We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a really cool hotel, but no bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #25 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Anacortes, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“This is a really cool hotel, but no bargain”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The Burnham is one of the Kimpton chain of trendy hotels. It is in a repurposed office builiding, an architectural landmark, the Reliance Building. The halls still have the feel of an old office building, with glass doors and transoms and real brass keys! The conversion was done in very good taste, preserving the old stairways and the old elevator grillework. The hotel is in a great location at the corner of State Street and Washington. State Street has come up in the world and there are some cool shops (Eileen Fisher, Anthropologie, a trendy shoe store) right near by. The hotel is a block from City Hall, a few blocks from the financial district, two short blocks from Millenium Park and the Chicago Cultural Center, and about four blocks from the Art Institute. The iconic Marshall Field's (now Macy's) store is across the street. Bus and subway at the door and the subway line to O'Hare is a block away. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, with a canopy over the bed and a huge flashy wall mirror in our rooms. Windows do not open, a disappointment. A/C worked fine. Quality amenities and a long list of stuff they will supply if you forgot it. Ironing board, hair dryer in the room. Minifridge. No microwave. I did not check the gym out. The restaurant in the building is excellent, if pricey. Rooms run around $300/night and parking is $50. So this is relatively expensive but a good value for this quality in this location. In room internet access is free if you are a member of their loyalty program. Hotels are pet friendly and you can have a goldfish in your room if you are lonely for your pets at home. They have a bike for guest use, also. They have a happy hour for guests. Staff is friendly and helpful and learns your name quickly. Complimentary newspaper of your choice and a very complete collection of publications on what to do in Chicago. We had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Upper floors may be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wguterbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Wow thanks so much for your thoughts, so happy you enjoyed your stay with us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,192
    367
    70
    29
    22
See reviews for
253
579
121
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edina, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The most professional and caring staff. They call you by name. The rooms are quiet even on crazy busy State St. It is wonderfully appointed and the Atwood Cafe is first rate for any time of the day.
It is the only place I stay when I am in dpwntown Chicago for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulschroeder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words, the team will be excited to read your comments, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The Hotel Burnham (another wonderful Kimpton hotel) is located literally in the middle of downtown Chicago and I can't say enough great things about it!! From the building itself (which is an old bank building with a great deal of original wrought iron work throughout), to the staff (so helpful and friendly it's unbelievable), this hotel is magnificent all around. Another plus is that it's right across the street from Macy's and next door to Nordstrom Rack, two of my favourite Chicago's stops. We didn't get a chance to eat at Atwood's but I've heard amazing things about it. Above all, this is a great property and I plan on staying here again next time we visit Chicago:)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiebeans03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haguenau, France
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We arrived on friday evening for a weekend in Chicago with a couple of friends. Warm welcome and happy hour with white (sweet) and red wine (not really our taste!!). Rooms very quiet and nice. Right in the middle of the Loop...near Millemium Park and not too far from Michigan Avenue.
We really enjoyed our stay. The Atwood Restaurant is surprising : bad steak for lunch and diet continental breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mveldeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Much appreciated your feedback, the team and i are are pleased you choose to stay with us and enjoyed our unique location. Also thanks for the heads up on the Atwood, will investigate further. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

really nice room. Great location near the Bean and the loop. Cute little hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed here for our first-ever visit to Chicago and were very pleased. Front-desk staff was so helpful with theater, dinner and tour reservations and in assisting me with my husband's wheelchair. Accessible room was well-appointed and comfortable. We were close to the theater and activities we wanted to enjoy. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MetheDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thanks so much for your review, it is good to know that you and your husband had an enjoyable stay with us thanks for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We loved everything about the Burnham in Chicago. It was warm, charming, classy, historic but yet had some nice cleverly added modern touches. The doormen were so friendly that it was fun coming and going through out our trip. All the other staff was exceptionally friendly and professional too. The Atwood Restaurant on site is a wonderful place for brunch and dinner. The food is so delicious and the waiters were wonderful. We also loved the location. Lots of shopping on State Street, very close to Milennium Park, and we could see the lake from our room. And our room was great! We booked a standard room with a king bed, and it was a very nice size room with tall ceilings and a huge window. The furnishings were impressive, fitting in with the historic look but still very chic. And a cute surprise was finding our terry robes, were were zebra and leopard print! Lovely complimentary C.O. Bigelow products. I am planning to rebook next time I am in Chicago. We just loved it!

Room Tip: Oops, did not mean to rate the pool as excellent, as there is none. And we did not use the fitness c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomaVioleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 190 in Chicago
1,046 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing