We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAPPY DANCE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #54 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I am 64 years old, never traveled to Chicago and not at all comfortable with my decision to stay dwontown and travel by bus to sights. Any and all help I needed was pleasantly provided. Holding luggage until chek in time and also until leaving time. Easy and no problem there. Lots of good suggestions and directions on how to best enjoy Chicago for a family style vacation. No problem explaining more than once..did i mention I am 64 years old. Good travel suggestions I've never heard before. Have children carry a card with the hotel name and address and this hotel will encourage them to give it to a taxi driver if lost and will welcome them back to safety. The front desk had nothing but easy to talk to and delightful people working my whole stay. Each and every employee there seemed to be there to make my trip the best ever. Going back sometime..didn't see it all and this downtown Hampton inn is exactly where I plan to stay. thank you all!!! Breakfast workers sooooooo nice also!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

WOW Diana B, what an awesome review!!!! Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. I am so happy that our staff was able to make you feel at home in such a big city for the very first time. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago so you can show us your HAPPY DANCE :-).

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,583 - 1,589 of 2,571 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

Went to Chicago to see Book of Mormon. Stayed at Hampton Inn Downtown, the place was clean, put needs alot of updating. The help at front desk was wonderful. Clara was working when we were there. She gave us alot of great places to eat and was always helpful in anything we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julieabc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you julieabc21 for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us a review. I appreciate your honest comments. I would love to hear more detailed feedback as to the changes/updating that you recommend for our property as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

I am delighted that Clara was able to enhance while visiting us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We paid under =£100 per night for bed and breakfast and thought it excellent value. The hotel and bedroom - well decorated and comfortable. Particularly liked the big bedroom and kingsized bed. Location good too - easy walk to main sites, and many restaurants and bars within 5-10 minutes walk. Staff all pleasant and mostly efficient.
A couple of slight criticisms. The temperature of the hw in the shower is not good - tepid at best. The breakfast provided is a good choice and there's plenty of it but the quality is not of the highest, though for the price paid this is not a complaint really. If you are a light sleeper it might be a good idea to take earplugs. The city centre location means it can be noisy.
Overall though pleased with this hotel and would definitely recommend this to others.

Room Tip: Might be a good idea to ask for a room away from the fire station if you want something quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joolsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you joosd for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate your honest comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

2 room suite - 2 comfortable beds and pullout couch, 2 tvs perfect for Mom Dad and 2 teen boys for 4 nights. Rooms and hotel comfortable and clean. Very good complimentary self serve breakfast, hot and cold choices, sweet grapefruit, waffle maker, ample seating and kept very clean. Housekeeping, dining and front desk staff all very kind, friendly and helpful. Lots of children in the nice pool on Easter weekend. Great location - many restaurants closeby. Kitchen spotless. No utensils. We knew that from Trip Advisor so we brought our own. We were able to lock our bags behind the lobby for the day after we checked out as our train departed in the evening. Great stay and great value. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Suite 529 faces fire hall but that did not disturb us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rct2trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

WOW rct2trip, what an awesome review!!! I am so delighted that you and your family had a stellar experience with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown. We would love to have your family visit us again in the near future. Thank you again!


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a more upscale Hampton Inn & the location is great. Very nice staff, pretty good breakfast, large room, good plumbing. Excellent choice for the price to be in downtown Chicago. The housekeeping staff was really wonderful: I left my jewelry in the room safe & they got it back to me! What a relief.

Room Tip: High floor away from the street. This is a very noisy section of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcoakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you mcoakland for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. I am so relieved to hear that were able to return your items to you! We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago from Oakland.

P.S. 2 of my favorite artists are from Oakland...Keyshia Cola & Tupac :-)

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is very central and an ideal location for exploring Chicago. My husband and I had a suite and it was huge, warm and comfortable: a large sitting room and kitchen area, a dressing area and a decent size bathroom. The bedroom was also large with a really comfortable superking bed. A self-service breakfast is included in the deal - this includes hot food kept warm in stainless steel servers - so not fresh nor delicious. However, I enjoyed the porridge and fresh fruit and my husband liked the waffle maker. For the price it is unusual to get such a large breakfast in a city central hotel. The place was popular with groups and families over the Easter period when we stayed.
What the hotel lacked in elegance or sophistication it made up for in terms of comfort and service. The front desk staff were really helpful and willing to help. My only criticism is the one I apply to all hotels: no spray for hair-washing - only a fixed overhead shower and no small individual reading light. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: The suites are really great and give you much more space. Ideal for dealing with jet lag when one p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 578ElizabethP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thank you 578ElizabethP for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments, recommendations, and feedback that you provided. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Two room suite was very nice and large. Comfortable beds with clean duvets everyday. Beautiful, modern decor, big bathroom area, and large kitchen area with microwave, sink, fridge, table, chairs and counter space. Hot breakfast was very impressive with lots of choices. Kids had a great time in the large pool and hot tub. The valet service was extremely helpful with helping us with our two large passenger vans. Amazing price for a great location and very clean and nice hotel. Highly recommended--especially for families.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCMom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you, NCMom21, for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write us such an awesome review. I am so delighted that we were able to add to your experience while vacationing in Chicago with your family. We look forward to having you all here with us again in the near future.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £69 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing