We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #42 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sheffield
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Terrific value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We paid under =£100 per night for bed and breakfast and thought it excellent value. The hotel and bedroom - well decorated and comfortable. Particularly liked the big bedroom and kingsized bed. Location good too - easy walk to main sites, and many restaurants and bars within 5-10 minutes walk. Staff all pleasant and mostly efficient.
A couple of slight criticisms. The temperature of the hw in the shower is not good - tepid at best. The breakfast provided is a good choice and there's plenty of it but the quality is not of the highest, though for the price paid this is not a complaint really. If you are a light sleeper it might be a good idea to take earplugs. The city centre location means it can be noisy.
Overall though pleased with this hotel and would definitely recommend this to others.

Room Tip: Might be a good idea to ask for a room away from the fire station if you want something quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joolsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you joosd for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate your honest comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    741
    160
    46
    30
See reviews for
851
475
85
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

2 room suite - 2 comfortable beds and pullout couch, 2 tvs perfect for Mom Dad and 2 teen boys for 4 nights. Rooms and hotel comfortable and clean. Very good complimentary self serve breakfast, hot and cold choices, sweet grapefruit, waffle maker, ample seating and kept very clean. Housekeeping, dining and front desk staff all very kind, friendly and helpful. Lots of children in the nice pool on Easter weekend. Great location - many restaurants closeby. Kitchen spotless. No utensils. We knew that from Trip Advisor so we brought our own. We were able to lock our bags behind the lobby for the day after we checked out as our train departed in the evening. Great stay and great value. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Suite 529 faces fire hall but that did not disturb us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rct2trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
WOW rct2trip, what an awesome review!!! I am so delighted that you and your family had a stellar experience with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown. We would love to have your family visit us again in the near future. Thank you again!


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a more upscale Hampton Inn & the location is great. Very nice staff, pretty good breakfast, large room, good plumbing. Excellent choice for the price to be in downtown Chicago. The housekeeping staff was really wonderful: I left my jewelry in the room safe & they got it back to me! What a relief.

Room Tip: High floor away from the street. This is a very noisy section of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcoakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you mcoakland for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. I am so relieved to hear that were able to return your items to you! We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago from Oakland.

P.S. 2 of my favorite artists are from Oakland...Keyshia Cola & Tupac :-)

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is very central and an ideal location for exploring Chicago. My husband and I had a suite and it was huge, warm and comfortable: a large sitting room and kitchen area, a dressing area and a decent size bathroom. The bedroom was also large with a really comfortable superking bed. A self-service breakfast is included in the deal - this includes hot food kept warm in stainless steel servers - so not fresh nor delicious. However, I enjoyed the porridge and fresh fruit and my husband liked the waffle maker. For the price it is unusual to get such a large breakfast in a city central hotel. The place was popular with groups and families over the Easter period when we stayed.
What the hotel lacked in elegance or sophistication it made up for in terms of comfort and service. The front desk staff were really helpful and willing to help. My only criticism is the one I apply to all hotels: no spray for hair-washing - only a fixed overhead shower and no small individual reading light. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: The suites are really great and give you much more space. Ideal for dealing with jet lag when one p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 578ElizabethP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you 578ElizabethP for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments, recommendations, and feedback that you provided. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Two room suite was very nice and large. Comfortable beds with clean duvets everyday. Beautiful, modern decor, big bathroom area, and large kitchen area with microwave, sink, fridge, table, chairs and counter space. Hot breakfast was very impressive with lots of choices. Kids had a great time in the large pool and hot tub. The valet service was extremely helpful with helping us with our two large passenger vans. Amazing price for a great location and very clean and nice hotel. Highly recommended--especially for families.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCMom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you, NCMom21, for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write us such an awesome review. I am so delighted that we were able to add to your experience while vacationing in Chicago with your family. We look forward to having you all here with us again in the near future.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludington, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had a great experience at this hotel. Cara made our stay great. She gave each of my children 9 and 10 years old her business card and said that if they got lost to take any taxi back to the hotel. That is huge for a parent traveling with children. She also gave us coupons for free kids meals at Weber grill, which we enjoyed. The free breakfast was great as we had 5 people in our party. The pool area was a great way to unwind after walking around the town and museums all day. Close walk to the bus station. I was amazed at all the stuff that the front desk staff had to do as part of their job. They are taxi, bus experts, restaurant recommendation and menus. Car rental experts. Change makers so you can ride the buses. I hadn't even thought about the fact that you need exact change for the bus!! Fortunately they did. The beds were comfy and clean. We stayed two nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meher49431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Greetings meher49431,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write such an awesome review. I am so delighted that Mom, kids, grandma & kids all had such a great time here in our beautiful city and that everything here at the hotel meet your standards. I am so pleased that Cara made such a lasting impression with the children. We look forward to having you & your family visit us again in the near future.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at this Hampton Inn for the second time within 6 month. We liked the location and the valet parking service which made our exploring in Chicago very easy. All the staff were always friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was good. The kids really enjoyed the pool. Our room and the rest of the hotel was clean. We will be back on our next visit to Chicago.

Room Tip: We choose a suit to fit our family of 4 and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Maria K, THANK YOU so much for choosing to coming back and stay with us a second time. We are so delighted that we have become your go-to hotel when you and your family visit Chicago. However, I did notice that we received 4 out of 5 for value and sleep quality. If there is anything that we can improve upon to make you more comfortable on your next visit, please do not hesitate to let me know. I look forward to your feedback and also to seeing you again soon.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing