We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #55 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 November 2013

An unexpected surprise. The hotel is in a nice location close to Michigan Ave, like 2 blocks. Easy walk to the financial district where we were working. Breakfast was pretty good here. The place was sold out each night, so I could not get my bedding request, but it was OK. Would come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveRalegih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

I appreciate the kind review of our hotel. I completely agree with you, our location is as good as it gets when considering how versatile it is. It is close to many attractions, restaurants, and business related locations. Plus, having public transportation a block away doesn't hurt either. Sorry to hear about the availability for room types, hopefully next time you're in town we can get you set up with the room type that you prefer.

Alex Sailor


Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 2,575 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just returned from a three night stay at the Hampton Inn Downtown Chicago. Have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past twelve years because you can't beat the price, location, and staff for an affordable stay in downtown Chicago. As others have written, the location is convenient to the subway and elevated train systems, busses, and walking to sites, shopping, and restaurants in the River North and downtown areas.
All staff are friendly and professional - remembering our names and providing directions and recommendations as requested.
This time we stayed in a suite on the 11th floor on the side by the fire station. Yes, we heard the sirens during the day but we were never awakened by the sound. Liked being able to look out and see the action on the streets below, etc.
Breakfast is adequate - typical HI fare. Could have a little more variety - especially for those guests that stay multiple nights.
Rooms are clean and serviced daily. This hotel does a good job of maintaining cleanliness with a very high rate of occupancy.
Hotel is easy and inexpensive to reach if flying in/out Midway using the Orange Line. Fare is about $2.50 each one way. Busses are convenient to State Street shopping or traveling up north to history museum, Old Town, Lincoln Park. There are two cinemas within walking distance as well as all the shopping of Mag Mile.
And, if you want some good soup and a sandwich, go to Snickers - at the corner of Illinois and State. It's just a little corner bar with absolutely no décor, but the chicken noodle soup is from scratch. Lunch for two - under $20.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors help with any concerns about fire station noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsweeney458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

I wanted to thank you for taking time out of your day to leave such a comprehensive review and for all the positive things you had mentioned about our hotel.

We truly put our hearts into this hotel and glad to see you can feel that as well. I also wanted to thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. Its nice to see that we've consistently been doing well over the years, and continue to do so today. I haven't been to Snickers yet, but I've heard good things about it (and the prices seem to be really good for downtown). I'm happy that the fire station wasnt an issue for you as well! I sure hope you had a good trip home, and I look forward to seeing you next time.

Alex Sailor


Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Compared to other options, the rate at this hotel was very competitive for the week I was traveling. Rooms are what you expect at a Hampton. The location and access to public transportation is good. Overall, it was a quality Hampton Inn experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Angelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

I appreciate the kind words about the quality and price of our hotel.
The rooms are great, with plenty of sizing options, and the rate tends to be very affordable for downtown Chicago in such a great location. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Alex Sailor


Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The exterior appearance of this hotel is simply awful and the faux Frank Lloyd Wright lobby doesn't impress. But the warmth and friendliness of the staff more than makes up for that. The rooms are clean and comfortable as you expect from a Hampton Inn, although the entire hotel is showing signs of wear and tear. I was pleasantly surprised to find a digital safe in the closet - an important feature which is often lacking at mid-range properties. This hotel is conveniently located just a block or two from the Grand Ave station of the Red line. From O'Hare it's easier to get off the Blue line at Grand and catch the 65 bus east. Be advised the north river area is considered the entertainment district and on weekend nights, it's nearly impossible to walk the streets due to tens of thousands of drunk suburban teenagers (or they act like teenagers) who frequent the local sports bars and restaurants. Even from the 11th floor, I could here folks yelling their heads off at 3 o'clock in the morning. Notwithstanding, if you get a good rate you'll be more than satisfied staying at this property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1NicePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel!

Im sorry about the noise you incurred during your time with us, but Im glad to hear that it didn't take away from your experience with us. Like you said, the warmth and friendliness of our staff make our hotel what it is. I feel as if that is what sets us apart from the other hotels in the area. Top notch service, and a staff that genuinely cares about each and every guest. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Great location downtown Chicago, near excellent restaurants, pleasant staff, clean and comfortable -accomodations! I was in Chicago for a two-day training class. It was easy to fly into Midway and hop the train into downtown Chicago and reach the Hampton Inn, and explore from there!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thanks for filling out a review and for the nice words about the hotel. Our location is in one of the best areas in town surrounded by lots of great restaurants and entertainment. Plus, like you said, its very easy to get to the hotel when coming in from either airport, or even driving for that matter.

Have a great weekend,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel was quite good. All employees were kind and courteous and had a smile. You can't get a better located hotel in Chicago then this hotel. Walking distance to a bunch of major attractions including navy pier, willis tower, Museum of Contemporary Art, Jazz Clubs and a short taxi fare to the aquarium.

It's better then most of the other "hampton suites" hotels, more of a city hotel feel but the usual Hampton Suites prices. I had my daughter and mother with me and had a Queen 2 bed double with sofa bed and surprising the sofa bed was incredibly comfortable. Overall, I will definitely come back if I am travelling with family. Free Breakfast is also a great kicker for families.

Close to State Street and a bunch of restaurant and food options and shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

I really appreciate all the nice things you had to say about our hotel, and especially our staff. Each and every one of them try to make our guests time with us a good experience. We are definitely a great family hotel, and have amenities that work well for families when considering the competition in the city. We offer free wifi, breakfast, and have a pool w/ hot tub & sauna. Overall our price tends to be less than the competition and offer as much if not more. We look forward to having you as guests again in the future!

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a terrific downtown Chicago location, with very professional and accommodating staff. The value and location is what originally attracted me but I will definitely stay here again. My room was a one bedroom corner apartment, completely unexpected but I was grateful for room 1119. If there's a negative, it would have to be the street noise but nothing ear plugs couldn't handle next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satch07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

I'm glad to hear the one bedroom corner suite exceeded your expectations and our hotel in general did as well. Thank you so much for all the nice comments about our property, and particularly the ones about our staff. They give 110% every day and really make the hotel what it is today. By the way the corner suites are my favorite rooms in our hotel. They're probably more spacious than most apartments downtown and have so many windows its really quite pleasant. Sorry to hear about the noise, but we look forward to seeing you again in the future (and earplugs are available at the front desk for free 24 hours a day).

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#14 Family Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £69 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing