We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #17 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel in a great location!”
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

We traveled with friends for a anniversary trip, and I was delighted with my choice of this property! I was even more delighted that my friends were pleased with the Monaco!
While I've visited Chicago several times before, accommodations are usually with family in the suburbs. So as our first time staying in the city, I wanted a boutique hotel that felt unique to Chicago. The Monaco was a great choice. The friendly staff was very helpful, most of our destinations were an easy walk, and the decor' was modern and fun! We paid a little extra for a river view room with a window seat, and the view was awesome-- we definitely knew we were in Chicago!
Special thanks to Ryan L. for the congratulatory bottle of chilled champagne that was set up as a pleasant surprise in our room to wish us a happy anniversary. We had a great stay and look forward to relaxing at the Monaco again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p2gP2St2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
To our friends from Atlanta,
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for spending it with us and trying out the boutique experience with us for your first stay downtown. I'm so glad you enjoyed those awesome views and that Ryan Lettier was able to take great care of you! Come and visit us again! Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,660
    551
    102
    47
    11
See reviews for
425
893
105
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, IL
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend. It is probably the 7th or 8th time we have stayed at this boutique hotel. It is wonderfully located just off Michigan Ave on Wabash so it is nice and quiet. The personal are very welcoming and helpful with any questions that we have. The South Street Kitchen restaurant serves a variety of good food. We sometimes get a king deluxe room with a window seat. I love sitting there, reading and looking out at Marina Towers on Wacker Drive. From the hotel we can easily walk to the Art Institute, a wide variety of restaurants and Symphony Center. We look forward to the next opportunity to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
BobKathy! Thank you for being so loyal and enjoying our boutique time and time again! How great to hear you've been back so many times. You must love all the renovations we've done, improving the experience for our guests. I love those Window Seats too and I'm glad you do. I certainly hope your Kimpton InTouch, so you can keep earning your free visits!
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Spent the weekend in Chicago, and picked this based on a deal on Kayak. Awesome, perfect experience. Great location, large rooms, great on-premises restaurant. Staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Quibbles: hot water was barely hot; be nice to have weatherstripping around the room door to improve sound isolation.

But did we mention the huge room? Comfy bed? Nice linens? Great restaurant downstairs? Helpful unpretentious staff?

Walking distance to Uno, the Art Institute, and Milennium Park.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcdanziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Marc,
Isn't Kayak great? I'm glad you had an awesome experience. The rooms are really large for a downtown hotel, and I'm really happy to hear our team helped provide a welcoming, genuinely helpful experience for you. Did you see the Picasso exhibit at the Art Institute? Might be a great reason to return. Thank you,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

we spent the past weekend at this hotel. I had planned to take our dogs, but decided to check it out first.
This is by FAR the greatest hotel we've stayed in in recent memory. The staff service is top notch, the restaurant is great, and the rooms are unbelieveable!! Location is within walking distance of many stores and theatres are close enough to walk. I highly recommend hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Janet,
I'm so thrilled to hear we are your great hotel for you and your dogs! It's great to be able to walk to so many places, including Grant Park and along the river. We can't wait to have you back!
Thank you!
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

we stayed at the monaco for 6 nights from 14th feb to 20th feb we booked the hotel from comments on trip advisor we were not disappionted the hotel was great the two queen bedrooms are so comfortable the bathroom/ shower is so big it's like another bedroom and the best thing about the room is the 2 window seats over looking the river they are wonderful and the views are well go and see for yourself . the staff are great very friendly nothing is two much trouble we asked ryan on are first day if he could get chicago blackhawks tickets one phone call and 5 mins later we had tickets . the kimpton loyalty program is worthwhile joining also nice touches complimentary wine hour every night also I must say the door man are fab very helpful and friendly I would recommend this hotel and I will stay here again . the hotel is in a perfect place to stay it's in the loop but you cannot hear the trains it's near to the shopping which my wife loved just walk across the river and your in shopping heaven a mile long , the navy pier is in walking distance about 10 mins , please take note if your going this time of year wrap up it's cold very cold .
We had one problem with the hotel on checkin but i did'nt think it was there fault more to do with the travel agents not passing information on please note even if you book through a travel agent the hotel will ask for your credit/debit card and we were asked for $300 ie $50 a night that was for breakages, roomservice, pay perview films/tv and bar/ restaurant if this is the kimpton policy we haven't a problem but we would like to be informed on booking.
once again thanks for a great stay in chicago fab place

Room Tip: high floor go for window seats
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Steven from South Yorkshire,
Thank you for staying for your 6 night visit in Chicago with us. I'm thrilled to hear you loved that window seat upgrade and that you got to experience Wine Hour- it's such a popular amenity for our visitors. Thank you for sharing!
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Several friends and I stayed at the Monaco for a girls overnight in Chicago. We were very impressed with the Monaco! The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean, great view overlooking the river and the staff is super-friendly. The hotel is funky and fun and we had a great time at the complimentary wine reception after shopping on Michigan Ave and before heading out to dinner.

Would definitely recommend the Monaco.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Alexis,
Funky, fun and impressive! Thank you for such great compliments! Don't ever hesitate to reach out to me or one of our concierges if you'd like help planning another girls' weekend! It's our pleasure to help.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We find the Monaco an ideal place to stay for a fun Chicago weekend...shopping, museum-going, dining with friends and family, etc. Kimpton staff is always friendly and helpful, and their amenities make it a great place to come "home" to. It's very worthwhile to join their Kimpton In-Touch loyalty program.

Room Tip: Get a river view. Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Miss Fiona,
We're thrilled to be your home away from home. Please let us know whenever we can help make any visit more special. Thank you for your compliments!
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,607 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,347 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 190 in Chicago
2,070 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing