We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful international experience I would recommend to anyone!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful international experience I would recommend to anyone!”
Reviewed 17 March 2010

My husband and I travelled to Chicago on a much-anticipated vacation. The historical aspect of the hotel intrigued us both. After approximately 24 hours in transit, we were both exhausted and found the staff amazingly friendly and helpful. Our room, although small, was very comfortable and beautifully decorated - the photos on their website were spot-on. Free wireless internet enabled us to keep in touch with the kids back home! We look forward to staying at the Hotel Burnham again in 2012 when we make our next trip from Australia to Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    319
    62
    25
    20
See reviews for
207
518
104
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2010

I made my reservation on Priceline (coming from a person who works in hotels, I hate expedia, hotels and priceline). I know that every once in awhile there is a problem with these sites and the reservations don't go through so I called to confirm and make sure I had a room waiting for me. I wasn't surprised to hear that they couldn't find my reservation.
Martin was the gentleman that was helping me work through this kink. He emailed me my confirmation and I was all set. Upon checking in, the staff was super friendly and there to supply any information I would need and/or want. We got up to our floor and looked at the halls. It was gorgeous. Marble walls, doors that remind you of an old office building, it was just amazing. I looked at our room number, we were upgraded to a suite!

We walked in the room and saw the view. There wasn't much of one, but it was still something and you could see the lake a little from the room. Waiting for us on the tv stand was a bottle of sparkling wine and a chocolate bar. The room was beautiful. The pictures on their website are truly what the rooms look like. Granted, you have to expect to have a small room given, you are in the middle of Chicago. I disappoints me that people wouldn't expect that. Nonetheless, it was a gorgeous suite!

I honestly have nothing bad to say about this hotel. It is gorgeous inside and out and the staff was so friendly and wonderful! I would recommend this to anyone going to Chicago that wants a more personal experience!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabetherick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

I took my kids here and we all felt like royalty from the time we walked in to the time we left. Our room had a wall of windows, view of the lake, distant sounds of the El were soothing, and the doorman charmed my daughters with his eastern european accent and Dr. Zhivago black faux-furry hat. Aside from the room's size, unfortunately small, and the pizza, delicious but very expensive, I recommend this place without reservation. In fact, get the pizza. I can't remember the name, but it's the place where the counter staff eat and it was probably worth it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommy4eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2010
Dear Mommy4eyes

We were so excited to read your review, we so glad you enjoyed yourself.

We all love our Hotel so much, it has such history and truly is a little Gem , thanks for appreciating this.

I will for sure say hi to Sasha for you our amazing door man

Team Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

The Reliance building is the oldest skyscraper in the world and its conversion into a hotel was impeccable. It shares with all the other Kimpton hotels, fine service and free wine in the afternoon. When I am in Chicago I stay there unless it is full then I go to the other Kimpton hotels, the Allegro or the Monaco.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RogerM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2010

The room was way too small -- otherwise, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SankIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2010
Dear SanKit

Thanks so much for visiting and staying with in Chicago, the whole team was excited that you did. We so much enjoyed the feedback. We know thats some of our rooms are small but they more than make up for it in historical terms -w e love our hotel and are gald you did too.

Team Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

This is the third time we have stayed at the Hotel Burnham. I am a Kimpton member. The hotel sent up wine, chocolate, and a nice note. This time we tried a Deluxe King Suite. Very nice if you need extra room. Great view of State Street and the Pritzker Pavilion. We live in the suburbs of Chicago. This is our favorite place to stay in the city. They have great weekend deals. Check the website. Love this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We once again recently stayed here in fall 09 and are never disappointed. In fact our rooms keep getting better. Great prices if you signup and get early deals. Uncomplicated staff and checkin. They let us check in early to a room that maybe wasn't promised to us, but same price and we were able to get out to enjoy the beauty of Chicago a few blocks away at Millenium Park. Attended a wedding a few blocks away and had a wonderful walk to/from the hotel. Did a package and got a great free continental breakfast. Will do this again. We live in the suburbs and this is a great location for people who come to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norge50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
2,000 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 187 in Chicago
936 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#7 of 187 in Chicago
163 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing