We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Chicago as Chicago gets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“As Chicago as Chicago gets”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Kimpton nail it again, in New York, San Francisco and Portland they've hotels that nail the 'being in the city' feel. Genuinely feels like walking into 'The Sting' from the restaurant downstairs to the very 1920s feel of the lift, stairs and room doors, this is Chicago...

How Chicago? Looking at the Chicago Theatre sign Chicago.

As a Kimpton Inner Circle member I was upgraded to a King room with a view over that very same sign. My first night staying in downtown Chicago and I get that as a view? Awesome.

Gripes? My normal one: why is it that US hotels have tiny baths in every room? But that really is a very very minor gripe. Quite simply one of the best arriving in a hotel experiences I've ever had and one of the genuine 'I was there' hotel stays.

Room Tip: Ask to see the Chicago sign
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seat62A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Seat62A,

We really are as Chicago as Chicago can get! This is the first steel frame skyscraper in the Midwest.... Yes... this is definitely Chicago at it's BEST. We appreciate your loyalty to the Brand. Very excited that we were able to meet your expectations. What a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham. Note for your next visit, larger bathroom and a view of the Chicago sign. Thank You for sharing the highlights of your stay on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the staff and services provided during your stay. It is very important to us that we make you and your family as comfortable. We hope we have created a one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family. We look forward to your return for another unique and exciting stay.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
Chicago, IL 60602
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,153
    361
    67
    29
    22
See reviews for
238
564
116
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Jean-Luc and the other reception staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. I felt like a valued guest each time i went back in and they smiled as they said hello and welcome back. The restaurant staff were equally friendly and helpful even when we just wanted coffee. We ate dinner one night and breakfast one morning. Both were very tasty and nicely presented. The room was recently refurbished to a high standard with a big framed wall mirror rather than a standard hotel plain glass. The bathroom was lovely, again with a big framed mirror. There was a good sense of space in the room and bathroom, plenty of storage space including hangers. The coat hooks on the wall were a nice homely touch. The bed was very vomgortsble with pkenty of pillows and cushions. The marble writing desk at the window had a great view of the Chicago Theatre, and a plush swivel office chair. Everywhere in the hotel was spotlessly clean. There were doormen and valet parking. Staff knew the area well so were able to hrlp out with suggestions of pkaces to see and to eat along with directions on how to get there. The hotel is perfectly located for buses, trains, theatre, music venues, restaurants, shops, ice rink, all of which are within walking distance. I had a very enjoyable ecperience at this hotel znd would definitely stay there again if i was in Chicago.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Marina M,

It sounds like we exceeded your expectations. This makes us so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and was pleased with the location. What a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham. You sharing the highlights of your stay on Tripadvisor is amazing. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the staff and services provided during your stay. It is very important to us that we make you and your family as comfortable. We hope we have created a one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family. We look forward to your return for another unique and exciting stay.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
Chicago, IL 60602
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Hotel Burnham is not your average hotel. It has so much character due to the fact that it is in such a historic building. They've done a nice job of preserving the hotel's historic charm. If you are looking for a modern hotel with updated decor, this isn't the hotel for you. Although the hotel does feature modern amenities (large flat-screen tv, animal print bath robes, etc), all other furniture, curtains, wallpaper, etc...beckon years past. The bathroom was small and nothing special (no storage, simple shower head, etc), but overall it was a comfortable room. Beyond its historic charm, the highlight of this hotel is the location! Right on state street which has a great selection of shopping, restaurants and theaters right outside the hotel doors. It is also right across the street from the blue and red lines trains...perfect for taking the train to the airport (blue) and connection to pretty much any neighborhood you'd want to visit in Chicago. My one piece of advice would be to ask for a room facing either Washington or State St. I was stuck in a room with a view of a brick wall :(

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing either State St or Washington. Inside rooms give you a view of a brick wall 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Matt T,

I'm so happy to hear that we were able to win you over with Charm! It really feels good when we hear that our guests enjoy the history of the building. We are very excited that we were able to meet your expectations. What a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham, because this is a historical landmark, some of the bathrooms are a little cozy. We hope that doesn't change your mind about us. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the staff and services provided during your stay. It is very important to us that we make you and your family as comfortable. We hope we have created a one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family. We look forward to your return for another unique and exciting stay.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
Chicago, IL 60602
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I decided to get out of our winter rut by booking a night at this hotel for our 38 th wedding anniversary. Captivated by the charm of this renovated historical building, located in the heart of Chicago's "loop," we phoned the 1-800 number but were advised to reserve directly from the hotel website as that would be a less expensive. It was by some $40. We were also advised to add in the comments that we were celebrating our anniversary. We reserved a modest room but were met with an upgraded one bedroom corner suite on an upper floor with magnificent views, with anniversary well-wishes from housekeeping and catering. Aside from the spot-on location and the attention to the restorative building detail, the staff was extraordinarily friendly and helpful from the desk clerks and wait staff to maintenance and housekeeping. Everyone seemed to love their job and the excellent customer service showed it. The hotel also offered a one hour complimentary wine hosting in the lobby where we met fellow guests who were equally sociable and friendly. We walked to a well known restaurant for dinner that was recommended by the concierge but the the hotel is located walking difference to any number of great eateries. The ambience and food of the hotel restaurant was also a great choice for breakfast and lunch. We had a wonderful stay, felt very specially treated and would highly recommend this hotel for its charm, it's location and great hospitality.

Room Tip: There was no pool but could not submit an "an" response
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Joyce C,

We are excited you enjoyed your stay. We hope you took advantage of the free internet and Wine Hour. We are thrilled that we were able to meet your expectations. What a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham a Kimpton Hotel! You sharing the highlights of your stay on Tripadvisor is amazing. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the staff and services provided during your stay. It is very important to us that we make you and your family as comfortable. We hope we have created a one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family. We look forward to your return for another unique and exciting stay.


Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
Chicago, IL 60602
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We live in the city of Chicago, but as a birthday surprise for my history-buff husband, I booked an evening at the Burnham. Knowing about the special occasion, the staff had flowers and card to greet us in the room + and a bottle of wine that arrived later in the evening. We really appreciated the wonderful—and thoughtful—service, enjoyed great cocktails at the Atwood Cafe downstairs, and the character of such a special building in the heart of downtown. A great Kimpton experience!

Room Tip: Our room on the east side of the 15th floor had a pretty view; you could even see the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Ms. Tara S,

We are glad you enjoyed your staycation! Your review is GREAT! Thank you and your history buff husband for staying at the Hotel Burnham. We hope you took advantage of the free internet and our Wine Reception. Very excited that we were able to meet your expectations. What a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham a Kimpton Hotel! You sharing the highlights of your stay on Tripadvisor is amazing. We really appreciate your support. It is very important to us that we make you and your family as comfortable. We hope we have created a one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family. We look forward to your return for another unique and exciting stay.


Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
Chicago, IL 60602
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a great stay I had at this hotel. From the moment I arrived, I felt special. It is a cool looking hotel in a very convenient area. Great perks if you are a member of the Kimpton InTouch program. I had a fantastic room on the top floor. Great views, comfortable bed and and all around wonderful experience. I will definitely stay here again whenever I visit Chicago. Customer service is A+++++.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gratefulrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Gratefulrich,

It's people like you that keep us motivated.... Your review is amazing! Thank you for being a Kimpton Intouch member. We hope you took advantage of the free internet and Raid the Mini Bar $10 credit. We appreciate your loyalty to the Burnham. Very excited that we were able to meet your expectations. What a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham a Kimpton Hotel! You sharing the highlights of your stay on Tripadvisor is amazing. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the staff and services provided during your stay. It is very important to us that we make you and your family as comfortable. We hope we have created a one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family. We look forward to your return for another unique and exciting stay.


Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
Chicago, IL 60602
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, IL
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was at least our third time at the Burnham. As architecture buffs we really appreciate the building itself. This time we were on the 9th floor which retains the feeling from when it was an office building. We had a junior suite overlooking State St. & Washington. It was a very nice room with the all the little extras except for a coffee-maker which we could have used when we returned from the theater. The staff is always helpful. The lobby is cozy and the restaurant nice, we've only had breakfast there. Overall our favorite Chicago hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors retain a little of the office building feel. Any room that faces State S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrontierLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Frontier Lake,

Welcome Back, Welcome Back, Welcome Back ! 3 visit is awesome...Thank you for being a Loyal Guest of the Hotel Burnham. We appreciate your loyalty to the Burnham. Very excited that we were able to keep you interested and meet your expectations. What a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham a Kimpton Hotel! You sharing the highlights of your stay on Tripadvisor is amazing. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the staff and services provided during your stay. It is very important to us that we make you and your family as comfortable. We hope we have created a one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family. We look forward to your return for another unique and exciting stay.


Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
Chicago, IL 60602
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 190 in Chicago
2,069 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
243 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing