We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could live here full-time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #26 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I’ve just broke my personal rule to not write reviews of chain hotels. That one wasn’t so good, so now I have to balance it with one about a favorite place. It’s also part of a chain, but with such unique properties, great guest policies, and most important (to me, anyway), really professional, caring and welcoming staff.

I really love the historic aesthetic of this hotel, the marble staircases and iron railings and elevator grilles and opaque glass office doors and dark color palette—no other place like it. I’ve only stayed in regular rooms (no suites) but always have felt incredibly comfortable here and didn’t want to leave.

Kimpton must have good management, because it always seems to put customer experience first. Some things are small-ish (raid-the-bar has snagged my dear son a few yummy snacks) but some really matter (in-room, no-extra-charge Internet access, most of all).

Last time I stayed, I brought my dog, who travels rarely and was a little nervous. I truly feel for guests who might not be so crazy about other people’s pets. At the same time, I was really, really grateful for Kimpton’s generous pet policy and even more, for the genuine kindness Hotel Burnham’s staff showed to my sweet rescue puppy (and me). They even put his name on a chalkboard near the reception desk. While drying his paws at the lobby fireplace, I enjoyed a great conversation with some very friendly fellow hotel guests…it really warmed up an otherwise icy / wintry-mixed/ cloud-covered, bone-chilling day.

I’m afraid I’m going to misspell some names from my last visit (apologies!), but here goes…thanks to Sheena, Zhanna, Darnell, Terrell, and Eloina, and the young man from room service who brought me a very late night sandwich which cured my hunger headache (maybe I can call the manager to figure out who I should thank for that!).

Also should note that Hotel Burnham’s location could not be better for some Chicago treasures…State Street shopping, Millennium Park (summer or winter), the lakeshore, CSO, the Art Institute….even a Red line stop right across the street.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie_malone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Annie_Malone,


WOW your review is amazing! We would like to thank you for giving us your business. What a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the staff and services provided during your stay. It is very important to us that we make you and your family feel as comfortable as possible and create an one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family. We looking forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,730)
There are newer reviews for The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Great hotel located within walking distance of most of the attractions. Fantastic architecture restored to keep many of the original features. A walk to the Shed aquarium is a stretch but we walked there and got the bus back so not too bad. Floors 9 - 15 are known as the historic floors and retain many of the features of a business bulding rather than an hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors ( >9 ) are more interesting from an architectual point of view. The "L" p...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Eddie C,

We would like to thank you for giving us your business. What a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the staff and services provided during your stay. It is very important to us that we make you and your family feel as comfortable as possible and create an one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family. We looking forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a great hotel in a great location. I would absolutely recommend it and will definitely stay here again when I return to Chicago. We had a great view from our window and couldn't have been happier. The hotel is newly updated but retains the old charm and is gorgeous. The location is great as we could walk to all the main attractions. We didn't use their parking because we found a great deal on SpotHero for a lot nearby.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank W0nderb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear W0nderb0y,

We would like to thank you for giving us your business. What a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the staff and services provided during your stay. It is very important to us that we make you and your family feel as comfortable as possible and create an one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family. We looking forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

After spending a week at the Burnham (on business travel), during which everything was as good as I would have expected, I checked out of the hotel having left two pairs of shoes behind. I called the front desk at midnight and the gentleman working reception not only offered to check and call me back, but he checked right away and phoned me back about 15 minutes later to say they had found my shoes and would send them out promptly. Which they did. Excellent service from a very chic and comfortable hotel with an unbeatable location in the Loop. I would recommend them to anyone.

Room Tip: Definitely join the Monaco rewards program. Free wifi and I think if you travel frequently you get...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Kgirl2,

We are extremely happy that we were able to meet your expectations. We would like to thank you for giving us your business and being loyal to Hotel Burnham. What a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the staff and services provided during your stay. It is very important to us that we make you and your family feel as comfortable as possible and create an one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family. We looking forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have stayed at the Burnham a number of times and once again were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel. Location, of course, is important if one wants to walk to both the Lyric Opera and the Art Institute which are comfortable distances from Washington & State street. Room location is also important to us and our request for a specific floor has always been honored. Atmosphere is another plus as the lobby and old fashioned elevators and busy restaurant all in close proximity, make entering and leaving pleasant. Finally – the staff was cheerful and welcoming. Only thing affecting value rating is the cost of overnight parking. Come to town on the train if you can.

Room Tip: We always request second floor to be able to walk up from lobby. Rooms face Washington and/or State...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Edina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Mike_Edina,

We would like to thank you for giving us your business and being loyal to Hotel Burnham. Such a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the staff and services provided during your stay. It is very important to us that we make you and your family feel as comfortable as possible and create an one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family. We looking forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great location for theater, shopping, and being in the center of town. This small boutique hotel brings you back to another era, both in the refurbished design as well as the bar/restaurant. Rooms are on the small side, but still well appointed and functional. Many floors have origional doors from when the rooms were offices (Spectaular!) The view was great from our room overlooking Macy's. Lobby is nice, but small and often full. The bartender (gosh i forget his name) was so well informed and interested in Pre-1920 cocktails it was an education just to sit at the bar. Sadly, only about 8 people can sit at the bar. He took his time to make each drink, but it was a show and he was a proud bartender (once a fairly noble trade). The food in the restaurant was very good each morning. Sadly we didn't have dinner in the hotel. Worth the cost for a great business trip and certainly for romance.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC1633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear JC1633,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay on Tripadvisor. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed the history of the cocktails and the Historical Hotel Burnham. Kimpton prides itself of restoring historical building and making unique hotel out of them.We really appreciate your support and recognition on the service and amenities provided by the hotel and restaurant. It is very important to us that we make you and your family feel comfortable. We look forward to your return for another unique and exciting experience.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent three wonderful days at the Hotel Burnham over the holidays. When I made the booking I mentioned we were celebrating our 36th wedding anniversary and the hotel took note. They surprised us with flowers, wine, and chocolates on our arrival and the housekeeping executive and management generally made sure everything about our stay was superb. As well, the front desk and concierge staff were very helpful, especially since we were there over Christmas Day and they guided us to those places that were open and provided information on what we could visit when. We had a magnificent corner room on the 10th floor with great views to the north and east. If we were to return to Chicago, this is the hotel we would choose.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Minnie990,

Happy Anniversary! Very excited that we were able to meet your expectations. What a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham a Kimpton Hotel! You sharing the highlights of your stay on Tripadvisor is amazing. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the staff and services provided during your stay. It is very important to us that we make you and your family as comfortable as possible and create an one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family so they want to stay with us also. We look forward to your return for another unique and exciting stay.

On behalf of the Management and Staff of the Hotel Burnham.....Thank you.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 191 in Chicago
1,089 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 191 in Chicago
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £110 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing