We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well presented accommodations in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #54 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 July 2014

As a Hampton Inn, the interior design and décor is more upscale than most. The accommodations are ample and well appointed. The breakfast buffet is decent, although obviously extremely crowded at peak hours. Parking is excessively expensive ($55) but that's typical for downtown Chicago. You just need to factor that into your budget. Location is great and easily accessible to all major points of interest downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank mboileau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello,

I appreciate the great review of our hotel as well! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm glad the hotel and our location worked well for you. I'm happy you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast. There are so many options; its by far the best complimentary breakfast I've seen. Hopefully we have the change to have you as our guests again in the future.

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 2,559 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Downtown for 3 nights and were extremely pleased! The lobby is beautiful and the staff is very friendly. Our room (two double beds) was very nice and clean. Many reviews said it was small but I thought it was more than adequate.There was room for both beds, a desk and a reading chair. It's not like you spend a lot of time in your room when you're in downtown Chicago anyway. Breakfast was great with a lot of variety. Big shout-out to the breakfast crew, they work their tails off! As other reviews stated, the fire dept. is right across the street and they do come in and out at all times of day and night. Because of the reviews, I requested to be on an upper floor on the east side of the hotel. The staff was very accommodating and placed us on the 6th floor/east side and we slept soundly every night with no problem.The fitness room was a nice surprise also. Not many places offer free-weights and this hotel offered a wide range of weights, as well as other equipment in addition to your basic treadmills and ellipticals.

I only have 2 suggestions concerning the fitness room:
1. Repair the floor (trip hazard)
2. Offer some sort of sanitizing spray or wipes to clean off the equipment when you're done working out.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello Stacey,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review, and also for all the compliments about out hotel and staff. I'm glad that you pointed out our breakfast staff. They truly are great and work so hard up there each morning. They're always interacting with guests while still managing to clean and stock the area. You also mentioned our workout room which I love. Youre right, not many hotels have free weights and I was really shocked when I started working here. Its a great option for our property. Were currently working on repairing the floors, but we do actually have wipes for the machines in the room. They're in the corner in an upright stand. I'll double check and make sure were stocking them though. Hopefully you had a safe trip home and thanks again!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is excellent. Conveniently placed in downtown Chicago, within walking distance of the Willis Tower, Navy Pier, Michigan Avenue, Millenium Park, etc. And there's also a free trolley that goes from the hotel to Navy Pier. The hotel staff was super helpful, and always courteous. The parking staff was very kind as well. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. I've stayed at it twice, and have been extremely satisfied. The complimentary breakfast and free WiFi is great too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Brock D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hey Brock,

Im happy you enjoyed your experience with us and that we're your "go-to hotel". It means a lot to me when I hear that our guest really enjoyed their stay with us, but its even better when they come back to us. I really feel that we have a special hotel here and its reviews like yours that show it. Overall our team is some of the best Ive ever worked with. Glad our location works well for you too. I always say that its close to just about anything youd want to do in town, and surrounded by the best places to eat in the city. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Everything was perfect at the hotel, from allowing early check in to the service the staff provided. We enjoyed our breakfast each day, the pool was nice (a little chilly, but the kids didn't mind), room was quiet and clean and quite large (king 1 bed suite). It was close to most things families might do in Chicago and all staff were so helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hello Andrea,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! I appreciate the great comments about our staff. Its good to know that you enjoyed your suite and our location. The rooms are so spacious and were in the perfect location for sightseeing and entertaining the children. I hope we have a chance to have your family as our guests again in the future!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Chicago is a great city! We stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown. Excellent staff with a great location to anywhere in Chicago. Many things are within walking distance of the hotel. (Lou Malnati's, East of Chicago, Ruth Chris, Howl a the Moon, House of Blues, Firecakes Donuts, Rock-Bottom Micro Brew) The red line train is close by as well. Easy access to the Chicago River. I can't say enough good things about this hotel! If you are thinking about staying in Chicago and want to see the city, I would definately choose this location!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hello Christy,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and for all the great comments about our hotel. I hope you were able to go to all those places you listed that were within close proximity of our hotel. Firecakes do sound really good right now. You are absolutely correct about our location though. Many people think the Loop is the place to be, but everything closes early over there because its mostly businesses. We are surrounded by some of the best restaurants and bars in the city so its a fun are to be in. I hope you had a safe trip back to Ohio, and maybe we will see you again in the future!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The staff at this location is just great! Anthony and Marcus are great and the Hilton Group needs to look after employees like them ! The staff at the front car port were respectful and so courteous! Rooms were up to date, clean and yes the rooms can be loud with the Chicago Fire Department one block over BUT it made my wife feel safe and what anexciting time and what a view!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GIGI_E_MAR_MAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hey GIGI_E_MAR_MAR,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review, and also for all the great compliments about our hotel and staff. Anthony and Marcus are really great. Its nice when our guests are able to see how much they care, because they're a lot of fun to work with too. I'm happy you liked the room too. The views from some of our rooms on the higher floors are really good, and the views from our corner suites are great. I still like checking them out. Hopefully you had a safe trip back to Canada!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Easy access on/off the highway, great location off Michigan. Too many great restaurants around the area to list but American Junkie right outside is great for a quick lunch and RPM across the street is some of the best Italian we've had! Very personable and knowledgable staff. Will definatley stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonC1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hello Jon,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I'm glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our great location as well as the amazing restaurants. RPM is one of the best Italian restaurants in the city, so its really quite nice that were just right across the street from it. I'm happy you had a good weekend get away, and hope you made it home safely.

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £70 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing