We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms with amazing window seats.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #19 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ithaca, NY
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms with amazing window seats.”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed here for four nights in May. Its location, on Wabash at the Chicago River is, to me, perfect for walking all around Chicago. River North, Michigan Avenue, State Street, the Loop, Millenium Park, etc. are all within easy walking distance. The Blue Line direct from the airport drops nearby (at Clark and Lake), so it is convenient to get there using mass transit.

Once at the hotel, I was upgraded to a beautiful one-bedroom suite (I am a Kimpton Inner Circle member). The suite, overlooking the Chicago River, was beautifully decorated, quiet, and a serene place to reside while in Chicago. The views from the 4 (yes four, three large (they are about the size of a full-size bed (no lie), one smaller) window seats were amazing. A friend and I sat in them late every night and enjoyed wine and cheese.

The bath had a whirpool tub and stand-up shower. My own personal preference would be to have had a slightly larger shower in the room (and I prefer showers that also include a hand-held shower head as well), but it is an older building (like most Kimptons) that has been retrofitted for a new life (and beautifully done).

The staff, like almost all Kimptons, was welcoming and friendly. They all sought to make my stay memorable and enjoyable. This began with emails from Erica, the assistant manager (a big shout out to her!), prior to my arrival through every person at the hotel.

If you have not stayed at a Kimpton Hotel, you should. And if your trip takes you to Chicago, Hotel Monaco is a superb choice. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The corner suites on the Chicago River afford commanding views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
TR45,

Thank you so much for leaving us a nice review and also thank you for being an Inner Circle Member! I'm glad to see that you got upgraded into one of our nicer suites and were able to enjoy the amazing views.

We look forward to having you stay with us again!


Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,676
    553
    104
    49
    11
See reviews for
432
901
105
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Foster is a really nice check-in person who made sure our first stay at a Kimpton Hotel was a pleasant experience. Our room has two bay windows overlooking the Chicago River. It keeps our boys (under 10) occupied. The decor is very mismatched. The bathroom definitely could use some extra storage for toiletries and a change of clothes. Rich, the concierge was irritated with our request for help with our dinner reservation. After spending 8 hours traveling, patience and a helpful attitude is most appreciated. Rich needs to work on this.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohana143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Ohana143,

Thank you for leaving us a review and having stayed with us! I'm sorry to hear that you didn't like the interior design of the hotel and the challenges you experienced with one of our staff member. I'm so sorry that it was not the smoothest encounter and this is something that I will be addressing with our management team. I do hope that you get to try us out again.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kastav, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Kimpton Monaco is small and cosy interesting hotel on the river. You are in a minute from Michigan av. or State street and Union station is not far away. I enjoyed in spacious room inspite of not nice wiev. The bed was perfect.
Staff is excellent from bell boy to the concierge. I hope I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
GogiKastav,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We do offer several different room types and we even have a specific room type called Riverview, which does offer nice views of Chicago. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great staff here and the potential for excellence, however my first night was way below par. We hired a suite (not inexpensive) but in spite of assurances that the sofa-bed would be made up in readiness from my return from supper, we had to chase and chase to get this implemented. Have to say the quality of the sofa-bed was more budget hotel/motel than up-market boutique.
Shame, because, it's in a great location with great staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lex_McKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Lex_McKee -

Wow, we are so sorry to hear that the sofa bed challenges so negatively impacted your stay. We will most surely follow up with all of our teams on the importance of following through on all guest requests and ensuring comfort throughout your stay. We would welcome the opportunity to host you again. If so, please feel free to reach out to our hotel directly so that we can ensure a flawless stay.

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Where do I began about this beautiful hotel. My husband and I found this hotel online just browsing hotels that had a jacuzzi tub. Read the reviews afterwards, then made reservations for the mediterranean spa.The room was everything we wanted, just beautiful. The staff the atmosphere the location the surroundings, nice overall. HIGHLY recommended and most definetly we'll be using this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virgo-Scorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Virgo-Scorpio -

Your review was awesome! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. WE're so happy that we were able to make your stay lovely, and that everything seemed to go perfectly for you both. We hope to see you more often!

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is in the middle of everything and small enough to remember my name every time I walked in the door. I was in Chi town for a military graduation and my birthday, and the concierge and doorman were amazing. The room was beautiful and clean, and the complimentary HH each night made it feel like home! I absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the theater district or for Macys (formerly historic Marshall Fields) shopping.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a window seat facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa_Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Christa_Rocks -

Thanks so much for coming in to celebrate with us, we're glad you got to take advantage of our location & amenities. We're looking forward to your next visit!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our family just returned from a wonderful stay at Hotel Monaco. Charles the concierge was very helpful with our early check-in. The suite was beautiful, with great river views from the four cool window benches. Our daughters loved them. Loved the corner suite. The staff was fantastic with our kids. Thanks so much for sending the birthday surprise for Lily. She was delighted. The in room fish was a big hit with both of our daughters. My husband and I enjoyed the restaurant - a nice surprise.

Room Tip: Suite was very special. 14th floor location provided great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenHB02066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear JenHB02066 -

Thank you so much for letting us be a part of Lily's special celebration! We're glad you enjoyed the suite and your stay, and hopefully the Monaco is part of the family now!

Hope to see you all again soon.

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 190 in Chicago
4,700 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
1,052 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing