We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
US$537
US$446
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kinzie Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$275
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
US$361
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$252
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$268
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$191
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$648
US$525
Langham Official
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$317
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$204
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$328
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,476)
Filter reviews
2,476 results
Traveller rating
1,738
573
106
48
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,738
573
106
48
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswindow seatwine hoursouth water kitchenthe rivermediterranean suitewine receptionraid the mini baranimal print robesthe loopcomplimentary wineyoga mata river view roomtrump towermillennium parkbrick walleach eveningfront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,099 - 1,104 of 2,476 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Let me start by saying I went through all tripadvisor hotels in Chicago downtown area and finalized Hotel Monaco Chicago. If you want to be near to the action, this is the place to be. Yes there are many other high rise towering presence of big hotel names around but do you really want to shell out a big chunk of your budget for staying in the hotel entire day during a vacation? Dont think so ... Choose this hotel and believe me you wont be disappointed.

Pros: 1) Millennium park is 4 mins walking, Magnificent mile is 3 mins walking and all blue line, orange line, brown line trains are within 2 mins walking (which helps if ur taking trains to the airport).

2) Absolutely fabulous staff starting from the person at the gate to the front desk - always smiling and eager to help.

3) Rooms are cheek and smart and the best part I must say is the window bed. Just grab a glass of wine or beer and enjoy ur evening looking at the Chicago river.

Cons: Hahaha... None really unless ur a fan of a 100 storey high hotel

Special Mention: I went there for my wedding anniversary and the staff was so courteous to drop us a card with special wishes from all of them - That was a very very sweet gesture :-)

Room Tip: High Floor With A River View - I chose the King Size River View during my stay
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxarpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Maxarpit,

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary!! I'm so happy that we got to be a part of your celebrations! I loved reading over your review and thank you for taking the time to leave it. We're very proud of our staff and how big of a heart they have. They are very genuine when showing care and just treating our guests as friends.

We look forward to hosting you again!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Recent visit to this wonderful Windy City in November~ so much fun with my daughter.
We stayed 3 nights. It's all I ever expect of a Kimpton Hotel. The lobby is chic,young & vibrant.
They offer HH every evening, a plus. Free WiFi, a plus, coffee & tea in the lobby in the morning.
The room was clean, nicely appointed & spacious. Love the large picture windows.
Great locale. All walking distance to every imaginable store to shop & dine in. Great pub across the street, Emerald Loop. The Elephant & Castle around the corner.
Service was great. Very friendly, very knowledgeable staff.

Room Tip: Somehow I got lucky and got 3 nights for 2. It was a tripadvisor special. So check the rates! If you have a car to park~ best to check some of the self parks. Can save $15 a day.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookindivarox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Cookindivarox,

What a fabulous review! Thank you so much for taking the time. I'm glad that you got to have a great time with your daughter and left with such happy memories!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

When in Chicago the Burnham is usually our choice of hotel. Recently I booked us into the Burnham's sister down the street; The Hotel Monaco.
We may have found a new home in the windy city. The room (1109) had a terrific view of the river with a spacious window seat affording an opportunity to lounge on a comfortable cushion (twin bed sized!) while looking over the river and city below. The service was as usual in a Kimpton- excellent. Food ordered from room service was actually very good and the requests kept in my InTouch profile were all honored.

Room Tip: 1109 facing the river basin
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lois l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Loislisowski,

Thank you so much for giving us a try! So happy that you got to enjoy our Riverview room with the window seats overlooking the Chicago River. They are definitely one of our popular features.


Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed four night at the Hotel Monaco recently and loved the property and location. Our room was quiet, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. All staff members were courteous and helpful. We loved the South Water Kitchen Restaurant and staff, which is convenient for food and late night drinks after sight seeing all day. This was our first experience at a Kimpton property and we were very pleased. Looking forward to returning to Chicago and staying at Hotel Monaco again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Kathy S,

Yay! Glad that on your first experience with a Kimpton Hotel, we were able to deliver a great stay. We can't wait to have you try out some of our sister hotels throughout the country. We're up to 60 hotels and still growing.


Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel. Great price and lovely room. The wine reception is a lovely touch. The staff are friendly and helpful. Will definitely return hopefully soon!! It's very central and within easy reach of all the good things to visit! We strongly recommend the boat trip!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Emily C,

Thank you for the lovely tripadvisor review! You're so right in describing our location. We're walking distance to so many of the popular Chicago attractions!!

We look forward to having you stay with us again, on your next trip to Chicago.


Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews