We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A whirlwind trip...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #56 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 November 2011

.... as I entered the hotel, Tracee greeted me with respect and professionalism. After driving 5 hours in stop and go traffic, it was just what I needed. She was courtious and professional. The hotel is all non-smoking and we love it! The room was clean. A little dated, but keeping in the Downtown theme, was exceptional. They have valet parking on site, and the porter was very helpful. The wifi worked as expected. We would recommend it to anyone traveling, or stuck, in Chicago.

Room Tip: arrive late in the evening ask for a deal... ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spidrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2011

Dear spidrman,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

The hotel was completely renovated in Fall 2010 with all guestrooms receiving new furniture, wall vinyl, carpet, & tile & granite in the bathrooms.

We look forward to having you the next time you a fortunate enough to be “stuck” in Chicago.



Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,998 - 2,004 of 2,609 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

From the moment we arrived, we felt at home here.The reception staff were so helpfull especially tracie, but really all were great. Room was clean, had a fridge,sink and coffee maker. Yes the Chicago Fire Dept is right be side hotel, our room was at front but we had no issue with noise. We love food and trying new things so the location is brillant for resturants within walking distance or a few stops on the red line which is right around the corner, it was also great for connection to the train to and from airport. Our trip was for the Chicago marathon, best day every......
Great to have a breakfast room(very clean, excellent staff here too) with hot food, breads and cakes, fruit and even hot waffles that you make your self yummie, all hot drinks are availible till 10pm free. Used the gym small but was great for us, pool small too but we had it to ourselves. Lovely Italian resturant with enterance from hotel. Been to Chicago many times but now we will onlly book here. thanks to every one for making it a trip to remember.......

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2011Niamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My sister & I chose this hotel because of the location, it had 2 beds, and was a suite with a kitchen. The staff was absolutely wonderful. We were on the 8th floor in a corner suite. The room needed to be updated in my opinion, but it was clean. The nice thing was the separate bathroom, in addition to the 2nd sink which was in the bedroom area. There were 2 TVs, plenty of dresser drawer storage, climate control, granite countertops, a magnified mirror in the bathroom, full kitchen with dishes (we didn't use anything other than refrig & coffeepot). Other than the occasional siren (fire station across the street), the room was quiet. We brought earplugs, and only heard the sirens once each night right after going to bed. The breakfast was very good - quiet a nice variety. The staff was the best part. Everyone was so helpful & friendly. It was in a great location for us - within walking distance to Navy Pier & restaurants & shops. We enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Go for the corner suites - the higher up you are, the quieter it will be. Just remember to use earp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2011

Dear barbi62,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

As with most hotels in downtown, street noise is something to be expected: Downtown Chicago is a dense, bustling city with lots of city noise including emergency vehicles that may be heard throughout the day. Most guests are not generally disturbed by the noise, but we realize that each person has their own sensitivity to it. For those light sleepers or to those not accustomed to city noise we do offer earplugs at the front desk.

Thanks for the great tip on the corner suite – every guest that books it is so surprised of how spacious it is… a full 680 square feet (bigger than my first apartment!).



Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Pros:
Great rooms.
Great service.
Right in the city near a ton of great bars and restaurants.
Cons:
The breakfast buffet isn't so good.
Right next to the downtown fire station.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank super-fan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

super-fan24,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

I am sorry that you encountered outside noise during your stay. Downtown Chicago is a dense, bustling city with lots of street noise including emergency vehicles that may be heard throughout the day. Most guests are not generally disturbed by the noise, but we realize that each person has their own sensitivity to it. For those light sleepers or to those not accustomed to city noise we do offer earplugs at the front desk.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast offering. Is there anything we could have done differently to improve this? Just this past week, we have added hot oatmeal with toppings to our On the House hot breakfast selection.

We look forward to having you back the next time you visit Chicago!

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This place is just as nice as the much higher priced options that are around it. It is within easy walking distance of many major attractions at aroun4100 dollars less than the Marriott, hyatt etc. The rooms have everything else they have plus the convenience of being close to Weber Grill and other great choices. They have a really nice Italian restaurant off the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krandy21784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This was without a doubt the best hotel we've ever stayed at. From the moment we walked in the door we were treated like welcome guests. Tracee and Brandon, especially, were outstanding. We were upgraded to a better suite without extra charge because they'd overbooked the one we reserved, and it was magnificent. The room was huge, clean, and comfortable. We were in the corner overlooking Dearborn on one side and West Illinois Avenue on the other, and I adored it. Everything we needed was right there without having to ask twice or wait. They helped us find our way around Chicago, pointed out fantastic restaurants and places to see, even booked us a river tour. All with smiles, lively conversation, and the sincere joy of doing a job they obviously love. We are definitely coming back to Chicago, and we are definitely staying at this hotel when we do!

Room Tip: You're in the heart of the city so just enjoy it! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romancewriter_tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My friend and I decided for a quick weekend getaway over the busy Memorial Day Weekend in Chicago. Searching multiple hotels online, the Hampton Inn & Suites offered a great rate package that included Free Parking. In addition, the hotel also offers Free Breakfast, Free Internet, and a nice pool, hot tub and sauna! That all adds up to a lot of value in the heart of downtown. Our room was very nice and stylish, clean and featured a single cup coffee maker. Our room didn't have a microwave or refrigerator, but I wasn't expecting either. I'm not sure if this is true of all rooms. The bathroom was modern and fresh and Hampton Inn (this is my 2nd stay) have really soft bath towels! The softest of any chain actually.

The only 'miss' for the hotel is the valet didn't understand our reservation, and instead directed us to self park. His directions included making a left turn which required breaking the law in order to do so. Upon check-in, we were advised that the valet should have parked the car. The front desk agent at check-in was exceptional, and apologized repeatedly. She really did her best to make up for the mistake, and was extremely professional. In the end however, I had to ride with the valet, to the ramp to locate my car so they could park it properly. Not the best solution.

We indulged in the pool, hot tub and sauna, which were all very lovely on a rainy Sunday. Like any hotel, the only downside in this area are parents who are too busy texting to watch their young children run around.

One nice feature is the hotel is connected through interior access to two restaurants, including Ruth Chris Steakhouse. Granted, Chicago is home to great restaurants on every corner, but this was a nice amenity. As was the complimentary umbrella, which we scored before they ran out.

Complimentary breakfast was as expected, and as always, very busy in a family friendly hotel on a holiday weekend. The staff managed this chaos well, keeping most food well stocked. If I was on business, this would have proved less than pleasant.

At check-out, we were genuinely asked how our stay was, and with the exception of the parking dilemma, everything was excellent. I would recommend and return to the Hampton inn & Suites for a leisure visit, or midweek business trip.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank historytraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

drakkar91,

I just wanted to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the product and service we give our guests.

I am so sorry with the misunderstanding with the valet team. The hotel has no self parking option, although there are many other lots in the area not affiliated with the hotel that you may park your car. I am sorry they misunderstood what you were asking for.

You mentioned that you did not have a fridge in your room. I wanted to let you know that this is an amenity that we offer at the hotel. Our most basic rooms do not include a fridge, but we do offer upgraded rooms with fridges. We have our King with Wetbar rooms which are a standard room like you had with the addition of a wetbar with a minifridge & microwave. These King with wetbars rooms typically are an additional $5 per night. If you would like more room or need a room with 2 beds, we offer great deals on our suites. Anywhere from $20 to $60 more per night will get almost double the square footage of a standard size room & offer a kitchenette with Fridge & Microwave, separate living & sleeping area & two TVs.

We look forward to have you back at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago – Downtown the next tiem you are in Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#14 Family Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £65 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing