We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #20 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary Trip”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great boutique hotel in a wonderful location! We had a beautiful view on the 14th floor. I loved sitting in the wondow seat watching the snow fall! For our twenty year wedding anniversary they left a card with two water bottles. We appreciated the gesture, but water? In the bathroom large pieces of grout were coming out of the tile floor. After our first night we mentioned this to the front desk, we thought they might move us to another room, but that was not offered. The beds were very comfortable and warm. I would recommend the Monaco to friends traveling to Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Funtrip1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Funtrip1320,

Thanks so much for joining us to celebrate your anniversary! We're glad you got the chance to take advantage of the window seats and enjoy the snowfall from the warmth of your room. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,629
    541
    102
    47
    11
See reviews for
414
877
104
509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Went for a weekend getaway and can not say enough good things. whenever we had interaction with staff in the hotel or the South Water Kitchen they were extremely pleasant and asked relevant questions. Then they actually listened to your reply. The door man went above and beyond to hail cabs from the corner. He also asked conversational questions like where you were eating then on your return would ask how it was. We will be sure to visit again and if this is a representation of Kimpton Hotels We will look for them when we stay in other cities also.

Room Tip: The window seats in the mediterranean River suite are large enough to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlSchaefer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear KarlSchaefer01,

We do actually care! We're glad you felt that on your recent stay at the Monaco. Our staff loves what they do, and they love people, so it's actually pretty fun for us! We're glad to hear that our doormen took such great care of you on your recent visit. We like to think we represent Kimpton pretty well, so I'd say, go ahead and try one of our other locations - we're sure you'll be just as impressed. Hope to see you the next time you're in Chicago!

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My friend & I just got back from staying at Hotel Monaco for 3 nights. What a great place! We each got a River View King room & were very pleased. The only things that were slight drawbacks were that the river view was not as scenic from our rooms on the 5th floor (get a room on a higher floor) & her room did not have a window seat. But, they were both very spacious & clean, quiet, the beds comfortable & you get little perks like comfy bathrobes & fuzzy socks. We liked the "wine hour" in the lobby, & were very thankful for Ryan the Concierge's tips on where to eat! I know some previous reviews said the workout room was too small, but I thought it was plenty big for a boutique hotel. They had 3 treadmills & 3 ellipticals, plus a universal gym & plenty of free weights. The restaurant, "South Water Kitchen", was very good, too. I'd definitely go back to stay there, especially since it's so centrally-located.

Room Tip: If you get a "River View Room", get one higher up in the building for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yumagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Hi yumagirl!

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great, thoughtful review. The views are pretty great from those high floor river view rooms, but we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay regardless of location. Cozying up on those window seats in one of the robes & some fuzzy socks is a great way to spend a cold January day. We're glad you got to enjoy wine hour & SouthWater Kitchen during your stay as well. We'll make sure to pass on your kudos to Ryan, he really is great and definitely knows his way around Chicago! We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I took a weekend in Chicago and found a great deal on a room at the Hotel Monaco, at which we had not previously stayed.

The staff, from the doorman on it, was impossibly friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean, well-kept, and well decorated. The style is modern but warm and inviting (not overly modern, boxy, and metallic like some other hotels). Our room and view were both outstanding and suffice it to say that we were not left wanting anything.

Hotel Monaco is also in an ideal location for a Chicago weekend, especially if you're in town to do some Christmas shopping as we were. It is off the main drags so the street is not overly busy, but it's an easy walk to the Mag Mile north of the river and to the State Street shopping area south of it (even in the December cold).

Without a doubt we would stay again, especially if we could find a similar deal.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west and north sides will give a nicer view, especially high floor rooms on the north s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicago_Mr_B_645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Chicago_Mr_B_645,

We're glad you were able to take advantage of one of our great deals and come try out the Monaco on your recent stay in Chicago. It's great to hear that between the room accommodations and our fantastic staff, we didn't leave you disappointed. The location is pretty great for shopping, but also wonderful for some summer city exploring...maybe we'll see you? Hope so!

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Monaco in Chicago numerous times and it is a consistently high quality boutique hotel. We are In Touch members so we can raid the mini-bar and our room preferences (quiet, most importantly) are known and fulfilled by the hotel. They recently did a renovation and it looks great. Food in the restaurant is quite nice for breakfast and we have had the same friendly server for years so it must be a decent place to work. Only complaint is very high price to park overnight. Otherwise wonderful!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank parismuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear parismuse -

First off, thank you so much for being a Kimpton InTouch member, and for spreading the Kimpton love as you travel. We're glad that we were able to meet your room preferences, and that you took advantage of your Raid the Bar benefit (I don't know why you wouldn't!). Also, thanks for noticing our recent update, we think it looks great and are happy to hear you do too. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We loved Hotel Monaco Chicago! My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. ..they upgraded us for free when they found out we were on our honeymoon. The staff was very friendly. Free coffee and tea in the morning and wine and appetizers in the evening was a nice touch as well. Very clean. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Hi Kelli M!

We're so glad you chose the Hotel Monaco to celebrate your honeymoon, and that you enjoyed the suite for your stay! Thanks so much for the great review, and hopefully we see you again...perhaps an anniversary stay? Either way, we look forward to it!

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I always try to stay at Kimpton hotels whenever I can. I had a great experience at the Seattle Kimpton and possibly an ever better experience at the Kimpton Monaco Chicago. Beautiful room, great shower & bath supplies, excellent gym facilities, and FREE wifi. Needless to say, I also love the free coffee in the morning and free wine at night. Everything about the Kimpton Monaco feels the opposite of the normal "nickel and dimed" experience at most hotel chains. The Kimpton staff goes out of the way to make you feel relaxed and pampered.

Room Tip: I was very happy with the standard King room. Didn't see any reason to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuckDinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear DuckDinner -

Thanks for keeping the Kimpton love alive! We're glad to hear that we were able to offer just as great an experience as you had at our sister property in Seattle. We do everything we can to make our guests feel at home, and we're happy to have you back on your next trip to Chicago!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,465 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,462 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing