We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDIND SERVICE (AND LOCATION)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #27 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OUTSTANDIND SERVICE (AND LOCATION)”
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Disclosure: I am a Chicago native. My friend from college was visiting, and I wanted to find him a hotel with (a) excellent service, (b) outstanding location, and (c) something historical. Because I am a Chicago native, however, my review (perhaps paradoxically) will not be as in-depth.


I love the feel of this hotel; it is the most unique hotel I stayed in regarding two respects for ME. One, it feels very historical, which I love. Two, the service is something I have not experienced in other hotels. However the system works, the staff seems to always be on top of things. We requested a cot so I could stay with my friend, and without a problem the staff provided it. I also liked the free newspapers in the morning (including Sunday's NY Times). As to the room, it was just perfect. High quality, pleasant, comfortable, and cozy.


We did not use the hotel's restaurant, however, and we had breakfast and lunch and dinner in the surrounding area. You have many and varied options. I have heard great things about the restaurant, but we did not go because of convenience.


If you are visiting the city, you will love the location. You are in the center of all the action. I have myriad recommendations of what to do, but I will defer to the excellent staff and your own planning. I honestly do not want to bias your trip too much. Chicago has a tremendous amount to offer, and I know you will enjoy your time!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClovisChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    333
    62
    26
    20
See reviews for
207
535
107
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

The service at this hotel was top notch. The employees goal was to make us happy and they did. It's a great location at the corner of Washington and State Streets - easy walking distance to Millenium Park, the Magnificent Mile, and other great shopping.
The ambiance is very inviting and the hotel extremely quiant. Our fifth floor room looked onto State Street, so the huge Old Navy was a slight eyesore, but the sun streaming in was lovely. Yes the rooms are small, but all amenities (including Aveda toiletries) were provided. The Atwood Cafe was a great brunch place. I highly recommend the biscuits and gravy - it was yummy. Free Starbucks coffee every morning and wine from 5-6pm - all the little things add up to make you feel like a star at this hotel.

Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TMont76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

This was our second stay at the Burnham. We love the historical character of the building. The room was perfect, very clean, with a comfortable bed. The staff was friendly and the front desk was very helpful with transportation and dining ideas. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I cannot begin to praise the Hotel Burnham enough. The staff went out of their way to make my friend and I feel totally comfortable. The wine reception is an added bonus as well as the coffee in the morning. And the wine served was a very nice wine, not the crap out of a box! Later in the evening, when returning from dinner, I asked if there was a liquor store nearby to purchase wine. They offered me a bottle of the wine that was served at the reception earlier that evening. Then when I got to my room there was a smaller bottle of red wine and a Godiva chocolate bar. What more could you ask for? I have stayed in three of the Kimpton hotels in Chicago and have no complaints about any of them! I won't even start on the architectural signifigance of the building, you just have to see it!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmh1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland, IL, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

I booked through Hotwire and got a great rate. Our reservation was ready for room 402, with a beautiful view of the old Marshall Field's clock at the corner of Washington and State. The room was beautifully decorated in rich blues and golds, with Aveda bath products, thick towels, and wonderfully comfortable pillow-top beds. Some Americans might consider the room small by US standards, but it is fitting for a historic and more European-sized hotel.

The Atwood Cafe on the main floor is absolutely delicious. The antique wrought iron elevator and the mosaic floor in the lobby are lovely. Walking distance to all State Street shopping and Symphony Center. The front desk staff and doormen were polite and smiling. A great experience!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderlustForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Burnham while attending Artropolis, an art event held at the Merchandise Mart. What a beautiful hotel. They renovated a Chicago landmark that was originally an office building built in the late 1800's. It was so unique and they kept all of the marble, ironwork and wood so the effect was stunning.

The hotel is located right in the loop--across from the Marshall Field's building (now Macy's) so shopping is wonderful. If you're attending the theater, this is also the perfect hotel.

The staff was also a highlight of this hotel. So welcoming and friendly. When I checked in they were holding their complimentary wine reception and they made sure I had a glass of wine while I registered. We mentioned casually that we were going to Artropolis and they gave us two free passes. They were incredibly kind throughout our stay.

Because of the hotel's size and the fact that it doesn't have a pool, it probably isn't the best for young children. But for adults who love a city experience, it can't be beat.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjohnson57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2010
Dear sjohnson

Thanks so much for your kind words the whole team was thrilled. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and our service, The Merchandise mart has such an amazing event on over the weekend you stayed , we were just pleased you choose to stay with us

TeamBurnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Burnham for a conference I was attending at the Palmer House Hilton. The hotel is in a great location at the corner of State and Washington in the hear of the Loop. Kimpton has renovated the old Reliance building and the work they have done is stunning.

I arrived at about noon and my room was not yet ready. They took my cell phone number and gave me a call when my room was done (about 2 pm). In the meantime, I took a walk and had lunch.

The room I had was on the 10th Floor and had a queen bed. The bed was very comfortable and I found the room easy to work in. The bathroom was the perfect size for a solo traveler and being a member of the InTouch program made internet usage free and provided me with a $10 minibar credit.

Both mornings of my stay I had breakfast in the Atwood restaurant in the lobby. While I only had the continental breakfast (orange juice, coffee or tea, toast or pastry), it was served quickly and with a smile.

If I had to pick something that was lacking at the hotel, it would be the workout room. Located on the 3rd floor, it was small and had only 2 treadmills, 1 elliptical, 1 stationary bike and some limited weights. I used the gym both days, but would have loved to have had a little more variety.

Overall, this was a wonderful hotel for business and I would not hesitate to stay there again for either business or pleasure. Once again, Kimpton service exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing