We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Even Better Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #63 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Even Better Location!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The hotel staff was very kind and helpful, but the location is what makes this hotel a great choice. This hotel is within walking distance to some great eateries and steps from the Red "L" line. My 'tip' for any traveler going to a game at the United Center, use the CTA United Express bus 19. This will save you $30+ on a round trip taxi fare (assuming you can get a taxi afterward!). This hotel is across the street from a grocery store, Jewel Osco, which is handy since the hotel rooms have a refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mancie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding our hotel and our central location to many of Chicago's great attractions! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    828
    207
    51
    46
See reviews for
605
474
144
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I found the Garden Inn to be a very comfortable place to stay for a number of reasons.

First, location. It is in the CBD, net the magnificent mile, but just about away from the traffic and crowds. A fair number of major office buildings in Chicago are accessible on foot. It has a good neighbourhoodsy feel - with small pizzerias and supermarkets and shopping complexes very close.

Second, the rooms. Although the rooms, particularly the bathrooms, seem a bit dated in their fittings, yet, the size, the layout and the amenities make them quite comfortable. There is a 24 hour complimentary business Center, which is just about OK.

Third, the restaurant. The Weber Grill on the ground floor is outstanding. The bar has a convivial atmosphere, and has the original Weber grills exhibited on side. The restaurant itself has a wide selection of good food.

Above all, the staff. During my stay I found the reception staff, on each of the three different occasion I interacted with them, to be very pleasant and cheerful - something you do not always find in the U.S.

The only shortcoming I observed was that the lobby is a bit on the smaller size. But that is a very minor one compared to the positives.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback regarding our hotel's location and amenities. Our team takes great pride in providing our guests with a home away from home feel when they stay and it was great to hear that you found that to be the case! We are currently undergoing a full guestroom renovation which will include a full refresh of the room and restroom. We look forward to getting your feedback on these changes once we complete them in March. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for a weekend. The location of this hotel is really great walkable distance to all the hot night clubs and bars. Also really close to the park and art institute. The breakfast was really good made to order style. Only thing I didn't like was the small pool filled with people. I also wish their room was bigger and had a bigger pool.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Weihao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel's central location and our proximity to many of River Norths attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back here again with us in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn - Magnificent Mile is located with a supermarket/pharmacy across the street, a CTA Red Line subway station on the corner, and a wide selection of restaurants, stores, and sites within a few short blocks. It is one of the most convenient hotels in Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding our hotel and location. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

this is a great hotel in a great location the reception staff were very helpful and the rooms were spacious and very clean just what you expect with this chain the grill down stairs was of top quality too if your goin to Chicago and want to stop downtown this is the place

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaz-cope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We greatly appreciate your compliments and will make sure that our reception team and our friends at Weber Grill also hear of your praises. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Albeit we traveled to Chicago during the polar vortex, the hotel location still came handy as it suits right above the underground red line. There's also a grocery right across which is convenient.

The service is average but very friendly. No complaints here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank touristwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your fedback with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel's central location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, OH
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Another year has gone and another good stay at this Hilton Garden Inn. It is well placed, nice people and close to a lot of the best of Chicago. I would stay anytime. It really is one of the best places to stay in Chicago if you want a place close to Michigan Avenue and other attractions. I really like it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jack026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Welcome back! It was great hearing that you've continued with your annual tradition of making our hotel your home away from home and that you continue to be pleased with your experience. We look forward to many additional visits in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing