We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #60 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My mother-in-law, sister-in-law and I took a long weekend in Chicago and my SIL chose this hotel of which she is a gold member. The location is fantastic - two blocks to Magnificent Mile and maybe 6 blocks from all the shopping on State Street. We picked a good weekend because the room was under $100 which is unbelievable but true. At registration, they asked my SIL if she wanted the points added to her card or the breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant. We chose the breakfast vouchers and oh my goodness, hit pay dirt. The Weber Grill gave us a nice typical breakfast buffet with bacon, eggs, hashbrowns, fruit, etc PLUS we could order (from a booth) omelets, french toast, pancakes, etc without standing in line. The omelets, french toast and pancakes were exceptional. These vouchers were definitely the way to go.

Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnmckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay experience. It was great hearing that your monther, sister in law, and you enjoyed your time with us! I will also be sure to share your positive comments regarding your dining experience with our friends at Weber Grill. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you back with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,289 - 1,295 of 2,243 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel with my wife as we celebrated life and the stay was very pleasant! The room was very clean and well organized, as I have come to expect from Hilton. The staff was also very nice and professional. As an added bonus - they served warm Apple Cider in the lobby; it was like drinking Granny's Apple Pie - VERY GOOD! The pool / hot tub area was also very nice and well kept - but over crowded with travelers. The only minor inconvenience that we experienced is with the hotel elevators - not sure if traffic that weekend was higher than normal but it seemed like only 1 of the 3 elevators they had were working. This made for long waits going up/down. Otherwise, the stay was exactly what my wife and I needed - for a reasonable rate.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding you and your wife's stay with us! It was great reading that we lived up to your expectations of Hilton and played a part i making your weekend with your wife a memorable one! We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again the next time your travels include our wonderful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location for getting around Chicago. The only disadvantage is that the valet parking costs $61/day which is nearly the same as the room rate. We were very fortunate to get a good rate because we stayed over Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank 13bato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor with us! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us and our central location to many of Chicago's famous attractions. We all share your frustration with the high cost of parking with the recent double-digit tax hike that took effect this summer, but it is a pain that all hotels (and parking institutions) are facing. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I took a quick pre-Christmas trip to Chicago, and the location for this Hilton Garden Inn couldn't be beat. We were just off the Magnificent Mile within walking distance of shopping, great restaurants, the Art Institute, Eataly, and the Chicago Christmas Market. The red-line el train stop (Grand station) was right at the hotel, so we could get around easily to other places.

The rooms themselves were standard and not bad--but nothing special. Sleep quality was a bit of an issue because we could hear every bit of hallway noise enter the room, even when people weren't trying to be loud. We covered the bottom of the doorway with a towel, and still we heard every conversation and every door slamming. I don't know what can be done to remedy the problem, but we would really reconsider staying here again just for that very issue.

Service was good, and the room rate was decent, especially since we booked a rate that included parking, which would have been super expensive otherwise. The pool and hot tub were small and well-used, but we enjoyed them.

This hotel is going through a remodel, and I really hope it can be upgraded to be more comfortable and quiet in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our location to the many area attractions you highlighted is a great perk, especially this time of year! The issue you mentioned regarding hallway noise is an ongoing challenge that we are always looking to improve. As you mentioned, we are undergoing a remodel and hope some of the steps we are taking during this process will also help with noise reduction. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Perfect location, especially if you arrive via 'L'; a Red line stop (underground) is steps from the lobby. Our bed was very comfortable, Starbucks kiosk and free daily newspaper in the lobby. Room was exceptionally clean if a bit worn. We set the controllable thermostat to "off" and our room was warm enough with no fan cycling noise. You can hear all the noise from the hall however. Plenty of hangers in the closet, individual coffee service was also available in the room. Front desk staff were friendly and professional. There are lots of restaurants in the surrounding area and a grocery store just north on State Street. This was an excellent mid-price hotel option. Would stay again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Avoid the12th floor if you are chlorine sensitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinneapolisMNSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed comments regarding your stay experience with us. We appreciate your positive comments and most importantly are pleased that you would elect to stay with us again! We will have completed a full guestroom renovation my mid-March so that should address the "worn" feel you highlighted. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel was perfect walking distance to everything shopping, bars and restaurants. Had very nice time with my girlfriends. Great for Romance or just a girls weekend of shopping. Great value and great service. #1 recommendation for Chicago. ....

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeishaGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and on Trip Advisor! We love hearing that we are someone's #1 choice in a citry with as many choices in hotels as Chicago. I will be sharing your comments with our other team members so they can also be aware of your comments. Again, thank you and we look forwrad to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel. The location is great, walking distance to everything we wanted to see, convenient to the Magnificent Mile, the House of Blues, Institute of Art, etc. Price is very reasonable. and the staff are excellent, very willing to accommodate with early check-in and assistance with recommendations for food and shopping. My only complaint was the lack of soundproofing - guests in hallway are easily heard from inside the rooms, even though they were speaking in normal tones.

Room Tip: Try for a room on a higher floor, less traffic noise and a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We always enjoy hearing when our team members assist in making our guest experience top notch! Our central location to the many attractions you highlighted is always a hit with our guests as well. We are glad you enjoyed it! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £101 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing