We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful hotel and rooms, great value in winter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #63 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful hotel and rooms, great value in winter”
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We enjoyed this hotel this winter. The location is magnificent, 2 blocks from the Michigan Ave., less than 20 meters to the Red Line MTA train that takes you virtually everywhere. Nice view (floor 17). The pool is very good and also the business center (complimentary use of PC and printer). Within the hotel there is free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimapsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    828
    207
    51
    46
See reviews for
605
474
144
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Let's start with the new HGI mattress which is foam, offers little bounce, and is, overall very stiff and partially contouring. It was right up my alley, and one of the more comfortable beds in the Hilton chain, but if you're a soft bed sleeper you're going to have real problems with the standard issue mattress at this and every other HGI.

The room is clean and quality. The noon checkout time is a significant perk for those of us who are not early risers.

The front desk will tell you the breakfast ends at 10:30 when it actually ends at 10. Not something you want to find out at 10:05 a.m.

Not a big fan of the Weber Grill restaurant, personally but you could do worse for dinner on a bad weather/late night.

Great location, helpful, polite front desk staff.

While the room walls are soundproof, the pass through and external doors are not.

Aside from a non functioning smoke alarm (somewhat disturbing to have it hanging off the wall), this is an average HGI that isn't overpriced with a great location and nice views.

One other important note. The room is very, very dry. If you stay at this hotel and require a somewhat humid room for either health reasons or a cold, I'd recommend a humidifier.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Not a fan of Weber Grill
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cromartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

I booked the hotel in Hotwire after seen that I could get a room for $56 a night. I had a reservation at one of the Marriots and decided to save the $30 difference per night.
I have been to Chicago several times and I have stayed in different hotels, and I really enjoyed my stay here.
The location is the best. You can walk everywhere. If you need to get around, the "Grand" station of the Red line of the L is literally at the hotel's door. My room was very clean, and it was very comfortable for relaxing as well as for working. The heat worked perfectly. Front desk staff was efficient. The housekeeping staff was extremely nice. One thing that I really appreciate is the room's refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. There is a grocery store across the street. From the hotel you can walk any where: shopping , theater, Navy Pier, Park, etc.
Cons:
There is construction near by, and the hotel is about a block from the fire station, so there is some noise. Some how a lot of the guests do not realize that the metal doors of the rooms are probably a required for safety purposes and do not need to be slammed, and you can hear people talking on the halls, specially the typical screaming children, but I this is not the hotel fault.
I will definitely recommend it, and I will stay there again if I can. It is not ultimate luxury, but it gets the work done flawlessly if efficiency and location at a reasonable price is what you are looking for.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2009

The Hilton Garden Inn was pretty much perfect. The staff were very friendly, the room was well appointed, and the location (right next to the red line and in the middle of River North) is excellent. It was nice to be at a hotel that doesn't nickel and dime you - wireless internet access was free. I didn't need to use the 24 hour pantry in the lobby, but I was glad it was there if I did. The pool was small, however, and the fitness equipment was aging. Overall it was a great stay!

  • Liked — The proximity to the Red Line
  • Disliked — The small pool (though it was warm)
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fijalclarkski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Sorry late review...catching up...I normally stay at the Intercontinental ( more out of habit and familiarity ) but was unable to get in there ...so booked in a hotel nearby as time was against me. As others have written ( honestly and truthfully may I add ) location is just right. You have everything you need at your doorstep ...shops , restaurants, red route, the lively Rush and Division, river., cabs.....you name it. As a Hotel?...it does what it says...supplies a place to sleep. It's clean..room has all the bits a hotel room should have ...service is fine...staff do what they can and as effeciently as they can... Yes there were small gripes.. and if you are a well tarvelled person the little things can really rub on you ...I had them....You seem to wait an eternity for a lift... yes the air con is louder than normal ...but all in all...it isn't such a bad place. Budget or ''deals'' will sway the ordinary traveller as to whether he/she stays there or not. Luck and timing will depend on whether the stay was good or not.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TheGeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicagoHGI, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 7 February 2009
Dear Valued Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our property. Honest and to-the-point reviews like yours allow us to improve on the service and address issues mentioned, such as speed of the elevator and the loudness of the HVAC units, that otherwise may go undetected by the management team. We hope that your future travels will bring you back to Chicago, and allow you to consider staying with us again! Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Let me start by saying I am a frequent traveler and have stayed at locations from various hotel brands around the world. I also am a former Hilton Diamond Member.

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years, with the last stay having some major issues. The stay was so bad, Hilton sent a voucher to come again for a free nights stay. I let it expire and just recently decided to give the hotel a second try for a 9 night stay.

Hotel Positives:

Great location. Two blocks from Michigan Avenue, 1 block from State St. A grocery across the street, 1 1/2 blocks to Starbucks, and some fabulous restaurants within 3 blocks. Also, the red line is just out the front door for easy city transport.

Hotel Negatives:

Customer service, poor room cleaning, poor management.

Before arriving, I called and told the manager that my last experience here was subpar and I was coming back and would like a smooth, stress free stay. The manager offered to honor the free night even though it was expired. Here is a snapshot of the stay:

1st night;
Heater was broken and made a clanking noise every 26 seconds the whole night.

2nd day: The hotel had many key problems and issues. Enough to send apology letters out.

3rd day.....okay

4th day:
Verbally insulted, lied to, and hung up on by April over a newspaper. Asked to speak with manager, she refused...said she couldn't leave a note for the manager unless she was told what about. Hung up on!!

Spoke with manager about the matter, only to have him smirk and have very unprofessional demeanor.

5th day:
the room was half cleaned. Arrived at night to a room with a dirty sink and toilet, no towels, dirty glasses, no toiletries. Called down and asked, and in return received towels, cups, and a bag of coffee/cream

6th day:
Return to the room in evening to again find an uncleaned room. Towels were left on bed..not in bathroom.

7th day: okay

8th day; Room partially cleaned again. No towels again!

9th day:
Went to check out and took the voucher down to be credited. Two managers had said they would be glad to honor it evn though it had expired. Gave it to Ronnie at the front desk, she said she would credit it. Two hours later, go to check out and notice it was never taken off. She then says it can't be used, even though 2 managers said they would take it. (It was their offer, not mine as I had said it was expired.....and only wanted a SMOOTH stay). Spend 1 hour arguing over the fact that they were renegging. Finally had to call Hilton Corporate, who then called the hotel and made them credit the voucher.

After all this, never did get a formal apology and never heard from the GM....only shift managers. Very poor service. Yes, the location is great, but Embassy Suites is across the street (1 block) and Homewood Suites are 1 block as well. Stay at one of those

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank luxetraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicagoHGI, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 23 January 2009
Dear Valued Traveler,

On behalf of the management team I would like to apologize for all the incovvenience that you experienced during your stay with us. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to contact myself, the General Manager and the Guest Assistance specialists to voice these concerns directly as soon as you departed the hotel. Thank you for letting all of us resolve your situation.

Sincerely,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

Excellent hotel and location. Walking distance to many attractions. Close to the Red line subway. $30.00 taxi ride from Midway, always cabs available outside of Hilton Garden Inn. Front desk people were more than helpful. They were intelligent, polite and knowledgeable. Portillos hotdogs/beef sandwiches about 3 blocks away. Starbucks outside and across the street, grocery store across the street. The rooms were clean and nice, beds were comfortable, tv was nice flat screen. All and all just the best place to stay with the best rates. Also a PF Changs right there too.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — coffee shop
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caspian99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing