We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and thoughtful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #48 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location and thoughtful service”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here two nights on business and the hotel definitely exceeded my expectations.

Positives:
-Location: great River North location just a few minutes walk from everything.
-Service: the front desk staff, bellman and housekeepers were exceedingly polite and friendly.
-Fast elevators: especially in old hotels, staying on the top floors can add 10-15 minutes to anything you try to do, but not here! No matter the time of day, I barely had to wait for an elevator.
-Decor/atmosphere: feels fancier than your average Hampton Inn, especially the lobby and common areas. My room was very clean and comfortable.

Notes:
-The (free) breakfast wasn't as hearty as some other hotels--but good thing there are so many great places within a ten minute walk!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlau327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Hello Jlau,

I really appreciate the awesome review of our hotel and for the great comments about us. I would have to agree with you completely about how great our location and staff are. The location is perfect for anything from a business trip, sightseeing, and even shopping. Plus, our staff is top notch and willing to help any guest out all the time. Thanks again and hopefully we can have you as our guest again in the future.

Have a great weekend,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,383
    782
    173
    49
    33
See reviews for
900
492
90
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel is very centrally located in the downtown Chicago area. It is about 4 blocks off Michigan avenue, and therefore, a little less expensive than some of the other downtown hotels, but still close enough to walk to most anything. It is clean and the staff are great!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank HGMizzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for the nice comments. I'm glad to know you liked out location and hotel. I agree with you about our staff, theyre truly great! Hope you had a safe trip home and maybe we'll have the privilege of having you as our guest in the future.

Have a great weekend,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was highly impressed by the rooms here- it was great to have a suite with a king bed and separate kitchen and living room area. The staff was extremely friendly when we arrived our room was not ready but they held our luggage for us. The breakfast is a standard Hampton buffet- always great! The rooms and location made this a great hotel. Within walking distance of restaurants and tourist sites within Chicago. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to experience and see all that is Chicago!

Room Tip: Make sure that you have a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klee232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello Klee,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and for the awesome comments about the hotel and staff! Im glad you enjoyed the suite. In my unbiased opinion our suites are the best deal for the money in town. With just under 600 square feet, two separate rooms, two tv's, and a kitchenette they make your time in the city even better. I hope you had a safe trip home and hopefully we have the change to have you as our guest again in the future!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife recently and I were in Chicago briefly (2 days/1 night) and stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites @ River North. We have stayed at this hotel approximately 20 times over the course of the last 15 years or so. We keep coming back because the entire hotel staff is and has always been very hospitable and welcoming. The rooms are always nice and the hotel has a great location - close to everything: shopping, dining, museums, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello Patrick,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and for your loyalty to our hotel when you visit the city. It was truly a pleasure having you and your wife as our guests. Its comforting to know that we've stayed consistent and always offered quality customer service over the years. Although it was my first time meeting you and your wife, I look forward to having you two as our guests again in the future!

Have a great week!

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Great Hotel, Great Service. Took the Family to Chicago for Spring Break, the hotel is in the middle of it all. Friendly Staff. I had read about the noise from the Fire Depart. house across the street. When I checked in, I asked for a quite room, and Hotel Staff was accommodating. I did not hear the Fire Trucks at all. My Children loved the swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello Tripper,

I'm very happy to hear your family enjoyed your Spring Break here with us, and thank you for sharing your experience with everyone as well. Its good to know that we were able to accommodate you and get you in a quiet room. For the lighter sleepers the exterior rooms might not be ideal with the urban noise. Glad the swimming pool worked out for your kids as well, it sure it nice hopping in or in the hot tub with the weather the way its been. Thanks again for choosing us and have a great week!

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

All PROs, no CONs for this hotel. Great location (go and have dinner at Portillo's, you'll go there more than once for their cheeseburgers), many subway stations nearby (as well as the one that leads you to the airport in 40 minutes). Big rooms, fully equipped (ours had mini-fridge and microwave). Always pretty, always clean. The beds, OMG, the best place ever to sleep in. Amazing breakfast, everything was delicious. And last but not least, the staff. Everyone was so helpful. I really want to highlight Janely's job at front desk (I'm sorry if I've misspelled her name). She was the sweetest person. Please, say hi to her form the two guys who asked her to come to the Museum of Science and History.
We're planning to go back to Chicago next year. We will definitely choose Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown again. Thank you very much to everyone who made our first time in Chicago so pleasant. Keep up with such a great job!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santiagoneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hola,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us such an awesome review. This morning I was actually going over the response you left with Yaneli and she commented on how nice it was to have you two as our guest. She truly is one of the best i've ever encourtered in my years in hotels. She works very hard and cares about each and every guest as if they were family. I would have to agree with you 100% about our beds, they are amazing. Its hard to explain to others, but its the perfect mix of plush and firm creating a perfect nights rest. Thanks again and we hope you had a safe trip home!

Have a great week,

Hello TexasAggiesFab5,

Thank you for such a comprehensive review of our property and gracious praise. You're correct though and I agree with you entirely, our staff is amazing and they give their all every single day. Also, our location is ideal for nearly any agenda when visiting the city, and its in the heart of the restaurant district. I'm very pleased to hear that you would stay here again in the future, and I look forward to having you as our guest.
ddfdf
Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We just completed a 5 night stay at Hampton Inn Downtown Chicago and we were so happy with our decision to stay here. There were so many choices that choosing the right place to stay, without being familiar with the area, was somewhat worry some. Our suite was clean, the daily maid service was great, front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, and on one occasion the doorman helped us find a flat fare cab out to All State Arena. The breakfast was well stocked and offered something for everyone. The pool area and gym were clean and the laundry room accessible and clean as well. Our room was quiet with the few exceptions being the occasional sirens at night and the elevator noise at busy times, but neither of those are really fixable, just part of staying in a hotel and being in the city. The front desk does offer ear plugs for guests who are light sleepers. The location was very good. We could walk to many places, especially restaurants. We were a 10-15 walk from both the blue line to the airport and the redline out to Wrigley. A short 5 block walk to the bus stop where we picked one up to go to Museum of Science and Industry and a different one to museum campus (Field museum, Aquarium and Planetarium). Within walking distance of Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier (a little long for our 6 year old but we did it). We were very happy with our stay. High praises for the staff, they work hard and it shows. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasAggiesFab5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hello TexasAggiesFab5,

Thank you for such a comprehensive review of our property and gracious praise. You're correct though and I agree with you entirely, our staff is amazing and they give their all every single day. Also, our location is ideal for nearly any agenda when visiting the city, and its in the heart of the restaurant district. I'm very pleased to hear that you would stay here again in the future, and I look forward to having you as our guest.
ddfdf
Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing