We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #61 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Excellent location. Train and bus stops across street. Starbucks in lobby! Parking and valet are both expensive, but you have no choice. Friendly and helpful staff. Restaurant in hotel is highly regarded and several good bars and restaurants close.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,224 - 1,230 of 2,320 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Friendly staff, nice hotel with a Weber Grill attached. The rooms are well designed with a good use of the available space. The foyer, hallways and rooms are all updated with new materials. Parking garages available on both sides of the hotel, but as usual for Chicago, they are expensive. There is another parking lot a few blocks away (Erie and State) that's a bit less expensive - $32 rather than $41. I stayed on the 21st floor - the fan in the hallway is extremely loud and the hallway smells like steak, as if somehow the smoke from Weber is being filtered into this hallway. I didn't mind, but some people may have an issue with this problem.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank JasonMais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback with us. We appreciated hearing your thoughts on our newly designed guestrooms and layout. We will look into the Weber Grill smell that you mentioned making its way up to the guestroom floors to see what may be the cause and get that corrected. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were very comfortable staying here. We really enjoyed the pool and the friendly staff. The room was quiet and very close to all the places we visited. We were able to walk to museums, the bean and many restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay experience with us. We appreciated your kind words and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our multi-night stay in this newly refurbished hotel was perfect for our needs. The morning breakfast included with our Hilton points included made to order eggs, omelets, pancakes or French toast. The servers were friendly and attentive and the food was delicious. Best of all the location allowed us to travel with ease throughout the downtown area. The red line, free summer trolley and bus lines are close by. You do NOT want to hassle with a rental car in downtown Chicago. Parking is extremely expensive. The Front desk was efficient and accommodating, allowing us a late check out and providing many helpful restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvinlifeinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We will be certain to share your kind words regarding your Weber Grill experience with the team there! We also appreciated your feedback regarding our front desk staff and the compliments for them and our central location. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Good service, friendly staff. Able to accommodate guest with mobility issues. Easy walk to everything from Navy pier to Mag mile to Millennium Park. Though we delayed our departure because the Wimbledon mens final went the full 5 sets, Housekeeping was not pushy to get us out of room so they could clean.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank SailorkKm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciated your kind words regarding our staff and hearing that our housekeeping department was flexible with your departure time so you could continue to watch the end of the tennis tournament. We hope that upon your next trip to Chicago we are again your choice of hotels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is very clean and very comfortable. The rooms were newly refurbished. Rooms are quiet, despite downtown noise. Having access to the Weber Grille steakhouse for breakfast, which was included, is phenomenal. they couldn't do enough for us !! The downtown location is great for all city activities, close to shopping, restaurants and the Eataly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
3  Thank Louis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay experience with us. It was great to hear that you found our hotel's location and quality to meet/exceed your expectations! We will be sure to share your positive comments with our friends at Weber Grill as well. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at Hilton Garden Inn and Hyatt Place River North in the same week. Here is the comparison.
Front Desk
Hilton Garden: More Organized and fast check in and out (Space is big).
Hyatt Place: Too crowded and slow
Room
Hilton Garden: AC is very low and need to sleep without AC. Safe box included
Hyatt Place: AC is much quieter, but it is close to fire station (many situations). Otherwise, it is quiet.
Breakfast
Hilton Garden: Weber Grill is nice and offers fresh fruit and protein you need for the whole day. Free for Hilton Gold members.
Hyatt Place
Not so healthy – lots of sugar and very sweet stuff.
Location and cost
Both hotel locations are excellent and the same cost.
I hope you enjoy spending time in Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank York2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your detailed and candid feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay experience with us as well as one of our new competitors. It was our pleasure to serve you and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £56 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing