We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice location"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #48 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
1 review
“"Nice location"”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This hotel was conveniently located and an easy walk to Michigan Ave., the "El" trains and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable but bedding covers could be more attractive as they looked lumpy. Breakfast was average with good waffles, lots of fresh fruit, but terrible scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellyberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you so much for your TripAdvisor Response. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the scrambled eggs at the hotel. I am not aware of any preparation issues with the eggs, but will follow up with our breakfast team to see if we can improve them. We try to offer our guests a large variety of options for breakfast, including: cereals, oatmeal, make your own waffles, fresh & cut fruit, yogurts, hard-boiled eggs, pastries, bagels, English muffins & toast.

We look forward to having you back at the Hampton Inn & Suites on your next visit to Chicago!

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,397
    786
    176
    49
    33
See reviews for
910
495
91
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Wow, flew into chicago on a sunday morning and went to hotel, way too early to check in. However, they lets us change our clothes, store out bags and even enjoy their outstanding breakfast. We could not have asked for a better staff-will most certainly do it again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frosty8832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I have been to a lot of hotels around the world, but by far this place tops in service. The staff are so friendly, they go out of their way to make your stay great... Add free wifi, pop corn and 24 hour free coffee service, and nice breakfast. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doc8reg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havana, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Elevators were quick not much waiting.
Breakfast was average. Making your own waffle is always good.
Everyone working there was very courteous including the repairmen. Had a couple minor issues with the room and they took care of it and was very professional and friendly about it.
Walking distance to Baskin-Robins for ice cream.
Parking attends were quick and very friendly.
We had a Suite and had plenty of space.
The exterior of the windows need to be washed. I like looking out the window and my only complaint is the windows were really dirty.
Can't think of any reason why we wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: I enjoy watching activity out my window at night. We were on a corner suite and had plenty of activi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CubFan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you so much for your TripAdvisor Response. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

I did want to let you know that we do wash our windows 3 times yearly. Outr most recent Window washing took place early September. It looks as if you stayed in August, so you were here just before the windows were washed.

We look forward to having you back at the Hampton Inn & Suites on your next visit to Chicago!

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The hotel is great. Not one complaint.Really comfortable. I love Hampton Inns always. This one Has a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse which is simply sublime. The bar is wonderful. The Pool in the hotel is Ok and best of all, it is in walking distance of 2 of the greatest blues and jazz clubs in chicago., I does't get better.
I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My Family, the 4 of us, 2 adults and 2 children stayed here for a 2 night stay in early August.
It was our first stay at this hotel and it was a plesant surprise that we had no headaches during our entire stay.
We did Valet park just in case the need to get in and out, we did not, but felt better doing the Valet. We only used a Chicago Taxi one day, our trip to the Aquarium. Other than that the hotel is in walking distance to everything. Of course not to Wrigley field, but you can take the "L" to drop you off right at the game. (red line @ grant station)
The continental breakfast worked out well for us, saved us money so we did not have to find a restaurant in the morning for breakfast. Kids could eat in the room, and it actually helped us start our days earlier.
We would recommend visiting the Shedd Aquarium, be prepared to wait awhile to get in, that was the only bad part of our visit to the Aquarium. It starts off a little slow, but that maybe due to the wait outside on a hot day, but then it was awesome and the kids had a ball.
We would also recommend the John Hancock Observatory. We did walk to the old Sears Tower (I think it is called Willis Tower now), but for some reason there was an hour and a half wait to get to the top. So that same day we walked to the John Hancock Building and were able to go up to the top with no wait.
We would recommend buying some cheesecake from the Cheesecake Factory and taking that on your trip up to the John Hancock Observatory, and enjoying your Cheesecake as you overlook Chicago 94 stories up. The Cheesecake factory is located inside or street level in the John Hancock Building.
What Else, Harry Carrey's resturant, Hard Rock Cafe, Giodarno's Pizza, and all the shopping places are within walking distance of the hotel.
Back to the hotel for a second. We selected this hotel for the 2 room suite, and it offering 2 double beds. We did NOT have to use a pull out sofa as a bed. We are NOT fans of pull out sofa beds, so we were very happy with the 2 room suite with the 2 double beds.
Even the pool was a good size for my son to enjoy. Obviously not until late in the day, but at least he got to enjoy it, I believe, all three nights.
Overall a great trip to Chicago. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay here again. The staff at the hotel were nice as well, from the Valet attendants to the front desk, everyone was pleasant.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room higher up in the hotel, it has 12 floors I believe. We were on six. Being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation_review_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

If you're ever staying with your children in downtown Chicago, you must stay here. We always like to stay at a Hampton Inn as they have a great hot breakfast, beds and pools. This hotel was unlike any Hampton Inn we had stayed in. Very modern and chic. The front desk staff made our trip to Chicago even better. Janita and Tracee not only were helpful and friendly but made our reservations for restaurants and tourist attractions so easy. Our room was upgraded to a suite and we loved it. The dining area is huge and room for everyone. The pool and outdoor terrace has a great view of the city too. The only thing about this location is the close proximity of the firehall to the hotel. You do hear alot of sirens however we were only on the 3rd floor and facing the street so it may be better on other floors. They also provide free earplugs. However, if you want to stay in one of the country's most vibrant cities then don't expect a silent night!

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the front of the hotel as that may help with the siren noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsBevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing