We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and central to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #15 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Fantastic date night here. Right in the middle of everything downtown, near the Chicago River. Beautiful art deco look in the lobby and in the room. Spacious rooms for being downtown, with great amenities (pretty soaps, animal print robes, cute window seats). Totally worth the extra for a river view. Complimentary wine hour and Starbucks coffee in the lobby every day. And good rates given the value against other hotels. Save a few bucks by self-parking right around the corner - it's about $20 less than valet parking at the hotel.

Room Tip: Get the river view - worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gotogrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Gotogrrl,

Happy to hear that you had a fantastic date night!! We're so close to everything, that it's perfect place to spend a weekend at. With museums, parks, lake, theater, and the River North nightlife all within walking distance of the hotel!

We do offer valet parking with unlimited in/outs for $56 a night in a secured lot. There are several self parking garages nearby, but you have to pay for every time you leave based on time. Our concierge and doorman will gladly assist you with all of the options!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,053 - 1,059 of 2,436 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

Very elegant hotel suite with large jacuzzi. 2 large screen tv's with seating areas in the bay windows for reading as you overlook the Chicago River. Each night from 5:00 to 6:00 there is a free wine tasting in the lobby. Easy walking distance from Michigan avenue and many top restaurants. Valet parking as well as public parking within one block. Very friendly staff with plenty of seating in a well designed lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkcollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Jkcollin,

Thank you for the nice review! Sounds like you got to enjoy one of our suites with the jacuzzi tub and the amazing window seats! They're very popular and very relaxing.

Hope you get to stay with us again!


Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

It was surprisingly my first visit to Chicago. I go around and around the world and never managed to end up here so I made it a point to have a quick look at the Windy City. Neither Kimpton nor Chicago let me down!

The hotel is unassuming from the street so don't judge till you get inside. The lobby is not terribly large but is very comfortable and the staff very friendly. Rooms are excellent as I have come to expect from my friends at Kimpton Hotels.

Location is perfect, just south of the river in easy walking distance to The Bean, Magnificent Mile and more.

Go. Stay. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Rca2,

Glad that we got to be part of your first Chicago trip! I hope that the city of Chicago didn't disappoint either, as it's an amazing city with a lot of culture and some mid-western personality!

Hope you get to come, stay and enjoy again!


Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This place surprised me by how great it was. The rooms were very nice, and a bit unusual. I recommend staying on the 14th floor, like we did. Regardless of which floor you stay on, you can sit on the thick cushions of your room's bay windows, and look out at the beautiful waxing and waning of the Chicago light. You're right near the river, and the buildings you can see are beautiful. The wine happy hour is fun, the coffee service in morning is good, and the restaurant downstairs is also good. People are friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaVallia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

JuliaVallia,

Thanks for letting us know about your stay and how you were pleasantly surprised! The views from the Riverview rooms are amazing, and especially if it's snowing outside. You can see the snow falling over the Chicago River Bridges and their lamps. Glad to see that you got to enjoy our nightly manager hosted wine hour reception and the morning's Starbucks coffee station. We can also deliver a keurig coffee maker for the room, should you wish to just stay in.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A very nice experience at the Monaco! The staff was excellent and the room was beautifully appointed, with a wonderful river view. A few tiny details may be ready for a freshening-up, but nothing to deter a stay here! The adjoining South Water Kitchen Restaurant is a definite recommendation, whether a guest of the hotel or not! For lunch, the turkey wild rice burger with sweet potato fries is outstanding! And don't pass on the mac 'n cheese, even if you only take a bite! Sounds like a lot...and it is...but worth it! Complimentary Starbucks' coffee by the fireplace in the mornings is a treat! Kimpton hotels never disappoint.

Room Tip: Choose a river view, if possible an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bickerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Bickerson,

Oh the mac 'n cheese from South Water Kitchen is very delicious! I'm happy to hear that we didn't disappoint and you got to enjoy the many hotel amenities! Looking forward to having you as our guests again, on your next Chicago visit.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Let me start by saying I went through all tripadvisor hotels in Chicago downtown area and finalized Hotel Monaco Chicago. If you want to be near to the action, this is the place to be. Yes there are many other high rise towering presence of big hotel names around but do you really want to shell out a big chunk of your budget for staying in the hotel entire day during a vacation? Dont think so ... Choose this hotel and believe me you wont be disappointed.

Pros: 1) Millennium park is 4 mins walking, Magnificent mile is 3 mins walking and all blue line, orange line, brown line trains are within 2 mins walking (which helps if ur taking trains to the airport).

2) Absolutely fabulous staff starting from the person at the gate to the front desk - always smiling and eager to help.

3) Rooms are cheek and smart and the best part I must say is the window bed. Just grab a glass of wine or beer and enjoy ur evening looking at the Chicago river.

Cons: Hahaha... None really unless ur a fan of a 100 storey high hotel

Special Mention: I went there for my wedding anniversary and the staff was so courteous to drop us a card with special wishes from all of them - That was a very very sweet gesture :-)

Room Tip: High Floor With A River View - I chose the King Size River View during my stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxarpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Maxarpit,

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary!! I'm so happy that we got to be a part of your celebrations! I loved reading over your review and thank you for taking the time to leave it. We're very proud of our staff and how big of a heart they have. They are very genuine when showing care and just treating our guests as friends.

We look forward to hosting you again!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Recent visit to this wonderful Windy City in November~ so much fun with my daughter.
We stayed 3 nights. It's all I ever expect of a Kimpton Hotel. The lobby is chic,young & vibrant.
They offer HH every evening, a plus. Free WiFi, a plus, coffee & tea in the lobby in the morning.
The room was clean, nicely appointed & spacious. Love the large picture windows.
Great locale. All walking distance to every imaginable store to shop & dine in. Great pub across the street, Emerald Loop. The Elephant & Castle around the corner.
Service was great. Very friendly, very knowledgeable staff.

Room Tip: Somehow I got lucky and got 3 nights for 2. It was a tripadvisor special. So check the rates! If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookindivarox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Cookindivarox,

What a fabulous review! Thank you so much for taking the time. I'm glad that you got to have a great time with your daughter and left with such happy memories!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
353 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 192 in Chicago
1,144 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £106 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing