We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic all around AND pet-friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic all around AND pet-friendly”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for an anniversary trip. I didn't know exactly what we'd get, but I'm glad we gave it a shot. Everything was good, but a few things deserve being highlighted:

The staff. Everyone was very nice, very welcoming, and very helpful. The doorman always opened the door and welcomed us with a smile. The concierge, Jean-Luc, was the best I've ever experienced. He helped me track down a difficult-to-find champagne so that I could take a case back home with me. He was great for recommending restaurants. He also helped arrange a dog-walking service for our dog for the days we were there. When we checked in, he congratulated us on our anniversary. Every time he saw us he asked if we were having a good time. When we called to the front desk, the person who answers addresses you by name when picking up the phone. They also wrote our dog's name on a welcome board. The woman who cleaned our room, Margarita, left a nice, personalized note for us. Also, the staff was always very friends to our dog. They said hello, bent down and petted him, and, when he was barking up a storm while we were out shopping, they went and got him and brought him down to the front desk so he wouldn't be alone. And when we returned they were very polite. They didn't make us feel bad about him at all. To summarize, they make you feel like you're important. It's these little touches that really sets Hotel Burnham apart from others.

The building itself was very nice. Beautiful, opulent room, beautiful architecture, beautiful staircase and elevators. The attention to detail is clear. Plus, this was in the heart of Chicago, a short walk to many major attractions, and on a heavily traveled street, which means catching a cab was easy (as in I waited less than 1 minute to flag one down).

Of course, there are always some downsides to anywhere you stay. The biggest downside is also one of the upsides: location. Specifically, the hotel is not too far from the above-ground train and we could hear it well into the night. If you're used to a quiet place in the country or suburbs where there's very little noise, then this may bother you. For us, it was only a minor inconvenience.

The only other downside is that there's not a close place to walk the dog. The dog-friendly park isn't very far, but when the dog is about to explode, it's too far, and when it's raining, windy, and in the 30s, it's not a pleasant walk. Again, it's a small inconvenience for being able to bring your dog, but it's worth keeping in mind. If your dog is pad-trained, not a problem.

Suggestions for those bringing a pet: We hadn't really traveled with our dog before, and we found out the hard way that he barks at every sound he doesn't recognize (my sincerest apologies to others on our floor). This meant that we spent more time in the hotel than we had planned. I think part of the problem was being on the floor with the fitness center (Floor 3). Our floor probably has more traffic than many other floors (with the possible exception being the floors with the ice machines on them). If your dog barks at noises, request a floor with minimal foot traffic on it. Next time we'll try to get a room as far away from everyone else as possible so that our dog doesn't disturb anyone if he does bark. Or bring a muzzle.

My only suggestion to the hotel would be to explore the option of making a dog-walking area on top of the building. I don't know what's up there, but if a small green space could be produced it would likely be very appreciated by those that bring their dogs.

Room Tip: Floors 2 and 6 have ice machines, Floor 3 has a work-out room. These floors probably are a bit nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ma11hew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Mr. Ma11hew,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. Your 5 Star review really makes us happy. The Staff makes every guest feel welcome and appreciated. We Love that you acknowledged Jean Luc as he is an outstanding employee and I don't know what we would do without him.l We are so thankful that you enjoyed the Historical Reliance Building. It truly a charm. It is very important to us that we make you and your family feel welcome. Hopefully, we were able to create an one of a kind experience that will stay with you forever. We look forward to your next visit, so we can shower you with another great experience.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    332
    62
    26
    20
See reviews for
207
533
107
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Last time I was in Chicago I stayed at the Palmer House. Never again after my stay at the Burnham. The service was exceptional, the free coffee is actually good coffee, and even the housekeeper left me a handwritten note. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewB294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear AndrewB294,


You Really Made Our Day..... We love hear that the exceeded your expectations and will be staying with us upon your next stay. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are so thankful that you enjoyed the Historical Reliance Building. It truly a charm. It is very important to us that we make you and your family feel welcome. Hopefully, we were able to create an one of a kind experience that will stay with you forever. We look forward to your next visit, so we can shower you with another great experience.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Visited Chicago for one night last fall and had a lovely stay at Hotel Burnham. We had a one-bedroom suite that was very nicely appointed. The beautiful old architecture has been well maintained, most notably the marble stairways and ornate wrought-iron railings and balisters. The staff was friendly and helpful. Location was in walking distance to many of the sites and Michigan Ave. I'd stay there again, for sure.

Room Tip: We chose a one-bedroom suite that gave us nice space for lounging
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Mickie,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are so thankful that you enjoyed the Historical Reliance Building. It truly a charm. It is very important to us that we make you and your family feel welcome. Hopefully, we were able to create an one of a kind experience that will stay with you forever. We look forward to your next visit, so we can shower you with another great experience.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Loved the historic Chicago style of this property! One of Kimpton's best assets, their staff, were amazing as usual. I loved the fact that you had to open the doors using actual keys instead of the swipe cards. Try and get a corner suite so you can enjoy the magnificent views of State Street. Nordstrom Rack is right next door, Macy's is across the street, and there are several other stores along State for your shopping pleasure! The restaurant in the lobby was always busy, though I did not have time to eat there so I can't personally vouch for the food. This property is in line for renovation so there may a couple of imperfections here and there, but the Burnham really is a beautiful centrally located hotel with a rich history and that signature Kimpton service that will make you feel like royalty :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CNR683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear CNR683,

We are excited you enjoyed your stay. We hope you took advantage of the free internet and Wine Hour. We are thrilled that we were able to meet your expectations. There have been some talk around a renovation, we are keeping our fingers crossed. What a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham a Kimpton Hotel! Sharing your highlights on Tripadvisor is amazing. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the staff and services provided during your stay. I can Vouch for Atwood... It is amazing. It is very important to us that we make you and your family as comfortable. We hope we have created a one of a kind experience that you can share with your friends and family. We look forward to your return for another unique and exciting stay.


Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
Chicago, IL 60602
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed a night at the Burnham with our two teenage boys on spring break. We wanted to stay downtown and enjoy walking the city. The Burnham exceeded our expectations. The room was small, but lovely with a lot of thoughtful touches. We were on the top floor with a view of Lake Michigan. We loved that the hotel is historic with many beautiful period features preserved. The staff were without exception friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the glass of wine during cocktail hour in the lobby, which is a great spot to people watch. The hotel was good value for the money and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear LDLee,

It sounds like you had a great time here in Chicago and here at the Hotel Burnham. I'm really glad that you really soaked in the history of the building. We are very lucky to inhabit such an important part of not only Chicago history, but architectural history as well! The Staff prides themselves on meeting and exceeding our guests expectations. We hope your children really enjoyed Chicago as well. We your travels brings you into the city please stay with us at the Hotel Burnham

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
Chicago, Il 60602
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

great experience as with all the Kimptons. Upgraded to a beautiful room (love the real keys!), Arrived rather late and ordered the Arugula salad w/chicken from room service - yum... Breakfast the next morning was the frittata at their restaurant; server understood we were in a hurry and was very accommodating. Absolutely recommend this beautiful place!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jensaypah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Jensaypah,

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a great time here in Chicago and really enjoyed the Atwood Cafe and the Hotel Burnham. Myself and the entire team look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a few nights on a business trip. I chose the hotel due to its great location close to the Loop as well as the Miracle Mile (five minutes walking distance to most attractions). This is not my favorite Kimpton hotel in Chicago, I would chose the Palomar over this hotel. However, I loved the historic aspects of the landmark building that the hotel is in and the charm that comes with that. The rooms were very clean and adequate but tiny in size (which comes with the territory of staying in an older hotel). I was not impressed with the amenities in the hotel; most nights the restaurant closed early and there was no bar service. If you are looking for a centrally located hotel full of charm and with the Kimpton usual outstanding service then I would definitely recommend the Burnham. If you're looking for something a little more hip with a lively bar scene and closer to the action then I would switch it up and head to the Palomar instead!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dp203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear DP203,

What a wonderful review about your stay at the Hotel Burnham and Palomar. We are very please to hear that you enjoy Kimpton Hotels. It is clear us that the Palomar is your favorite and we can definitely understand why. We really appreciate your support and recognition of the Kimpton Brand. It iss very important to us that we make you and your family feel comfortable and welcomed. We hope we have created a long lasting experience that you can share with your friends and family. We look forward to your return for another unique and exciting stay.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing