working there. What a breath of fresh air!
Others have commented on the fire station - it is noisy at times (we were on 11th floor overlooking the station), but earplugs help a lot and it wasn't loud enough to keep any of us awake. If there's one negative it would have to be the elevators - while 3 would seem to be enough, they are very slow (even in "off" hours) and one of them is shared with repair/staff/cleaning crews, but it wasn't enough of an issue to keep us from coming back. This will now be our Go To hotel in Chicago.

Room Tip: Hilton Honors membership really counts here - from room selection to free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlamingoChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Travelled with my daughter from London for a short visit to Chicago. Lovely friendly and helpful staff, spotlessly clean room, free wifi, breakfast and constant supply of tea/coffee all at excellent value for money price. Loved the city, would love to come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing