We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #45 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Amazing staff and location”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is the perfect location to do anything in the city. The staff throughout the entire hotel, front desk, parking, cleaning and food staff are wonderful. I asked to have my car brought around at a certain time and it was there waiting for me early. Rooms are regular Hampton Inn but the lobby and pool area are nicer than most.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upgraded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
I'm glad to hear you had a good experience with us! Also, thank you for the kind words, especially the ones mentioning our staff.Its hard to explain it through words on a website how amazing they really are, but great reviews like yours sure do give others a good idea of the quality of service we provide. I think the pool and spa area is really nice myself, and the sauna is a great amenity. I hope you had a safe trip home and have a great Thanksgiving!

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,362
    770
    165
    48
    31
See reviews for
878
486
87
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is next door to a fire station, and traffic can be quite loud. They do offer free ear plugs. Otherwise, the hotel is quite nice but could also be the most expensive Hampton Inn I have stayed in too.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank smaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for the review!

I hope the noise wasn't an inconvenience for you, but it looks like you still had a good experience with us. That is what we always aim for with every guest. If the noise is ever an issue, please let us know and we do out best to make sure we can accommodate. Whether it be booked in an interior room, high floor, or simply a complimentary pair of ear plugs were here to make sure your experience is a memorable one.

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Six older women are hard to please, but we had NO complaint, all of us just loved Hampton Downtown. People on reviews complain about the fire station, we were right over it..... I say "PUT A PILLOW OVER YOUR HEAD". It isn't what us country gals were used to but HEY YOUR IN THE CITY. We all had suites, what luxury, it was great. Breakfast's variety offered something for everyone each day. The daily room clean up was just perfect, what ever we wanted and so clean. Beds were comfy, bathroom adequate, and front desk delivered what ever we asked for. Oh yes, most importantly this location is perfect for walking to The Mile, Trolley (Clark & Ontario best), Grocery, 7-11, Shopping, Restaurants, Bars, Nightclubs, Subway & other Public Transportation..... Thanks Hampton for everything and for serving us so well...............

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, view is always better, the suites were excellent; bring your suit, pool and hot...
See more room tips
Green Features: Gosh they even recycle the room keys, good for them, a no smoking hotel is soooooo appreciated.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judyw988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for all of the positive feedback!

Its very nice to hear when our guests have great experiences, and also love our hotel. Like you said our location, hotel, and staff are really great! Like all city locations, you're going to experience some noise. We suggest light sleepers request interior rooms just in case though. I wanted to thank you for pointing out to bring a swim suit, because many guests assume we don't have a pool because were downtown. However, we not only have a pool but also a hot tub and sauna as well. We look forward to seeing you ladies in the future!

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

the hotel is a normal hampton inn....very clean and comfortable....what was exceptional about this hotel was the staff....they were extremely friendly and accommodating. walking distance to nice lounges and high end restaurants...If you want comfort, clean and A rated staff....choose this hotel. i am glad we did!

Karen from Baltimore

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Karen H,

I appreciate your kind remarks towards the friendliness of our staff. We pride our selves in having some of the most friendly staff members in the city. I am also glad our location was suitable for your needs while visiting Chicago. We have shared your feedback with the entire team, We truly appreciate you choosing the Hampton Inn and Suites and look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Let me start by saying please read these reviews with a grain of salt. I almost laughed when I read the reviews about outside noise. You are visiting Chicago - the 3rd largest city in the country. It's going to have noise.

We loved everything about this hotel. I visit Chicago a number of times each year, and this was my first stay at this hotel. It was family girls trip, so we were excited about having a suite. We booked the pizza and play package with a discount on parking. From the minute we stepped out of the car the staff was the friendliest staff I have ever seen. Our bellhop - Abraham - was the best I've ever seen, he took extra care with packages he knew were delicate, both on unloading and reloading our car. He even packed us according to our stops so that it would be easy for us to unload all of our bags when we got to each house.

Our room was HUGE!! We stayed in a King Suite, and it was so incredibly spacious. The pull out bed was quite large, and the King bed was very comfortable. The only thing I wish was that I would've booked earlier to get a double suite so we had 2 beds in there instead of the King, but I asked at the front desk and they were already taken.
They even called us on the first day to make sure everything in our room was satisfactory and to see if we needed anything else!

We were in Chicago during the tornadoes, and decided to stay an extra night instead of driving with the storm back to Michigan, and they were extremely accommodating. They allowed us to stay in our room and even brought us extras of everything.

The pizza package is good idea - we got beverages, and a large 1 item pizza from Giordano's. Just make sure you tell the pizza place about it, they were grumpy.

The other plus to this location is that is a very short walk to the red line, bus stops and a Jewel (grocery store) so you can get everything you need within a block.

The pool is decent size, it was very quiet while we were there and both times my daughter was the only swimmer. If you are a lap swimmer though, count this pool out. It is not huge, but enough for the vacation swimmer. The hot tub was nice and there is also a sauna. All of It was very clean and well maintained. The fitness room was great. It was clean and had everything I needed for a quick workout, also not crowded. Towels are provided in both ares.

The breakfast was a standard hotel breakfast - a few hot options (eggs, oatmeal, etc.) and all the continental options - bagels/toast, cereal, fruit, yogurt, etc.
They had hot beverages available at all times, and it was very good!! Tea, hot chocolate, coffee. Usually the coffee is stale and old, but this coffee was always fresh. It's all on the second floor, which was nice because the traffic coming in and out of hotel didn't congest the eating area. There were always plenty of seats available, and there is even a second room that they open up if needed.

There is a small store if you have a late night snack craving, and they also have a nice variety of tourist items if you forgot to get a prize for someone back home.

Thank you Hampton Inn for going above and beyond to make this our best stay in Chicago ever (and we've stayed a lot!)!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quiet. We were there during a huge storm and we could barely hear the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Assisstant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Julie H,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding our property and staff. I know the entire staff strives to make every guest experience a perfect one. We are particualarly proud of Abraham and have shared you kind comments with the entire team, Let us know when you are in the area again in the future so we can amake sure Abraham is here to greet you.

Hope you all made it home safely through the inclimate weather.

Thanks,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

hotel and staff are nice!the constant fire truck sirens are not! the brekfast was very nice,and the location is within walking distance from all the major attractions,and a short cab ride to all others!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave a review about our hotel and also for the great comments about our hotel. I'm very sorry to hear about the noise from the fire station. I hope it wasn't much of an inconvenience for you and that you still enjoyed your experience with us! I agree with you about our location, as it is close to so many things. If you make it into town again please contact me directly and I'll make sure you are blocked in a quiet room.

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Staff was above and beyond, helpful at every turn. It was a good location for shopping and dining in Chicago. We are a group of ladies that enjoyed the extra attention. They saw that we had brought some wine and we were surprised to see wine glasses in the room the next day. Thank you!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, and for letting us know about your experience with us.

I remember checking you ladies in and I'm pleased to know that you had a good time. I sure hope you got plenty of shopping done after I spoke with you. It was really nice having you as our guests, and it was a pleasure speaking to you throughout your stay. Hopefully we have the privilege of having you as guests again in the future!

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing