We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #51 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Was a bit worried after reading previous reviews that we wouldn't be able to sleep through the noise. We had no problem as we were on the 11th floor at the back of the hotel. Very rarely heard the road noise.

The staff were really helpful at all times. Especially the engineer who I had to call at 7.30 in the morning as I couldnt get the hairdryer to work! Nothing was too much of a problem.

Breakfast was very good and included hot dishes as well as pastries, fruit and yoghurt. The make your own waffles were just to die for! The only letdown was the plastic cutlery and crockery. I'm sure it would have been cheaper and greener to use a dishwasher.
The complimentary hot drinks all day were very handy after a long day at conference.

The pool and spa were warm and clean although the decor left a bit to be desired. A shower in the pool area would have been appreciated. We had to run up to our rooms in wet costumes.

We ordered room service from the trattoria in the hotel and it was lovely, especially the pepperoni pizza.

The location was very convenient for shopping and sightseeing. We only had to take a taxi once the whole week.

Overall a very nice hotel. I would definitely choose it again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeySarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,177 - 2,183 of 2,518 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2009

I have now stayed twice in this hotel.

This "luxury" hotels is perfectly located near Michigan Ave as well as subways and offers fine rooms. However: be aware of the fire department nearby and the cooling system on top of the telecom building across the street. One wished the rooms were better armed against the constant noise.

Oh, breakfast is included in the rate but rather poor.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DitiTervuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Stayed here this weekend with my family. Had 4 King Studios and 1 Double Suite. It was great for the 10 of us. Each King had a small refrigerator, microwave and wet bar. The beds were wonderful. All commented on how comfortable they were. Liked the linens - white down. Had flat screen tvs, analog, which was kind of wierd but then we barely were in the rooms so it was no big deal. The rooms, halls and breakfast area was immaculate. I didn't use the exercise room but 5 others did and had no complaints. The breakfast was free - eggs, sausages, hash browns, muffins, breads, pastry, cereal, fruit, coffee and juice. Not like an upscale hotel but certainly good value. Also free wi-fi which most Hiltons don't give you so it is a nice plus. There is also a business center if you didn't bring your laptop. The front desk, particularly, the concierge-type person was very helpful. Parking is outrageous like all of Chicago. This was $42/day but you did get in and out service if you wanted it. Yes, some of the wood furniture is slightly worn but it is really no big deal. We paid $169 plus tax so not bad. The double suite was huge. It had a full kitchen - full size refrigerator, 2 burner stove top, sink, microwave, dishes, silverware,glasses and pots and pans. Had pull out sofa, desk with chair, 2 oversize stuffed chairs and 2 regular dining chairs so there was plenty of room for the 10 of us. It was our party room.

The location is very good, especially if you are young. We are not but still there was plenty of places to eat and clubs all over. Taxi's were easy to catch or you can walk. It is on the corner of Dearborn and Illinois so you are only a couple of blocks from Michigan Ave.

Also, yes you are close to the fire station but it is no big deal. The place also has room service and the Rosebud Trattoria is attached. We didn't eat there but if you want convenience it is there.

I highly recommend it if you are looking for good value and location.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plan2gosoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

My husband and I with two boys under 6 stayed in a one bedroom corner suite for 6 nights and enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately our room was directly opposite the Fire Station - however, the was seen as a total bonus to my boys who camped at the window the whole time watching and listening to the big red engines! It certainly didn't assist with over coming jet lag when woken up by a siren at 4am...however, the room coped with our family of 4 very well and the kitchen was very handy. The seperate lounge room gave us enough room to spread out. The breakfast was better than I've had on some other US trips (there was actually hot food and not just doughnuts) but the use of disposable crockery and cuttlery was very disturbing - way too much waste and using a plastic knife is never satisfactory. The hotel is in the middle of the restaurant district and an easy walk to everything else. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie_travel_mum_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

I checked in and after seeing the room and hearing sirens from the fire station next door, checked back out and found another hotel. The room was spacious, but was in serious need of renovation. The furniture was worn, chipped and stained. The ceiling had a large water stain. The bathroom was really shabby, peeling wall paper, stains on the countertop and mirror. The only things in the room that appeared new were the bed and flat screen t.v. The manager said they will be renovating soon - I would skip this hotel until that happens. Unfortunately they cannot do anything about the proximity to the fire station, so if you are a light sleeper, you might want to avoid this one completely.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonRiverNorthGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Dear AZtravler100,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am sorry you had that kind of experience with our hotel; however, as of August 1st, 2010 we have completed a $4m renovation of the property. Everything has been taken out of the guest rooms and replaced with a beautiful contemporary design and feel. You can see the before and after pictures posted by other travelers on tripadvisor.com. I also noticed that you were here on business. We have also upgraded our internet connection to a fiber optic cable giving us over 4 times the previous speed of our internet.

If you are in the area again, we would love to have the opportunity to regain your loyalty. My team and I look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Andrew Scarlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Nice hotel, friendly service and great breakfast service. It's really close to the fire station so there was quite a bit of noise from the sirens. But the front desk does have ear plugs, would stay agian.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
Thank cookie1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

My husband and I stayed here one night. We arrived in town much earlier than our check-in time. I had called ahead to ask the front desk if we may leave our luggage until check in time, and was told it would not be a problem. Upon arriving at the hotel, they let us check in ! Much earlier than check in time! We were thrilled. Our room was very spacious, and clean. The FREE breakfast is very good ! The staff in the dining area were very pleasant,and it was well stocked even when it got busy. we will plan to stay again when we return to Chicago, we love this town !

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sstenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £72 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing