We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kimpton always delivers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago
2 reviews
“Kimpton always delivers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our room was gorgeous, the bed was crazy comfortable, we loved the Burnham's historic charms, and the location is ideal for exploring downtown Chicago. But the best part of our stay was the staff. Everyone from the front desk to housekeeping to the bell captain bent over backward to make our visit a fun, relaxing experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear MizJane,

We have one heck of a staff and we really thank you for recognizing it. We do all we can to make sure that our guests leave happy and wanting to come back. We think we won you over and hopefully you will be back soon. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments on Tripadvisor we really appreciate it.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    321
    62
    25
    20
See reviews for
207
522
104
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is my favorite place to stay in Chicago - a lovingly and beautifully renovated building on the historic register. Every comfort you could want. Friendly staff who go above and beyond to make sure your stay is superb.

Room Tip: My favorite rooms are suites on the north-east corner of every floor. Terrific views out the big co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBC Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear DBC Chicago,

Thank you very much for staying with us. We really appreciate you sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. The staff is what make the experience and we are fully aware that we can't do it without them. I'm sharing your comment with the staff and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just returned from 6 nights at The Hotel Burnham. We are well traveled, and tend to opt for 'business' type hotels, but our experiences at The Burnham have made us question this approach. In a city with a rich architectural heritage, the hotel is one of the jewels in their crown.

The one thing that makes this hotel stand out from the rest is the attention to detail which is typified by the concierge Jean-Luc who has a knack of making everyone staying at the hotel feel 'special'.

We hope to return to Chicago one day, and if we do, we know which hotel we will be heading for!

Room Tip: Splash out extra on a suite - well worth it!
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel rooms have separate 'recycling' bins.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Andy L,

Thank you for giving Hotel Burnham a try. Reading your review indictated that you were not disappointed. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. It means so much to the staff when they are acknowledged for a job well done. Jean Luc is a great Concierge and he will be thrilled to read your comments. Thanks again and we hope to see you again before the end of summer.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This must have been my 10th visit to the Burnham in the last few years. It has always been my go-to place in Chicago. I brought family with me this time, and everyone loved the historical feel and the small touches. The 6 year old got to have a visiting goldfish in his room! We all love the free morning coffee and tea. As an in-touch member I get the free newspaper. It really is charming and so convenient to Millennium Park and the Art Institute.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Frequentflier23,


Thank You, Thank You for being a loyal Hotel Burnham Guest. Not sure what we would do without have people like you who love the Burnham. Very excited to hear that you family had an opportunity to experience the Burnham and also "AL" The amazing goldfish... We can't thank you enough. Hope to have you and the family with us again before summer is over.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was my third stay. This centrally located hotel is in an historic building - a key structure in the early evolution of the skyscraper. The rooms are modestly sized but well-designed and appointed. The restaurant and bar are convenient. Staff is professional and attentive. Another Kimpton winner!

Room Tip: Upper floors for light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Happy2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear 2Happy2B,

Welcome to the family! Three time is a Charm... I'm glad we made your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We aim to please and I just excited to hear that we have you as a loyal Hotel Burnham Guest. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Spacious, comfortable, room somewhat limited view of Lake Michigan and Gehry band shell, but very bright. Staff all very helpful.

Restaurant was pleasant with a lovely outdoor seating area.

Daughter used gym and said it was good.

Room Tip: Upgrade to historic room on upper floor if you can. Very dog friendly and as a dog lover, though wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nstein94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Hotel Burnham. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. Wine reception daily is a nice touch. I so appreciate the effort to maintain the historical design elements. Smaller rooms, but clean and attention to detail makes it a pleasant stay. Beds were comfortable and met our standards. Location great. Close to Millenium Park, Theater District and many other attractions. If you read Devil in the White City, you will recognize the Burnham name. Loved our stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Jeanne B,

Thank you for the five star review. This was a awesome compliment and we do not take it lightly. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We hope you make the Hotel Burnham a traditional business/vacation destination. Hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#9 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing