We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a brilliant stay at the Burnham!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always a brilliant stay at the Burnham!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The staff are always lovely, friendly and cannot do enough for you. On this occasion booked at the last minute, yet Tonya was able to accommodate us without any question. Rooms are spacious, and the view is amazing. Always very clean throughout, and room cleaned to a high standard. It was lovely returning to the hotel to complementary ice tea and wine hour. Would highly recommend this hotel.
Look forward to returning next spring!
The Franklins'

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Brad790,

Mr. Franklin what a wonderful review. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate you and your family and can't wait to see you this coming Spring. Your loyalty to the Hotel Burnham mean a lot to me and I hope you find some free time (holiday) before spring to come back again.

Thank you,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    324
    62
    25
    20
See reviews for
207
522
105
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Burnham was extremely clean, comfortable, and well located. The restaurant downstairs was a great place for a solo business traveler to enjoy a good meal. The bed was very comfortable, and I slept great. Will definitely stay there again next time I'm in Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Cambridge Common,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review. We are thrilled that you found the hotel to meet and exceed your expectations. It very well sounds like we did not disappoint you. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the Hotel Burnham. Can't wait to see you next visit.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
One West Washington Street
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chile
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Fantastic hotel, excellent location, lots of shops and restaurants close, 5 minutes away from the Millennium Park and Michigan Ave. , subway just around the corner, lots of public transportation, etc.

The rooms were very clean and quiet, the building it self was renewed but kept it's old style.

Overall a fantastic hotel for the price/location/quality, i'll definitely comeback again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elkeopina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Elkeopina,

The location can not be BEAT! We are literally in walking distance to near all the attractions. It really feels good to say you can just walk to Millennium Park, Bucingham Fountain, Art Institute of Chicago and the list goes on and on. We sure are happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel, staff and services. We think we won you over and hopefully you will be back soon. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments on Tripadvisor we really appreciate it.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Everything about our stay was great! They welcomed our cat and dog with open arms! Giving them treats upon arrival and writing their names on the little chalk board in the lobby. And, for those not traveling with a pet...you'd never know they allow pets...the place was spotless! The staff was so helpful...they made us reservations for the architectural tour at the last minute and gave us some fantastic restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear KKYW,

We have one heck of a staff and we really thank you for recognizing it. We do all we can to make sure that our guests leave happy and wanting to come back. We all love our furry friends and love seeing them in the hotel. We think we won you over and hopefully you will be back soon. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments on Tripadvisor we really appreciate it.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in August 2014. It was our first time to Chicago, and we took the train from Michigan City (after driving from Canada). We had no problem finding the hotel from Millenium Station, and our check-in was quick and easy. Our room was on the 3rd floor, right next to the fitness room, which we were a bit worried about at first. Luckily, the fitness room was at the opposite end of our room from the bed, and we were up early enough most days that we didn't hear any noise from those working out. Although we weren't on one of the 'historic' floors, our room was still nice, with plenty of room in the closet to hang up clothes, and a view of Washington St. below. The bathroom was big, with enough room to lay out all my beauty products, and the shower was big enough for two, although there was no tub. The bed was queen-sized, and a king wouldn't have fit in the room, which was fine with us. Overall, the room was on the smaller side, but we were only using it for sleep, so that was fine. The staff were very helpful whenever we had questions or needed a cab hailed, and we enjoyed the complimentary wine hour one day, which was a nice bonus. We didn't try the Atwood Cafe as there were other restaurants we wanted to get to, but it looked nice and there always seemed to be lots of people there whenever we walked by. Oh yeah, we also signed up for Klimpton's loyalty program and got free wifi for our stay. Overall, a great first experience with Klimpton!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are decorated more historically (i.e. nicer).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bassoonjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear BassoonJordan,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We love to hear that your first time in a Kimpton Hotel happened to be at the Hotel Burnham. We really hope we made a great impression on you. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I booked same day for a last minute business trip and am pretty sure I got the least desirable room in the hotel...low floor, next to the elevator, overlooking the intersection. That being said, the room was still very cozy and comfortable and, as you would expect, the service is top notch. I would say this is a little less "posh" than other Kimptons I've stayed at but charming for an historic building. You can't beat the location for convenience and the price was actually very reasonable for the area. I was less than dazzled by the food; what sounded great on paper wound up be very disappointing once on the plate (i.e fruit garnish on the dessert was still frozen, soup had a congealed texture and cheese pasta dish was very oily). Other than the first night's room service, I did not eat there again. However, there are so many food choices within walking distance that it would not prevent me from staying here again. Next time I'll try to book in advance and request a higher floor. :-)

Room Tip: Lower floors are noisy, end rooms face a busy intersection. If you're looking for total peace a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Bettys27,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your business and love having you with us. We are renovating the hotel in the first quarter of 2015. We have you come back to share in the newly renovated space. The Atwood will also have a facelift and a change of menu. We are thrilled that you want to experience the property again and look forward to your next visit. Hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Ms. Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a very good place to stay in Chicago. Convenient to Millennium park, State Street, and Michigan Ave. The Valet and front desk staff was top notch. 4 star restaurant on the first floor. Plenty of elevators, no waiting. A very typical Kimpton property, an old building that has been restored in a classic, sophisticated way. Room is large and comfortable. Our faced directly up State Street at the Chicago theatre sign. Bathroom is VERY small. They have bikes to lend, wine social hour at 5:00 and multiple complimentary newspapers to choose from. Even the Sunday times! We’d stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room away from the street noise of chicago.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatlocal1ofakind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Eatlocal1ofakind,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in Chicago. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the staff and services provided during this visit. We love making our guests happy and the staff works hard to exceed your expectations. Your five star review was most appreciated, we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing