We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Perfect Kimpton Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #25 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Burnham for one night in December. We live in Chicago and just needed a short getaway. We could not have chosen a better place. From the minute you are greeted at the curb to the moment of check out, the staff at the Burnham are friendly, helpful and all around pleasent. Being right across from Macy's during the Christmas holidays was a treat as we were able to view their holiday windows and take advantage of lunch in the Walnut room. A must-do Christmas in Chicago tradition. We had an absolutly lovely dinner at the Atwood Cafe, located inside the hotel. It get's a big theater going crowd, so if you can wait, your best bet is to make a reservation after 7:15. The restaurant is much more intimate at this time. Our room was a small suite that was beautifully appointed. We had all of the space we needed. We just love the feel of a botique hotel, and the Burnham has that. We will definatly be back for our next night away.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gullygroup5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,734)
There are newer reviews for The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,353 - 1,359 of 1,734 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2010

Beautiful, classic hotel. Rooms and service excellent. Spotlessly clean and staff very helpful. The in-house restaurant was first class and I can honestly say I can find nothing bad to say about my stay here.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
Thank kittyNewry_CoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

The guys were outstanding. Convenient location.

They let us check out late (6 pm) and that too with a smile.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank parvarish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2010

Dear DutchKids

We are just thrilled you had an amazing time in Chicago and that you enjoyed our little hotel. Our team is always excited to be of help and feedback we have done a good job is always satisfying.

Thanks so much

Team Burnham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

If you're looking for a beautiful historic hotel that has relaxed but professional qualities and excellent amenities as well as abundant character you've got to stay here! From the first time I saw it on Trip Advisor I fell in love with it. Hotel Burnham not only is a beautiful place to stay, but is in a great location as well. It's right in the loop and kiddie-corner from Macy's on State Street. It's only 8 blocks from Union Station ($5 by cab) and only 2 blocks from Millenium Station. Our room was on the 14th floor and had a view of Millenium Park ampitheater and the Chicago & Oriental Theaters and Trump tower too. During our stay we walked a few blocks up to Millenium Park and then proceeded all the way up the Magnificent Mile to the Hancock Building and back again in December and loved it! The key is to shop every block or so to warm up. :) Check out the pictures on their website and attached to this review - it's really as beautiful as it looks. The concierge was extremely helpful to us as we're from a small town and she gave us direction as to where to go or not go, what restaurants we might enjoy, where to shop, how to get around, etc. We relied on her completely and had a fantastic first time experience!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dutchkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Fortunately we paid a fair price for this room since it was deeply discounted for our four night stay. The location is excellent, in theatre district, across from Macy's and an easy walk to the Miracle Mile and Millenium Park. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, however there were stains on the cover of the chaise lounge. The hotel has the history of being a medical office building that was converted into a hotel. The coversion was done well and gives the small hotel a unique ambience. Each room had been a doctors office or suite (ask about the connection to Al Capote). As stated by previous reviews the rooms are small, and the bathroom lacks counter space. Small like European small. The hotel was quiet with a slight buzz of outdoor activity during the day as you'd expect in any city hotel. The bed was comfortable, and the room had a thermostate with a specific tempeture setting. The disappointments included a lukewarm shower each morning and a bad television (very dark picture on an old fashion anlog TV) which could not be seen unobstructive over your feet as you lay in bed. (I did not complain about the water tempeture thinking that it would be corrected each day). Yes they have free coffee in the lobby but for some strange reason it is removed prompty at 9 or 9:30 am, and there is no coffee in the rooms. They have a strange policy of hanging communal ladies under garments - leopard printed teddy and panties - in your closet for use by the guest. This has to be the strangest hotel perk I've ever seen. Who really needs a one size fits all teddy for a romantic tryst? The bell person assured us that it is washed after each guest (yeah, like that was my concern).

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sails_Call
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Great Boutique hotel. Fabulous Restaurant, great staff.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
Thank ElaineN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Have just spent 5 wonderful nights at the Burnham the location is perfect , right opposite Macys, bonus, and in the middle of the theatre district The staff are so attentive to all needs the rooms though a little small were spotless, I could not fault this hotel at all cant wait to return

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandmaPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 191 in Chicago
1,089 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 191 in Chicago
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £110 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing