We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
detroit, MI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great visit”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very nice hotel with great staff. The room was comfortable and clean. The coffee and tea in the morn was delicious and appreciated. The staff friendly and helpful. Free bike use. Four star restaurant on site.

Green Features: On target and using practices regularly. Organic tea in the morning with raw sugar. Attention to detail responsible and appreciated.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheymorningsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Cheymorningsun,

Hope to see you back again soon..... Glad to hear that the coffee which is local (Intelligencia) and Tea help start your morning. We want you to have fun and return as soon as you can. Your review was very pleasing and we hope to have you again soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    332
    62
    26
    20
See reviews for
207
533
107
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Burnham and had a good experience. Our room was lovely and comfortable, though small. Wish the they had walk in showers instead of tub with shower. It is an historic hotel, but could use an update. We loved the wine hour in the lobby before enjoying a delicious dinner in their restaurant-Atwood Cafe. We selected this hotel, as it had good reviews and was close to the Oriental Theatre. After dinner we walked to the theatre and saw Motown the Musical, which was fabulous. Then walked back to our hotel, hoping to enjoy a drink in the bar with our friends. The bar unfortunately was closed. We decided to sit and visit in the lobby. After an hour, an awesome staff member brought us a bottle of wine. We were thrilled!! We found the staff members at this hotel to be exceptional thru out our stay. The hotel is in a perfect location for the theatre, shopping and restaurants in downtown Chicago. We had a delightful stay and hope to return someday!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellynewmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Kellynewmexico,

Location, Location, Location..... It's Key. We are thrilled that you were loved the hotel, staff and services. We do our best to make sure everyone happy and wanting more. It sounds like we just made a new friend and hope your friend will want to experience the Hotel Burnham. Thanks for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churchton, Maryland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is blocks from Millennium Park, the Art Institute and the River Walk -- what's not to love? Like all Kimptons, they allow dogs, have bikes to rent, and have great staff service. The building is a former office building, and they've taken care to make it "feel" turn off the 20th century. The mosaic tile by the elevators is breathtaking.

Room Tip: Aim for the 7th floor or higher -- the lobby areas on these floors is way prettier. We had a Queen r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Janebeard,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Burnham and certainly thank you for the wonderful review you posted on Tripadvisor. We are very exited to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Chicago. The Hotel is truly beautiful and it helps to know that It's the first steel frame skyscraper in the midwest. We are all very proud to work is such a great establishment. Hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as the other chain of hotels I usually stay in were booked for my stay. I was pleasantly surprised. This is a very nice hotel. The rooms are very well layer out. The restaurant is also very good.
I met some of the staff the next morning and everyone was very friendly.

I would definitely stay here again. What a nice surprise!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mochalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mochalab,

Thank you for giving Hotel Burnham a try. Reading your review indictated that you were not disappointed with the staff and Serves provided at the Hotel Burnham . We hope we can convince you to stay with us the next time you are in town. We are excited that you shared your experience on Tripadvisor. It means so much to the staff when they are acknowledged for a job well done. Thank again and we hope to see you again before the end of summer.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

So mostly I liked it. We picked it for the location and history. Right near the subway, millenium park and art museum. The décor is attractive, the rooms seemed big enough. Staff is friendly and helpful, offered us an upgrade. The inside soundproofing seemed good, a little street noise, but no way to avoid that when you are downtown. Mattresses pretty good. A bit more attention to detail would be good, floor lamp was broken and the remote needed new batteries

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pps_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear PPS-10,

Thank you for sharing your experience of Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your comments and will definitely replace the floor lamp. We treat every situation as an opportunity to learn and this is certainly one of those times. Thank you for staying at the Hotel Burnham and we hope you come again.

Warm regard,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 Washington Street
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our room was gorgeous, the bed was crazy comfortable, we loved the Burnham's historic charms, and the location is ideal for exploring downtown Chicago. But the best part of our stay was the staff. Everyone from the front desk to housekeeping to the bell captain bent over backward to make our visit a fun, relaxing experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear MizJane,

We have one heck of a staff and we really thank you for recognizing it. We do all we can to make sure that our guests leave happy and wanting to come back. We think we won you over and hopefully you will be back soon. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments on Tripadvisor we really appreciate it.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is my favorite place to stay in Chicago - a lovingly and beautifully renovated building on the historic register. Every comfort you could want. Friendly staff who go above and beyond to make sure your stay is superb.

Room Tip: My favorite rooms are suites on the north-east corner of every floor. Terrific views out the big co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBC Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear DBC Chicago,

Thank you very much for staying with us. We really appreciate you sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. The staff is what make the experience and we are fully aware that we can't do it without them. I'm sharing your comment with the staff and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing