We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #44 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend in December. The staff were very friendly and helpful, always greating us with a smile and warm welcome as we entered and left. Janita, the manager, really stood out as being very customer-service oriented and made our stay even more enjoyable. The staff helped recommend restaurants, shopping, transportation, definitely full service! Breakfast was very good for being a free breakfast, and the breakfast room view is spectacular. The room was very nice, beds were very comfortable, and they offer ear plugs if needed to drown out the sound of the fire trucks (hotel right next to the fire station, and the fire trucks go out with sirens blarring frequently in the night). Fire trucks didn't bother me. It was an amazing location and absolutely delightful staff who made our stay very enjoyable. I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have less fire truck noise. Definitely eat at the Rosebud (attached).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

Thank you for the warm comments regarding Janita, we are continually astounded by the positive comments that she receives from guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,349
    755
    160
    47
    31
See reviews for
866
481
85
495
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed in a corner sweet and it was huge. Worth the extra money to have a nice spacious room. The room was a little worn and dated, but overall very comfortable. Try to get a high floor as the traffic noise at night can be disturbing, but still a great stay.

Room Tip: corner suite was worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpuck1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 December 2011
Dear dpuck1998,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

Our hotel was just completely renovated in Fall 2010 with all new furniture, carpet, wall vinyl, bathrooms & public areas. We look forward to having you back at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago – Downtown the next time you in Chicago!

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Great place to stay while visiting Chicago. Walking distance to shopping and theaters. Lots of places to eat close by. The staff was helpful and friendly. Nice breakfast and comfy beds.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We have been lucky enough to have a weekend event at the Hampton Inn and Suites three times a year for the past several years. We continue to be impressed with the accomodations, both clean and comfortable, and the location can't be beat! In planning for the group, Ruth, Jenna, John and Juan have been a pleasure to work with; but all the staff, including the front desk staff, the valet and the porters have made the weekends enjoyable and made the families we work with feel welcome.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pleased800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

When visiting Chicago recently for a family wedding, we wanted to stay close to Michigan Avenue so we could take advantage of the great shopping and restaurants. This hotel was perfect. It's only a couple of blocks from Michigan Avenue -- much closer than I originally thought. We were able to walk everywhere.

The staff at the hotel was amazing. They made us feel so welcome -- from giving us great directions and restaurant tips to welcoming us back and asking how we enjoyed the places they had pointed us to. Everyone we talked to was very friendly and helpful.

The rooms were comfortable and very clean, and the beds were wonderful. I haven't slept that well in a long time. And, the complimentary breakfast was great.

If we travel again to Chicago, we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jama001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 December 2011
Dear jama001,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

I am glad that you enjoyed our beds. If you would like to take them home with you, you can always purchase the entire bedding collection (including the mattress!) on our website. We look forward to having you back at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago – Downtown the next time you in Chicago!

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

I knew the location of this hotel was great, and I stay in Hamptons frequently for business and pleasure, because it's always a great value. But I was amazed at the folks managing and working at this hotel. It's only a few blocks from Michigan Ave. and the Miracle Mile, and great restaurants are walking distance ( Gene and Georgetti's for example, and Rosebud Trattoria is connected to the hotel) The hotel is extremely clean and well appointed.

Concierge , Rhondalyn Buckhanon (Ronnie) was amazing at the level of service she provided. When I go back to Chicago, I'll be at this hotel. You cannot go wrong.,

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkramer1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

I am so glad that Ronnie was so helpful during your stay. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawlins, Wyoming
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Hotel is located three blocks from Michigan Ave and all the shops. Skybridge to Ruth Chris Steakhouse, or many more restaurants within walking distance. As far as the room, it was a typical Hampton Inn room.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccallja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing