We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday trip to the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #49 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
lansing,il
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Birthday trip to the city”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Reserved room for my and fiance's birthday .Arrived at 1 pm and even though check in was at 4pm they had a room for us .This is not a room with a view hotel but we knew that going in .Rooms are tastefully done and comfortable .found lobby and halls to be very nice and well maintained .pool was on 2nd floor and again no surprise it was very nice .Breakfast area clean and well stocked .Within walking distance of Michigan ave shopping. All in all we were very pleased with service and facility. Would not hesitate to book again .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hello,

I wanted to thank you for sharing your birthday experience and choosing to be our guest! I'm pleased to hear you two enjoyed your time with us. I'm happy to know you would come back again in the future. Good experiences like yours build loyalty and its great seeing guests come back over time and catching up. Hopefully we'll have the privilege of seeing you two again in the future!

Thanks again,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,384
    782
    174
    49
    33
See reviews for
901
493
90
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Clair, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Perfect location for enjoying the City. Great restaurants, attractions and transit at your convenience. The fire house located next door can be rough for some guests (it is very busy) however the hotel is very upfront in providing notice and there are earplugs for the light sleepers!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hello Scott,

Thank you so much for your response and for taking time out of your day to post it. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us regardless of the exterior noise. The earplugs are always a great help for our light sleepers, and we also have interior rooms that are very quiet as well. Hope to see you again in the future!

Have a great weekend,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Sauvetat-du-Dropt, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is perfect. Perfect location, perfect people perfect attitude. The hotel is steps from the train and everything is within walking distance. Greeted every day with great attitudes and smiles. They could not do enough. The price is amazing and the breakfast had a large variety. I will def stay there again and again. This is the place to stay in down town Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loki5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Bonjour Loki,

I greatly appreciate all of the "perfect" comments about our hotel, staff, and location. Also, thank you for sharing your experience with us. Although I might be bias, I would have to say our staff really is perfect, everyday they do everything they can to truly make our guests feel at home. We like to treat our guests as if they were in our own home and it makes us stand out. I hope you had a safe trip back to France, and hopefully we can see you again in the future. (I would come in the summer though, its much nicer outside)

Have a great weekend,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Highly recommend this central downtown location hotel. Hotel staff was very courteous and helpful. Thanks to Alex for helping with our room request. Rooms were large and well equipped. Housekeeping did a great job in cleaning and getting rooms ready each day we were at hotel. Really enjoyed location of hotel, walking distance to very popular restaurants, nightclubs and shopping. Miracle Mile shopping very close. Would definitely stay at Hampton Inn and Suites downtown Chicago next time in Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14peter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hey Peter,

Thank you for the awesome review! Also, I really appreciate you mentioning me in it, I'm flattered. We strive for the very best service here and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Its good to know the location worked out for you and hopefully we are lucky enough to have you as our guest again in the future. I hope you had a safe trip back to Canada as well.

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The location of the hotel was particularly convenient while we toured nearby colleges. There's a subway stop just a block away which allowed us to get to the south loop campuses in just a few minutes. The weather was bitterly cold and snowy on our visit, so we really appreciated the proximity to below-ground transportation. The room was extremely clean and fresh. The entire staff of the hotel was very helpful and gave us excellent recommendations for how to make our way around town, decent places to eat, and nearby sightseeing options. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael & Melan... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hello Michael & Melan,

I really appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a nice review and also for the great comments about our staff and location. I hope you enjoyed your experience with us, and I would have to agree about our location. It is truly one of the best spots in town, and it makes getting around a breeze. Hopefully we'll have the opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future.

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Good location, great decor, great staff, great accomodations! Perfect for staying just outside the busy Michigan Ave, yet close enough to enjoy everything downtown has to offer. Hotel decor was very nice and the hotel is well-maintained. With the exception of the occassional emergency vehicle noise, my stay was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experiene Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hello Aimee,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review of our property and for the compliments regarding our decor. I particularly like our decor as it is inspired by Frank Lloyd Wrights work and truly does make us a unique Hampton Inn. Along with our amazing staff and convenient location it makes our hotel something special. I hope we have the oppertunity to have you as our guest again in the future.

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champlain, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

First time booking a seminar here. We will be a repeat customer. All attendees were pleased with the hotel. Our Instructor thought the meeting room was excellent along with the sleeping rooms. Very easy to organize a meeting here, Sales staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful. Will highly recommend this hotel. When in Chicago we will book here!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatriciaB_892014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hello Patricia,

Thank you so much for the review of our hotel and particularly the great comments about out sales staff. They really are great, and do a lot for the hotel that doesn't get noticed by all of out guests. I'm glad they were able to enchance your experience with us. I'm very happy to hear that you'll be back with us in the future, and I look forward to having you guys again.

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing