We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #19 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Attention to detail”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great staff here and the potential for excellence, however my first night was way below par. We hired a suite (not inexpensive) but in spite of assurances that the sofa-bed would be made up in readiness from my return from supper, we had to chase and chase to get this implemented. Have to say the quality of the sofa-bed was more budget hotel/motel than up-market boutique.
Shame, because, it's in a great location with great staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lex_McKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Lex_McKee -

Wow, we are so sorry to hear that the sofa bed challenges so negatively impacted your stay. We will most surely follow up with all of our teams on the importance of following through on all guest requests and ensuring comfort throughout your stay. We would welcome the opportunity to host you again. If so, please feel free to reach out to our hotel directly so that we can ensure a flawless stay.

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,644
    548
    102
    47
    11
See reviews for
419
887
104
514
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Where do I began about this beautiful hotel. My husband and I found this hotel online just browsing hotels that had a jacuzzi tub. Read the reviews afterwards, then made reservations for the mediterranean spa.The room was everything we wanted, just beautiful. The staff the atmosphere the location the surroundings, nice overall. HIGHLY recommended and most definetly we'll be using this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virgo-Scorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Virgo-Scorpio -

Your review was awesome! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. WE're so happy that we were able to make your stay lovely, and that everything seemed to go perfectly for you both. We hope to see you more often!

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is in the middle of everything and small enough to remember my name every time I walked in the door. I was in Chi town for a military graduation and my birthday, and the concierge and doorman were amazing. The room was beautiful and clean, and the complimentary HH each night made it feel like home! I absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the theater district or for Macys (formerly historic Marshall Fields) shopping.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a window seat facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa_Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Christa_Rocks -

Thanks so much for coming in to celebrate with us, we're glad you got to take advantage of our location & amenities. We're looking forward to your next visit!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our family just returned from a wonderful stay at Hotel Monaco. Charles the concierge was very helpful with our early check-in. The suite was beautiful, with great river views from the four cool window benches. Our daughters loved them. Loved the corner suite. The staff was fantastic with our kids. Thanks so much for sending the birthday surprise for Lily. She was delighted. The in room fish was a big hit with both of our daughters. My husband and I enjoyed the restaurant - a nice surprise.

Room Tip: Suite was very special. 14th floor location provided great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenHB02066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear JenHB02066 -

Thank you so much for letting us be a part of Lily's special celebration! We're glad you enjoyed the suite and your stay, and hopefully the Monaco is part of the family now!

Hope to see you all again soon.

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here a couple weeks ago to celebrate our anniversary and the hotel did not disappoint. A truly fantastic (and affordable) boutique hotel in the heart of Chicago. Easy access to train, chicago river boats, running/walking paths, and restaurants. This hotel is a great choice for business or pleasure. Kimpton is now our hotel chain of choice!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Matt J -

Thanks for celebrating your anniversary with us and taking advantage of our great location. We're happy to hear we've converted you to Kimpton fans, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

For our trip to chicago, we were looking for something in downtown chicago which was affordable and nice. Monaco fits the bill perfectly ! Right in the center of the city, close to the riverwalk and most Chicago attractions are within a short walk or a short cab ride.. The only star I removed was for the fact that we got a room with restricted view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViniSinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear vinisinha -

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time, but wish we could have made it better with one of our lovely river views. Feel free to contact us directly next time, and we'll make sure you have a great angle of this beautiful city!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed here on a business trip but had to bring along my 11-month-old son and was very pleased with the baby-friendly offerings. The hotel room itself was lovely -- high ceilings and spacious and very clean. It included nice little things like bathrobes and an umbrella in case of rain. You had to request an in-room coffee maker, which I didn't realize until the second day, however.

The hotel gets extra credit from me for the baby-proofing they'll do for you if you call ahead: they will put a crib in your room and stick outlet covers on all the visible outlets and baby proof the toilet seat.

The location was PERFECT. Walking distance to everything we wanted to do downtown: Grant Park, the Field Museum and the Chicago River walk.

Staff were super-friendly and quick to get you whatever you needed.

The only disappointment was the food -- even for room service, I thought it was overpriced. My husband and I got two oatmeals, a pitcher of coffee and a glass of OJ...for $50. Would have been nice if breakfast was included like many of the other downtown hotels. They do have a 5 p.m. (free) wine hour but I would have preferred a breakfast buffet! We didn't try the restaurant downstairs but it did look nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Journalista0DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Journalista0DC -

Thank you for taking the time to review us, and we're happy to hear that you & your little one both enjoyed the comforts of the Monaco. Our location does give you the opportunity to see a lot of the city, and I'm glad our staff did a great job of helping you feel the love.

We would be happy to host you again the next time you're in Chicago!

Most Sincerely,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,534 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,307 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,049 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing