We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #44 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Check in Staff”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice hotel, good location. Complimentary breakfast and staff was good Apparently Chicago isn't big on hospitality - rude front desk people. 200200200200200200200200200200200200200200200200200200200200

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hello Jeffrey,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave us a survey and also for sharing your feedback with us. We spoke the other day via phone when you were busy, and I was still awaiting for your return phone call. I'm very sorry to hear that your experience with our front desk staff was less than adequate. I hope you believe me when I say that this is not typical of our staff and does not reflect the type of service we offer. As you can see the many comments of praise for our staff on here, but I would really like to speak with you further on this matter. Please feel free to call me back at your earliest convenience.

Have a great weekend,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    755
    160
    47
    31
See reviews for
865
481
85
495
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendota, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Downtown. This hotel provided a quality overnight experience in the Chicago downtown area. The room offered nice quality beds, a decent bathroom in a clean and updated setting. Noise from the nearby fire station might put some people off, but I figured it just added to the experience of being downtown in a big city. Breakfast bar in the morning was fairly typical but it was well stocked and there was adequate sitting even during the busy morning rush. Location provided an ideal spot for those interested in sightseeing in downtown Chicago. Close to North Michigan Ave. shopping, the Loop theaters and easy access to the Red Line EL train. We attended a Cub baseball game that evening and the short walk to the train was excellent. Overall, I would approve of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toobs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hey Toobs1,

I would like to thank you for the great comprehensive review and also for your approval of our hotel! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, and liked our amazing location. Its good to know you were able to do some shopping and catch a cubs game. Our location is perfect for doing both. I hope we have the chance to have you as our guest again in the future!

Have a great weekend,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very nice hotel for reasonable price, staff was friendly in person, not very helpful over the phone when we asked about mass transit options - just told us to look it up ourselves.
Good location close to train stop and easy walk to everything downtown including Navy Pier and Mag Mile. Lots of food nearby to choose from. Nice rooms. Next to fire station, but nothing that kept us awake.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 638Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hello Cheryl,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. I'm glad to know you enjoyed your experience with us. Our location and staff are great so its good to see you were able to see that for yourself. I'm very sorry to hear that whoever you spoke to over the phone wasn't friendly. Many times our calls get rerouted to central reservations when were busy to cut down on wait times, and unfortunately as they're based out of many cities internationally sometimes they aren't as friendly as us. I sure hope we get to see you again some day.

Have a great weekend,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Well appointed. Good free breakfast and wifi. Nice comfy bed to lay your head. Real windows so some city noise is to be expected. Overall this hotel provided us a great central home base and allowed us to explore what Chicago has to offer.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SCMT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hey SCMT80,

Thank you so much for both sharing your experience with us and taking the time to leave us a review. Its good to know you were able to take advantage of, and enjoy our complimentary breakfast and wifi. Our breakfast has so many great options, and I constantly receive praise regarding how plentiful it is. I hope you had a safe trip back to Alabama, and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!


Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I am a meeting planner and recently planned a meeting at this hotel. The location of the hotel was perfect as it was accessible by train, a relatively easy trip from the airport and easy to reach for those who decided to drive (the adjacent parking garage was a plus). Planning the meeting was effortless due to the guidance and support of the sales manager and her staff. The staff was ready to assist from the time of arrival to the moment of departure. No matter how much you pre-plan, things come up and schedules change during the course of a multiple day meeting. The staff was extremely flexible and accommodating in the handling of any request or change. The spacious and comfortable meeting room was set up the night before so we were able to begin our meeting on time. The guest rooms were also comfortable and quiet - considering the location, there was very little city noise when you were in your room. Also, there were numerous restaurants within walking distance for those who came in the night before and for group dinners. I would recommend this hotel for business and pleasure for its good service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hello Patricia,

Thank you so much for leaving us a review and for all the great comments about our hotel. I always appreciate getting reviews from guests, but it is nice to receive them from planners such a yourself. Its hard for others to see just how great our sales staff is too, You can browse through the reviews on here with many mentions of our housekeeping, front desk, and breakfast staffs. However, our sales team doesn't get as much exposure even though they are working hard every day. I thank you for your recommending us to others and we hope to have ya'll with us again in the future!


Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great location. 1 1/2 block walk to the red line (which takes you to Wrigley Field Cubs fans). It is a short walk to Michigan Ave where you can ride bus 146 to the museums. Many restaurants nearby in walking distance. The fire station is just across the street although we weren't bothered by that. You will hear the rumble from the subway. The rooms are clean but could have improved just a bit. Front desk staff was great, very helpful. Answered all our questions with no hesitation. The valet and bell staff not so much. We had reserved our own parking and rolled our own bags up to our room and they let us know that they were not pleased to be missing the tips. Parking at the hotel is $55 a night. You can reserve parking at nearby lots for 1/2 that price. Beds were comfortable, free wifi which worked very good, breakfast was mediocre and crowded but the coffee was great! I would recommend staying here if you want a great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bevinfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hello bevinfocus,

I really appreciate the comprehensive review of our hotel as well as the great feedback. Its good to know you were able to take full advantage of our location. It truly makes everything more convenient for you while staying with us. I've heard that our coffee is really good, but as I'm not a coffee drinker I'll have to take your word on it along with all the other guests! Thank you for suggesting us, and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!


Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Falls, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice location and the hotel is well kept. The restaurant adjacent to the hotel (even accessible from the lobby) is super nice and a very good addition to the hotel. Easy to walk to many areas within the Chicagoland area. Bell Staff is on their toes and ready to assist upon arrival or departure. The front desk staff is not very available, nor seem very eager to address questions/concerns.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hey Charlotte,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and for sharing feedback with us. I'm very sorry to hear that our front desk staff didn't appear to be as willing to help as they truly are. We love suggesting restaurants and things to do around the city. Our bell staff, as you pointed out, are always willing to help guests with everything from directions to assisting with baggage. Joe Fish, the restaurant you mentioned, has received nothing but praise and is regarded as one of the best seafood restaurants in the city. Hopefully some day we can have you as our guest again!


Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing